Dear Peanut Butter: I Love You

Today’s Happy Note: Mission room packing = successful!  I have a few more clothes to throw in here and there, but I’m pretty much set.  Yay!  It was actually quite tricky since I had to pack for three separate categories: stuff being stored over the summer, stuff being moved into my apartment tomorrow, and stuff going home with me for the next two weeks.  Crazy!

Good news friends: peanut butter is back in my life! I ran out about a week ago; I ran out of almond butter a few days ago.  A life sans nut butter is a sad sad life indeed.  I “borrowed” some from my friend Jonathon today and he let me take the whole jar!  It was almost empty and will be perfect for some OIAJ tomorrow morning.  Yum.

I enjoyed my “borrowed” pb with frozen yogurt and m and ms.  I needed a mid-week pre-packing pick me up and this fit the bill.  Sweet, melty, nutty, chocolaty, creamy, and cold.  I have a serious crush on frozen yogurt.

I am not sure to what lengths I would go to get pb or another nut butter if there was a situation where I had been deprived of it for a long time or if it was scarce.  Peanut butter and peanuts are actually a really important food in diets all over the world.  Certain nations in Africa that have, sadly, gone in and out of famine situations over the past decade, have seriously benefited from mass donations of peanut butter and especially a product called PlumpyNut , which delivers a high calorie high protein punch to malnourished children.

Peanut butter is really a great food, as long as you don’t get a version that has added sugars (although sometimes I do splurge for tasty specialty nut butters with sugar or other flavorings, such as Naturally Nutty or Peanut Butter and Co.)  It has protein, healthy monounsaturated fats, and vitamins E and B (info from wikipedia).  In my mind, peanut butter is like, a super-super food!

My top ten peanut butter uses:

1. Spooned into warm oats (it gets all melty).

2. With apples!  Especially honeycrsip and granny smith.

3. With carrots.

4. Mixed into yogurt.

5. With ice cream for a decadent dessert.

6. With chocolate.  This combination works in any way, shape or form!  I like to take a few squares of dark chocolate and make a pb “sandwich.”

7. With pumpkin or pumpkin butter.

8. Good old fashioned pb and j sandwiches (I like blackberry or raspberry jams).

9. In protein smoothies: I eat it with tons of fruit, yogurt, and protein powder all mixed up for post long-run recovery.

10. Pb and spinach sandwiches!  They’re amazing!

What are your favorite uses of peanut butter or other nut butters?  Or are you — gasp — not a nut butter fan?

Exercise: I was going to run this morning but realized that that was really not what I wanted!  I quickly packed my gym bag instead and hit up the icky school gym for 30 minutes of arm weights (did some new exercise today and I’m feeling it!) and 40 minutes on the elliptical (10 minute warm-up, 20 minutes HIIT, 10 minute cool down).  Twas a nice little workout.

I have been a good girl and used up most of my food.  I had to throw a few things out, but it was all stuff that takes forever to get through, and I did try valiantly.

Purple overnight oats!  I don’t like overnight oats, but the flavors in this somehow worked.  Blackberries, a wee bit of vanilla oikos, kashi vanilla oatmeal, water, cashews, and mango butter.

Work lunch:

I tried this new bar for my afternoon snack and it was wonderful!  One of the best bars I’ve ever had.  It’s clif’s version of a lara bar, but actually better than a lara bar.  It was cherry-pomegranate flavor.  Noms all around.

Hodgepodge but yummy dinner — Amy’s lentil vegetable soup with a side of steamed broccoli, refried pinto beans, and an EVOO drizzle.

I just finished eating more oatmeal with more pb.  Hey, it’s that good.  That is one of the best foods that blogs introduced me to.  I tried it after seeing it on Kath’s blog right after I started reading blogs about a year and a half ago.  It made me like blogs very much. 🙂

I’m going to have to buy most of my meals tomorrow, which I don’t love doing.  But there are worse things!  I’m looking forward to having Mexican tomorrow night!

What’s your favorite takeout food?

Goodnight loves!  Happy Friday!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    May 14, 2010 @ 01:05:09

    Thanks for the PB uses 🙂 As a PB virgin who wants to one day try this much applauded delicacy 😉 it’s good to have some ideas for future reference.

    My favourite take-out food is actually pizza.

    Happy Friday to you too 🙂

    Sarah x

    Reply

  2. Erin
    May 14, 2010 @ 06:31:15

    Whew, glad you got PB back in your life. A life without PB is a sad one… 😉

    Reply

  3. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    May 14, 2010 @ 08:24:31

    I love PB in any and all forms, which is a good thing, considering I currently have 10 jars in my pantry, not including the monster jar of Maranatha AB I got from Costco!! Such a superfood, I agree 🙂

    Favorite takeout food is still pizza, even after all these years! Brings me back to my childhood!

    Reply

  4. Ada
    May 14, 2010 @ 17:25:41

    We should definitely hit up Candle Cafe sometime soon! I would love to! Hope you’re enjoying your freedom:)

    Reply

  5. Katherine: What About Summer?
    May 14, 2010 @ 19:33:54

    I hate packing lunches; you do a great job of it!

    Reply

  6. Joanne
    May 15, 2010 @ 08:25:01

    I absolutely detest packing! It was my least favorite part of the whole school year (even more so than finals week).

    Love the abundance of PB on here. I’m usually a natural fan as well, but I do love my Naturally Nutty. Sometimes you just want that little bit of sweetness.

    Have a safe trip home babe! I miss you already!

    Reply

  7. Trackback: Awesome Speed Workout/Awesome Food « Run. Write. Therapy. Life.

Leave a Reply

