A Day To Myself, Delicious Desserts, Cultural Foods

Today’s Happy Note: Fun evening with a friend who I haven’t spent enough time with lately!

I woke up this morning and laid in bed for a moment thinking.  I planned on a long run but was hungry for a big breakfast right away.  Then I realized that I wanted to take this one day and make it mine; I was going to relax and do precisely what I wanted when I wanted. I thought about a long run.  I thought about a trip to a museum.  I thought about a picnic in the park.  But after a few moments I smiled and realized I wanted to stay in, read my Oprah magazine, catch up on blogs, nap, and just think/clear my head!  And so I did.  It was really hard to let myself do nothing and I’m proud that I did.

I finally left my room at 6:00 for a workout that I did purely because I wanted to. I did a nice 6 mile run along the river followed by 40 intense minutes of full-body strength training.  I did some new moves today I’ve seen other people doing before; it’s nice to switch things up once in a while, it makes strength training even more fun!

Most of my eats today were boring but I dug into some fresh pineapple and it was pretty much the most amazing thing I’ve had in a long while so I have to share:

Sometimes I don’t like the acidic-tangy taste of pineapple but when a pineapple is perfect, it is so perfect.  Pineapple, mango, berries, and melon are my favorite summer fruits.  What are yours?

I need some new adjectives to describe delicious things.  Any suggestions? And if you’re wondering why the pineapple is a bit pink, it’s because there were also strawberries in the container!

I had the most amazing dessert outing tonight.  Sometimes it’s nice to have just a fancy dessert out; it feels classy but doesn’t rack up a terrible expense.

Pretty teapot.

I gave myself full permission to have whatever I wanted.  I ordered a coconut cream pie with a varlhona chocolate crust and berries.  Normally I am a 100% chocolate person but I was in a coconut mood tonight.  Do you gravitate towards one type of dessert most of the time? I usually avoid fruity desserts because they don’t especially satisfy me.

Look!  It is oozing creamy coconutty deliciousness!

My friend Joy got a delicious chocolate cake (I had a forkful) with a melty center and pistachio ice cream.

It’s funny that I don’t really like pistachios that much.  They’re probably my least favorite nut.  They’re a traditional Persian (Iranian) nut used in a lot of dishes and desserts.  So, being part Persian, I feel as though I should like them.  But I don’t.  I do, however, like this Persian candy made from pistachios called gaz. It also involves rose water and egg whites and general tastiness.  Here’s a picture:

Nom nom nom!  In addition to being Iranian, I’m also part Czech and part Irish.  It’s an interesting hybrid, I guess!  Sometimes I think of myself as a really weird but also interesting fruit hybrid.  Like a pummelo or something.  I don’t know that much about Czech foods or Irish foods, but I am decently familiar with Persian food.  Lots of tasty stews (khoresh), marinated meats, rice dishes (pollo), yogurt, and interesting vegetables and spices.  Growing up, my mom made mast-e-khiar a lot.  It involves plain yogurt, cucumber, mint, dill, raisins, walnuts, onions and other spices, if desired.  Looks like this:

Mast-o-Khiar (Iranian cucumber and mint yougurt)

I would like to learn more about Irish and Czech cooking.  American food, I think, tends towards the boring and bland.  As a kid I was actually obsessed with Indian food.  My other favorite types of food are Thai and real Mexican/Latin American.

Do you identify with a culture or ethnicity?  If so, do you ever cook from that culture?  If not, what are your favorite types of food?  Do you like exploring foods of other cultures or do you stick to a more continental approach?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    May 09, 2010 @ 00:07:18

    Well done for allowing yourself to chill out 🙂 I know how hard it is to put aside the nagging urge to do something ‘productive’ when just relaxing is productive in itself. That’s an interesting question about culture/ethnicity…alas I don’t have any interesting heritage given that both sides of my family hail not just from the UK, but from the same part of the UK. I would love to explore more foods/cooking from other cultures, but at the same time there are British staples such as roast beef and yorkshire puddings, bangers and mash and shepherds pie, that make me proud to be British hehe 🙂

    Sarah x

    Reply

  2. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    May 09, 2010 @ 06:27:28

    Glad you took some time out for yourself today…that dessert outing looks heavenly. I’m usually a chocolate person too, but occasionally something else just jumps out at me!

    My boyfriend teases me and tells me my ethnicity is “white”: German, Scottish, Dutch, and British. I’ve never tried most of their food, but I do love German beer 🙂

    Hope you have an amazing Sunday love!!

    Reply

  3. Stephen Vinson
    May 09, 2010 @ 08:38:12

    It is nice to have a full day to yourself!!!!

    My favorite summer fruits are MELONS!!! Watermelon, Cantaloupe, and Honey-Dew Melon. I also love oranges.

    Isn’t it awesome to actually want to workout??

    Reply

  4. Lauren @ BIOCHEMISTA
    May 09, 2010 @ 12:24:39

    I love days spent on the couch, blogging, reading, and just relaxing. They are def deserved once in a while!!! 🙂

    Thanks for your sweet comment on my blog!!! XOXOX

    Reply

  5. Kate
    May 09, 2010 @ 20:04:34

    well done on listening to what you wanted to do today. that is super hard and something i find challenging. nice work lady!

    i love eating food from different cultures. i am about 3/4 german and am not a fan of german food. i do enjoy sourkraut and apple struddle but other than that, not so much.

    that pie look AMAZING btw!

    Reply

  6. sophia
    May 09, 2010 @ 20:29:33

    I guess I see myself as Korean…but I don’t really cook Korean food. I might borrow influences and ingredients from it, but not really 100% authentic Korean food.

    I’m glad you got a chance to just chill and relax! That’s not doing nothing…it’s giving your brain and body a much deserved rest! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

