Happy Rewards and Silly Friends

Today’s Happy Note: Guess who just finished her junior year of college? 🙂

And boy am I ready to be done.  This week has been exhausting.  I am very ready for summer!  I actually like working a lot and I feel more adult during the summer.  I don’t tend to run wild and I love how the season lets me get into a rhythm and a schedule in the way that the school year really doesn’t.  I am planning a few exciting little projects to keep me entertained so stay tuned!

I decided to celebrate my little junior year graduation with two of my favorite things: Oprah magazine and frozen yogurt!

I like to have a balance of food and non-food rewards, so a frozen treat combined with a magazine is perfect for me!  My next big accomplishment will probably be rewarded with a massage!  Hmm, I’ll have to think of something to accomplish 🙂

Do you reward yourself?  If so, what is your favorite little treat?

Finals Health Week Challenge:

Yesterday (day 4) was kind of meh.  I had a lot to do so I knew I wasn’t really going to have time for a workout.  I might have had room for a walk if I hadn’t procrastinated so much.  People are always shocked to hear this but I am actually a major procrastinator!  On everything.  And it just turned into one of those days where you almost don’t have the energy to think up meals or snacks so you just eat cereal all day.  Does anyone else ever do this?  Hey, I had a lot of frozen fruit with my cereal.  That counts for something!

Mash-up of eats from yesterday and today:

Lots of healthy nom nom noms.

I think I did pretty well today (day 5).  I did a relaxing but pretty quick nine miler this morning and walked another two or so miles this evening.  I think my amount of physical activity today probably made up for not doing too much yesterday!  I’ve had a nice mix of treats and nutrition, too: dried berries, popcorn, raisins, peppers and broccoli, chocolate, spinach, frozen yogurt.  You get the picture.  I had two really nice, clear mental moments today too: once was after I finished writing my contemporary civilization exam (my last one).  I suddenly realized that I am a smart woman!  I just wrote, like, 15 pages about the implications of liberty for human equality in the political state!  I don’t think I’m stupid.  🙂  The next moment came this evening at the movies with friends, when we were goofing around and taking funny pictures of each other.  I saw a picture of me and one of my friends and for the first time in a long time, my immediate reaction was “gosh, that girl looks pretty and interesting”, rather than “that girl looks fat.”  Sounds silly, but this is a big deal for me!

I did have an Adventure today for Adventure Friday (saw Ironman II with friends — surprisingly good) but am too tired to write about it!  I am planning on having an adventure tomorrow though so you guys won’t be too adventure deprived.

I think this picture pretty much sums up the evening!  My friends and I are quite silly…We were trying to pose in front of the Sex and The City poster but it didn’t really work out.

Has anyone done an Adventure Friday post? If so, send me the link and I would love to read it and share it with my other readers!

I hope you all have a most wonderful weekend filled with lots of laughter and contentment!  And pretty May flowers too!

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Erin
    May 08, 2010 @ 06:19:00

    Congrats on being finished! You must feel awesome. 😀

    Reply

  2. Joanne
    May 08, 2010 @ 07:40:44

    Congrats on being done! I rewarded myself with froyo yesterday as well…although I rewarded myself for no real reason…other than gluttony LOL.

    And now the rest of your life can begin!

    You are DEFINITELY smart and have SO MUCH going for you! Glad you can see it for yourself!

    Reply

  3. Kate
    May 08, 2010 @ 07:59:30

    congratulations! now it is time for summer! yehaw 🙂

    i wish i had adventure fridays. they are my longest, work filled day of the week. BOOOOOO! perhaps i could schedule an adventure tuesday? they are a bit more open for me.

    and i am sooooo excited for the sex in the city movie!

    Reply

  4. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    May 08, 2010 @ 08:15:11

    It’s SO AWESOME to hear about those two revelations. YES, YOU ARE SMART- hello, you go to COLUMBIA! Last time I checked they weren’t exactly letting just anyone in…you’re definitely an intelligent woman 🙂 And it’s so great that you thought POSITIVE things when seeing your photo. I’m gonna sound like the biggest creeper, but the first thing I thought when I met you was that you have kind eyes- your personality definitely shines through and is a huge part of your beauty 🙂 Hope you have an AMAZING weekend love!!

    Reply

  5. Maggie @ Fit.Fun.Food
    May 08, 2010 @ 09:10:32

    Congratulations! Only one more year! There’s no way you couldn’t be smart after getting this far!

    Reply

  6. eatmovelove
    May 08, 2010 @ 15:16:53

    I love your blog!! Thanks for commenting on mine 🙂 Surprises me everytime someone writes.
    CONGRATS on finishing up another year.
    Oh – and loving the m&m’s …and that KD…:)

    Reply

  7. Heather (Where's the Beach)
    May 08, 2010 @ 17:28:42

    I’ve never heard of adventure Friday, but sounds like fun! Good job finishing up the semester. I know what a huge relief that is. Have a great weekend!

    Reply

  8. Darya
    May 08, 2010 @ 19:30:16

    WHEN ARE YOU COMING HOME?
    P.S. Gratz on finishing

    Reply

  9. Ameena
    May 08, 2010 @ 21:42:19

    Congrats on being a senior! How exciting for you. 🙂 I remember college like it was yesterday, the time just flies by!

    I reward myself every night with a little bit of chocolate. It’s the least I could do for myself considering the nonsense I put up with every day! 🙂

    Reply

  10. Sarah
    May 08, 2010 @ 23:04:28

    Ooh congrats! My favourite treat is toffee 🙂 I love your reaction to seeing yourself in a photo, because that’s what I think when I see you in a photo – that girl DOES look pretty and interesting 🙂

    The froyo looks great (I must try this mysterious froyo treat that so many bloggers keep mentioning!) and I’m glad you gave yourself a nice treat, because you deserve a reward for all your hard work.

    Sarah x

    Reply

  11. pen (pen at peace)
    May 09, 2010 @ 19:49:50

    Congrats on finishing your Junior year!!! Senior year is the best…so, get ready for an awesome time next year! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

