Summer Projects and TWO Dinners

Today’s Happy Note: Chatting with my dad on the phone and getting excited to go home so that I can visit the bakery!  Is this what normal people get excited about when they get to go home?  Probably not.  But I’m a food blogger, which is mutually exclusive to normal.  And my little town has the best bakery in the entire world.  I want to have an eclair.  And an apple fritter.  I am, of course, also getting very excited to see my crazy but beautiful family!

The no good icky bad mood has lifted! Thank the Lord.  Or hormones.  Or my therapist.  I don’t know who to thank but I do know that it’s gone!  (Insert happy dance here).  I let myself sleep in today, went for a nice (ish…) run, had my favorite mid-week treat breakfast, worked, then came home and relaxed.  No obligations.  I’m really not exactly sure what my work schedule will be like in the evenings (I am working two jobs) this summer.  My guess is that it is going to be crazy busy/late on some days and really chill on others.  But after a week of coming home from work at five fifteen and having not not much to do, I know that I am in some serious need of summer “projects.”  I am not going to start any of these until I have “officially” started my summer schedule and am back in NY, which will be in two weeks.  But I’m making a list now so I can plan and keep myself entertained!

Caronae’s Super Spectacular Fun Summer Project List:

1.  Stay in touch with old friends/family members who don’t live in the city.

2. Make regular plans with school friends who are in the city.

3. Meet new blog friends!

4. Start a planter in windowsill.  I want to grow lavender and maybe some rosemary and thyme.  I would like a flowering plant, but I’m afraid a planter won’t allow its roots the room that they need.

5. Find muffin recipes.  Make said recipes.

6. Cook a few fancy dinners.

7.  Places to visit: museums, aquariums, botanical gardens.

8. Weekly yoga sesh with my cousin.

9. Learn to knit?????

10. Buy a set of pastels and use them (sidenote: I adore pastels; they are my favorite artistic tool by far).

11. Learn more about trees and (geek alert!) take walks around the city identifying different types of trees.

12. See some dance shows.

13: Library.  Books.  Read them.  Last summer I had a “reading project” in which I read as many major Russian authors as I could (Dostoevsky, Chekhov, Tolstoy, Pushkin, etc.).  I need a similar project for this summer!  It’s actually really fun if you are a word geek like I am.

14. Expand blog.

So that’s the plan for now!  This doesn’t include everything I’ll be doing, of course (read: running), just some fun and/or new projects.  I don’t really consider running a hobby so much as a part of my life, like eating or working or writing.

What are your favorite hobbies or activities?  Anything I should add to my list?  I’m totally open to suggestions!

Exercise: I did get in my 7.5 mile run today, and it was going really well — my legs were churning pretty fast, I thought — until I had to go to the bathroom about halfway through.  Stat.  Why are public bathrooms in this city so hard to find????  I had to walk for a mile before I found one.  Ick.  I hate when a pit stop derails my run, it’s one of the more annoying things about running.  Other “interesting” things that have happened to me while running: being chased (and almost mauled) by dogs, being stopped by annoying tourists asking for directions to Columbus Circle, getting very very lost in East Harlem, becoming convinced that my mother and sister were eaten by mountain lions, and sneaking into some very sketchy woods (on many different occasions) to go to the bathroom.  Runners have interesting lives and good stories.  You should befriend one 🙂

Eats: I had my special weekday breakfast treat today: a bagel with peanut butter and sweet iced tea from the deli/bakery.  This is one of my favorite things in the world.  I used to think it was so wrong that I would let food make me happy, but life is too short not to feel happy about having your favorite foods once in a while.  I freely admit that toasted cinnamon bagels with peanut butter make me very happy indeed!

I did the whole two dinners thing again today and it worked wonderfully.  No more Hangry Caronae!!!  Yay. 🙂

Dinner #1:

Vanilla-pear protein oatmeal eaten at 5:15.

Dinner #2:

Hodgepodge salad: mesclun base with carrots, steamed broccoli, refried pinto beans, brown rice, and a 2-egg puff.  So nom nom nom nom.

Dessert:

Pineapple chobs with crumbled raspberry chocolate luna bar — I maintain that this is not only the best luna bar flavor but the best bar out there.  Period.  It tastes like a raspberry-infused brownie that you might get for dessert at a fancy restaurant.  For twelve dollars.  I’m  not exaggerating.

Do you have a favorite dessert? I like almost anything with chocolate, especially brownies and homemade bake goods.  I have also been known to eat Ben and Jerry’s (ahem, Phish food) straight from the pint.

Goodnight friends!  Happy almost-weekend!

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joanne
    May 12, 2010 @ 23:11:55

    So can I tell you that my post-long-run breakfast was ALWAYS a cinnamon raising bagel SMOTHERED with peanut butter! It was the easiest way I could think to get calories back in my body after a 20 mile run. And the tastiest.

    I am so glad you are in a better mood and I can’t wait to see all of hte good food you eat while you’re home!

    Yeah what is WITH the lack of public bathrooms…especially in CP! They are IMPOSSIBLE to find. I speak from many really trying experiences…

    Reply

  2. Sarah
    May 13, 2010 @ 00:23:26

    Yay for a lift in mood! Great to hear you sounding so positive, and wow you’ve set yourself alot of goals – I hope some relaxation is on the cards too. When I make lists like that, I often intersperse them with slightly more random ‘things to experience’ such as flying a kite, feeding ducks, paddling in a stream and building a sandcastle! Ooh and I’d like to make a daisychain too…I’m weird.

    Oh and my favourite desert is crumble (particularly raspberry or blackberry)

    Sarah x

    Reply

  3. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    May 13, 2010 @ 07:27:43

    Definitely make sure you get to the botannical gardens- they’re beautiful to run in as well! Glad to hear you had a better day; the weather is supposed to get nicer in these next few days too, which always makes for a good mood!

    My favorite dessert is chocolate cake with rich, fudgy frosting- and I only eat the frosting. The frosting itself is my favorite dessert, really!

    Reply

  4. Heather (Where's the Beach)
    May 13, 2010 @ 07:35:16

    Love your summer list. I wish I had time off in the summer to knock off things from my list(s). Glad you’re feeling better too!

    Reply

  5. eatspinlive
    May 13, 2010 @ 08:33:36

    I love the list for summer 🙂 and my favorite desert would probably have to be anything involving chocolate! a slice of honey oat bread with nutella is always AMAZING!

    Reply

  6. Lauren @ BIOCHEMISTA
    May 13, 2010 @ 12:29:23

    Glad you’re feeling better! 🙂 I hate poopy moods…I’ve been in a serious funk lately – I think because of the whole career change. Buuuuut it’s getting a little easier each day 😉

    Your list looks GREAT! And congrats of the 7.5 miler! You rock girl!!!

    Reply

  7. Brittany
    May 13, 2010 @ 14:02:22

    Yum! looks great!

    Reply

  8. Sonia
    May 13, 2010 @ 16:23:33

    My favorite dessert is tiramisu! I rarely have it though…I also like pretty much any cake without too much frosting..ice cream, pie, yeah…
    I love your list of things you’re going to do this summer! What about scrapbooking?! I always enjoy that.
    I really enjoy pastels too! Esp oil pastels…anything I create looks great with those.
    I wish you lived in Texas!! or I in NY! I think we would get along so well 🙂

    Reply

  9. Kate
    May 13, 2010 @ 20:07:04

    great list! i would a leasurely sunning of yourself in your gorgeous city every now and again too!

    B&Js Whirled Peace or Oatmeal Cookie Chunk or homemade peanut butter and chocolate chip cookies or creme brulee or flourless chocolate cake or blueberry pie or…….. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Christine @ Grub, sweat and cheers
    May 13, 2010 @ 20:50:46

    That’s an outstanding list! Glad to hear you are feeling better too.

    Thyme is a great herb to grow – probably the easiest. I was stunned to find mine had survived our absolutely freezing winter here.

    And yay for knitting! I started knitting a few years ago and just love it for so many reasons: it’s somewhere between writing and cooking for me – crreative and homey. I’m still learning A LOT but am stunned that I can knit clothes. It’s brilliant. Hope you like it.

    Fave dessert? Anything lemon. Just a classic lemon tart sets me on fire.

    Reply

  11. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    May 13, 2010 @ 22:30:58

    i think it’s great that you make regular plans with REAL people, not just blog friends. i suffer from too much blog, not enough real life. Get out and do real life stuff 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

