Career Girls

Today’s Happy Note: I am now the owner of a skirt suit!  It’s cute though, I swear.

Sorry for not posting yesterday!  When I’m on vacation I tend to get into an all-or-nothing mode and yesterday was, well, kind of the nothing mode.  I did shop though!  Which counts as exercise and productivity, since I needed new clothes!

I ran ten miles this morning and it was terrible.  Yucky weather, yucky legs, yucky run.  I know that not every run can be great though and sometimes you’ve just gotta slog through it.  I wasn’t really hurting either, just…sluggish.  Very, very sluggish.

Random side note: my mom and sister both thinks it’s insanely weird that I take pictures of my food.  They make fun of me for it, but in a loving way I suppose.  It only takes about a minute to photograph each meal or snack and I enjoy it, so I think it’s perfectly healthy.  It’s creative, artistic, reminds me what/how much I’ve eaten, and helps me share my eats and recipes with you guys — my friends!  Do you have family members or friends who think food photography is loony?

Eats hodgepodge:

The obligatory dairy queen visit.  I only go once or twice a year when I’m in MI.  DQ is one of the relatively few processed fast foods that I make an exception for.  I honestly have no interest in grease-soaked fries, burgers, or suspicious-meat tacos.  But I do have an interest in ice cream.  A strong interest.  Especially when dipped in fake cherry coating.  Majorly yum.

Are there any foods you know are terrible for you but you couldn’t imagine going without?

Chocolate Peanut Butter Banana Shake:

6-8 big ice cubes

1 medium banana

2/3 C low-fat chocolate milk

1 scoop favorite protein powder (chocolate or vanilla)

1 tbsp cocoa powder

1 tbsp favorite peanut butter

Put all ingredients in blender, with ice on bottom, and whir!

This combination has always been one of my favorites.  It reminds me of afternoons spent with my oldest friend, Danica!  We met in fourth grade, when she moved to MI.  We were both geeky bookworm weirdos who liked studying outer space, bugs, and reading during recess.  The very first day of school, our teacher introduced us, and I actually said “maybe I’ll play with her when I finish my book.”  We quickly bonded over our shared oddball natures.

Sometimes I would ride the bus to her house after school when my parents were really busy at work.  Her mom made us chocolate banana smoothies.  Twas delicious.  We still have loads in common — we like to argue, are interested in politics, and are ambitious!  She moved to Idaho when we were about fourteen and now goes to college on the West Coast, but we’re still friends!  We rendezvoused in Mexico in January of 2009 and talk on the phone every month or so. She’s my oldest friend and I hope I can still say that when I’m a hundred!

Do you have an old, childhood friend who you still keep in contact with?

Speaking of ambition!

I have been thinking about my future a lot lately.  As a kid, I wanted to be a marine biologist for a long time.  Then an orthodontist.  And a chef.  And so on and so forth.  Right now?  Well I am not totally sure — the good thing is that I have a lot of options.  In the next year or so I will be searching for a job; I plan on staying in NY because, well, I love it, as we all know!  In 3-5 years I would like to go to law school so that I can graduate when I’m 26-28.  In the meantime, I might like to work in a legal field — either government/public policy, human rights, or international stuff.  Potentially as a paralegal or legal researcher.  I also might be interested in non-profit work, although let’s be honest, we all know how well that pays.  Another option is to make good use of my history degree and continue work or research in that field.  I love working in a historical archive and could see myself working in a library or government archive as well.  Finally, I could see myself doing something with writing: journalism, magazines, editing, creative work.  I do, at some point in my 20s, hope to publish a book of my poems.

In my mind, I see so many possibilities as a good thing!  Some people have more narrow preferences, but I think that keeping my options and interests open to all the things I like will, in the long run, be more productive.

What are your ambitions? I say follow your dreams!  I have no interest in being chained to a career that I don’t love.  Sometimes it takes a little searching and experimenting, but I know that.

I hope everyone is having a lovely week.  What have you been up to?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maggie @ Fit.Fun.Food
    May 18, 2010 @ 21:49:46

    I’ve wanted to (and still want to) do so many things in my life! For a long time, it really stressed me out that I didn’t know exactly what my plan was and exactly where my life was going. But now I feel like I enjoy the journey of my life so much more so I don’t think so much about the ultimate outcome. Strangely, that’s when I found something to do! I think journalism is where I’ll start but it could change to something else. Thanks for the thought-provoking post!

    Reply

  2. janetha
    May 18, 2010 @ 23:04:10

    not gonna lie, i want a skirt suit!

    Reply

  3. Sarah
    May 19, 2010 @ 00:32:59

    First of all, that ice cream looks totally awesome!

    I think it’s great to have lots of ideas about the future and keep your options open. I used to be so rigid in thinking that I had to have my whole life and career planned out, but since last year I’ve thought screw that and see what random things happen. I’ve tried a heap of random stuff, music, academia, police, floristry and now I’m having a bash at art and counselling type things. You have such interesting dreams, there is no reason why you can’t sample a little of each in some way 🙂

    Sarah x

    Reply

  4. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    May 19, 2010 @ 08:00:34

    Food that is totally bad for me and I will never give up = diet soda. I used to drink multiple cans a day but have cut it down to maybe 2 per week, and I still love it. So many chemicals, I know!!

    My BF teases me about my foodie photography, but when I’m with people I try to just snap a pic and get it over with as quickly as possible so I don’t look like a total weirdo! Whatever though, I think it’s fun so no harm done!

    I went to school with my graduating class from 6th-12th grade, and I love all 83 of them. There are no words to describe the bond I feel when I’m with them!

    Reply

  5. Erin
    May 19, 2010 @ 08:33:04

    I’ve been lucky enough to avoid ever having a job I needed a suit for and it seems like that trend is continuing. At my new job, everyone wears jeans every day. Funny because DC is a *very* buttoned-up city but as long as I can get away with not buying one, I’ll be happy. 😀

    Reply

  6. rarabeck
    May 19, 2010 @ 13:42:10

    Never feel like you need to apologize for not blogging. This blog is for you, and to benefit you. We just enjoy it! Your life comes first and foremost, and if you aren’t posting, we know you are having fun doing something else you enjoy, which in turn makes us happy. So really its a win-win 🙂
    I have been hesitant to take pictures because I also feel awkward photographing my food. I don’t want to draw attention to myself and food anymore than necessary, and it is very embarrassing when people ask what I am doing (which they do). I hear ya about not knowing what to do about it, but I can’t say that I have any answers.
    I love your daily happy note. When I look at it, it makes me smile, and reminds me to look fro the good things every day.
    xo

    Reply

  7. Kate
    May 19, 2010 @ 20:30:45

    love dairy queen! i love the crunch cone and pretty much any variety of blizzard. oh! and ice cream cake too!

    i think i want to work for a community health agency or be an art therpasit. it would be ideal to so how combine the two.

    i rarely photograph food in front of people unless it is a close friend. i am such a chicken about that!

    Reply

  8. Darya
    May 20, 2010 @ 16:14:40

    put a picture up of you in your skirt suit!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

