Flowers. Crazy. Cereal. Cats.

Today’s Happy Note: Dark purple irises!  And lily of the valley.

My mother’s garden is better than your mother’s garden…

Wandering around the garden is one of my favorite things to do when I’m “home.”  Now I won’t lie — I am not especially useful.  My weeding tolerance is, oh, about five minutes, and I prefer tree climbing to transplanting.  But I love looking at the flowers.

I don’t know if I ever mentioned this, but this semester, in my writing class (“prose forms”) I became obsessed (OBSESSED) with writing about flowers and gardens.  It actually got to the point where I couldn’t physically write about anything else, which I think is okay because I wasn’t writing the same thing every time.  And these were not your grandmother’s flower poems either.  No, they were crazy and dirty and scary and bizarre and half-asleep and cocooning and emerging and rampant and colored.  I figured that, since I now have so many strange poems about flowers, trees, and nature, I might as well share one!  I might share more later.  They’re in various stages of editing — none of them are what I would consider “final” drafts at all.

Real Garden

I have this garden and the crocuses

always come up first and

then the tulips, bloody

little stars, then daffodils

and hasta and weeds.

I have this garden with lavender,

sometimes potatoes and all kinds

of relatives come to turn over

the stale earth which I wish would just

fester and boil over and be done with the

damn black-eyed susans.

There are these roses and these

shrubs from Korea and the ants

and the willows and dirty men

perched on shovels and clay soil

and lily of the valley and three

crab apple trees for

hanging from.

Imagine I didn’t know what an apartment

or a city block looked like and now

I’m all jammed in here like shriveling fruit.

I hide under my bed looking for space,

for dirt-covered men who might hand me a

shovel or a sapling or a piece of air.

There is only a tiny park here.   No

coyotes in my dreams anymore, no pile-of-stone

maps.  I want a cut of earth where

nobody knows my name.

Okay, crazy flower talk over.

Exercise: Five miles.  Felt sluggish again but actually was moving along at a decent clip.  Meh.  One good thing about running in the woods is that you can make a pit stop really easily.  In NY there are no good wooded areas for emergency bathroom breaks!

Eats: Okay, I admit it: I officially have a cereal problem.  I cannot have it in the house without eating excessive amounts of it!  My mom usually has some at home and it is oh so tasty.  I had two bowls for a snack after dinner.  It’s funny because, while I normally have a dessert — yogurt with fruit, dark chocolate, a granola bar, etc. — I don’t go overboard.  I feel proud of myself that I don’t really “binge” anymore, for the most part, but cereal remains a problem.  I don’t want to cut it out of my diet entirely because I would feel restricted and deprived.  I just want to be able to eat it reasonably. Thoughts?  Advice?  Does anyone else have a cereal-only overeating problem?

Onto some pictures!

Look, my kitty:

Why are you hiding on my dinner seat Stripey?

Do you want to eat my tasty peanut noodles?  Do you like peanut noodles Stripey?

Okay, it’s official.  I have moved from geeky nerd to crazy cat lady.

Moving on.

Crack wrap for lunch!  Garlic hummus and cheddar.

Burnt and gooey=yum.

Lunch dessert: dark chocolate pb sandwich!  Noms.

Blueberry pomegranate smoothie.

On the whole lots of good eats today!  Minus the cereal problem.  Blech.

Anyone have any happy news?  Exciting events, milestones, or adventures?

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sonia
    May 19, 2010 @ 22:38:10

    so much to comment on!
    I love the poem! 🙂 I took a poetry class last year and really got into it! It was all about women and poetry- very good!
    Also the flowers look beautiful; I’m the same way in the garden.
    And cereal overeating… I overeat anything in the house that is very carby and snacky. UGH.

    Reply

  2. Sarah
    May 20, 2010 @ 00:55:35

    I really enjoyed your poem, and I hope you might share more of your writing with us in the future. I’m interested in the fact that you are very much a presence in your own poem, and I get a sense of feeling trapped, the notion that a garden is itself stifling, perhaps you prefer a freer form of nature in which things grow where they want, you have the space to grow how you want…sorry hope you don’t mind my amateur analysis…I just instinctively find myself thinking about what stuff could or might mean. That’s what I love about art and poetry, is that not only does it allow you to explore feelings, but it invites a plethora of interpretations from other people.

    Sarah x

    Reply

  3. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    May 20, 2010 @ 01:24:14

    “Burnt and gooey=yum.”

    OMG i just asked about burnt food lovers today as you probably saw…too funny!

    and yes, kids are hearty, they fall and recover 🙂

    love the purple flowers, soooo pretty!!!

    Reply

  4. Rebecca
    May 20, 2010 @ 01:42:13

    First, I too always need emergency bathroom breaks! Why does that always happen on runs!?

    Second, don’t worry I’m a cat lady too.

    Third, love your blog!

    Reply

  5. Joanne
    May 20, 2010 @ 06:02:00

    Dude I LOVE that poem! It is so original and descriptive. Definitely not your grandmother’s OR your mother’s garden poem. Really. Love it.

    Sounds like you are having an awesome time at home! And no worries about talking to Stripey. I talk to my dog all the time. Maybe THAT’s why I’m still single…hmmm. The eats look awesome. Peanut noodles 😛

    Reply

  6. Maggie @ Fit.Fun.Food
    May 20, 2010 @ 11:10:28

    I don’t know if I overeat on cereal…but I do eat a lot of it! With a lot of yogurt! I love that poem! You’re quite talented!

    Reply

  7. Ali @ Redhead Reports
    May 20, 2010 @ 13:15:41

    My exciting news is that I ran a 7 minute mile this week! I also set a new PR on my 5k time! YAY!

    I can relate on the crazy cat-lady thing! Except I’m a dog person, so I’m a crazy dog lady!

    Reply

  8. Hayley @ Breath of Fire
    May 20, 2010 @ 13:23:41

    Giiiirl, I love that you posted your writing!! I think people who can write poetry are so talented- I can never seem to get my mind to think in that creative, imagery-driven kind of way. Love it.

    Reply

  9. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    May 20, 2010 @ 13:37:21

    That poem is incredible. For some reason whenever I think of people “my age” writing poetry, I still assume that they’re 12 years old and writing emo stuff about broken hearts (maybe because I refuse to believe I’m 20). Your writing is absolutely amazing.

    I don’t have a cereal problem, I have a nut problem, and now that I’m home with Costco-sized jars at my disposal, it’s bad. Maybe try portioning the cereal out into Ziplocs? That way you won’t mindlessly go for the box, it will be a conscious thing. I dunno, I think everyone has one food they just can’t stop with!!

    Hope you’re having a great day!!

    Reply

  10. Astrid
    May 20, 2010 @ 16:36:24

    What a beautiful blog. I love those little white flowers. They are gorgeous! Thank you for stopping by my blog, I will definitely be back here more often. It really is lovely!

    Reply

  11. Katherine: What About Summer?
    May 21, 2010 @ 04:29:26

    I have a problem with only eating one bowl of cereal. no matter the size, I always need seconds (so I eat out of a small bowl!). I want to test out the idea of making a garden. I just read in a magazine how good smelling flowers actually can be for your health

    Reply

Leave a Reply

