Sad Bad Mood

Today’s Happy Note: Feeling better about therapy.  My therapist sent me a very comforting and calming response to my somewhat frantic letter to her yesterday.  That’s one thing, at the very least, that I don’t have to have in my mind right now.

Thanks everyone for your sweet comments yesterday.  Whenever I’m in a bad mood or sad or had a bad therapy day you never fail to make me feel better!  I am a lucky blogger indeed!

Unfortunately, while I am feeling a bit better about therapy, I’m still in a terrible mood.  Damn hormones.  I don’t really think there’s anything else to blame it on at this point.  I did have a good, lonely cry this evening which made me feel a bit better.  Although now I have a headache and about ten pimples.

I have felt terribly lonely over the last few days.  I sort of had an epiphany last night that friends make our lives worth living.  Even if I am only spending a few moments with someone, if that person is meaningful to me, they can make me feel so happy inside.  Friends make me feel radiant in a way that no amount of food or exercise or even positive self-talk can.  It’s another dimension of the health equation that I feel like I am just discovering — I have always had friends and have friends now, but hadn’t considered their importance to my own well-being before.  Sometimes the only thing in the world that can make me feel better is to have someone to snuggle with or someone to braid my hair or someone to just sit with.

Does this make sense? I often think of myself as a loner, but really, I’m not.  I am most definitely not a social butterfly with twenty best friends (and I never will be), but the relationships I do have with people mean everything to me.

Exercise: I came home from work tired and cranky (again!) and took a little nap.  I wanted to watch the Biggest Loser because (a) I like the show and (b) I knew I would feel motivated to do some moves while watching.  Success!  I spent the first hour of the show doing a circuit where I did 3-4 minutes cardio (mostly jumping moves a la Janetha) followed by 25 reps of a leg move, 25 reps of an ab move, and 25 reps of an arm move, then I did 3-4 minutes of yoga.  I probably went through the whole circuit 6 or 7 times.  It was a nice way to switch things up a bit.  Now that I’m not training for a half-marathon — or any running event for that matter — it’s nice to do some fun, non-running exercise.  In the next few weeks I’d like to do some swimming, bike riding, and maybe exercise classes!

Do you ever make up your own workout circuits?  What moves do you include?

Eats: Somewhat fun today!  I’m having to get creative, especially with protein and dessert options, but I’m managing.  I might have to buy some cottage cheese or black beans or sliced turkey to get me through the end of the week, but I’m really trying to hold out — I’m going home Saturday morning.  I hate wasting food.

Melty almond butter and blackberry oats=perfect way to start the morning!

Packed lunch for work!  Trader Joe’s chicken sausage ravioli with BBQ tempeh, green grapes, and carrots.

I have trouble packing lunches that will keep me satisfied all afternoon (through three or four hours), but this did the trick!  I am often afraid to include carbs in my lunch (silly, I know), but the pasta with the tempeh was a great choice for a main course, I think.

What are your go to lunches to bring when you’ll be at work all day?

Afternoon snack: clif mojo peanut butter and jelly flavor.  This tastes like real pb and j, actually.  It’s amazing!  I like all the clif mojo bars.

Dinner Part I: looks like weird pink soup.  It’s actually just watery kashi oatmeal (I love watery oats — they last longer!) mixed with cranberry-pommegranate tera’s whey protein powder.  I have to say, this was the most disgusting protein powder I have ever had in my entire life.  It tasted very fake and was way too sweet and cloying.  I should have just stuck with my regular WF vanilla whey!  Yuck.

Dinner part II: A semi-random but highly delicious combination!  I topped a base of plain spinach with a two egg puff, refried pinto beans, and a sliced pear.  The flavors worked really well together; smooth, creamy, sweet, savory.  I want to have the exact same thing for dinner tomorrow!  I think having two dinners wokred really well for me.  I am always afraid to do this because I fear that I’ll end up eating more calories, but instead of feeling ravenous after work and then ravenous again around ten or eleven, I spread everything out and felt satiated all evening long.  I might do this more often!

I just munched on a chocolate coconut chew lara bar for dessert.  It’s one of the best flavors in my opinion.  If you like laras, do you have a favorite flavor?

Definitely time for me to crawl into my bed now.  I’m hoping to squeeze in a run before work tomorrow morning so that I can relax in the evening.

Happy Wednesday friends!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    May 12, 2010 @ 00:35:06

    Aw sorry to hear you are feeling down still – I can empathise with feeling lonely I guess, since I don’t really have any local friends where I live right now and it’s hard to meet new people in a small town. It’s made me realise the importance of friends…

    Anyhoo, back to you, the thing with a rubbish mood is that it won’t last forever, and that’s what I always tell myself to get through times like this. If you ever want to email me, please do, and I’m glad you are honest in blogging about this. It makes people more ‘real’ when they talk about both good and bad times.

    And can I just say, your brekkie looks super yummy 😀

    Hugs

    Sarah x

    Reply

  2. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    May 12, 2010 @ 08:13:29

    Damn hormones. I used to have the worst PMS symptoms ever before going on the Pill, and now I barely have them at all…I know there’s a lot of research out there that says it’s not good for you, but I no longer have to miss school because I feel so crappy, which is definitely a good thing!

    I’m totally with you on the friends thing. I don’t have tons of friends, but the ones I do have I love and cherish more than anything. Sometimes it just helps to have someone to talk to about mindless things and be distracted!

    Reply

  3. Maggie @ Fit.Fun.Food
    May 12, 2010 @ 08:29:00

    You’re so right! Friends are one of the most important things in life! It’s so easy to take them for granted when we’re young because we have to be a little self-centered to figure out what we’re going to be doing for the rest of our lives. But I agree with you that friendship is just as important as working out and eating right, if not more so! I’m glad you’re feeling better! I hope your day goes well!

    Reply

  4. Sonia
    May 12, 2010 @ 10:02:17

    I agree- Friends are very important! without them, I would be such a weirdo, holed up in my casa and reading the Bell Jar over and over again…but that’s just me. I’m wouldn’t say I’m a loner either- or a social butterfly- I like hanging out with just a friend or two.
    I also make circuit exercises for myself! They are usually just a mashup of Jillian’s 30 Day shred though haha.
    And I haven’t had a lara bar in forev, but I think I used to like the lemon flavor!

    Reply

  5. Kate
    May 12, 2010 @ 20:09:17

    i love making up circuits at the gym! i watch other people (especially those with trainers) work out and steal their moves. hehe!

    i am fascinated by your pear and egg creation. i shall have to try it out!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

