Therapy Thought, Finals Health Week Challenge Day 3

Today’s Happy Note: I was struggling to write a piece to share in my prose class (we share new pieces every other week) and at the last minute the words just came pouring out and I ended up with a piece I was very proud of.  I love it when I start writing about something and just can’t stop; such a good feeling.

Thanks everyone, by the way, for your comments and thoughts on my last Therapy Monday post.  They put me at ease.  Sometimes I forget how much therapy is a part of my life right now.  Sure, I go every Monday and then I write about it, but the last two days I felt totally rattled and upset and just all over the place.  All from one slightly “off” session.  Your comments reminded me that this is to be expected once in a while!  And my own words actually gave me some things to think about; how I might want the process to go in the future, what my relationship with my therapist is like, etc.  I was feeling so confused and shaken about the whole matter that I emailed her last night and this morning.  Her words — like they are 99% of the time — were very thoughtful and reassuring, and made me feel much better.  I think that with therapy, I’m finally at a point where I feel more happiness and joy or pleasure or confidence than sadness or pain.  I haven’t felt this way in years, so, overall, something is working.

Finals Week Health Challenge Day 3

Day 0 here (I sort of started on this day, unofficially)

Day 1 here

Day 2 here

1. Check!  I was not in the mood to work out all day and then in the evening, after yelling at my air conditioner, I realized just how cranky I was feeling, and that a little run would help clear my head.  And it did!  I ran for 56 minutes (I’m guessing about 5.5 miles) and then walked another mile.  The run flew by because I was just so busy thinking about things.  It was nice to sort through random memories and thoughts and feelings and see where I am at right now at this very moment in my life.  Also, I was really proud of myself that I stopped when I wanted to (aka when I got to Whole Foods) rather than forcing myself to go for a set distance.  It was freeing to let myself run naturally for once — no time or distance goals, no paces, just me and my thoughts and the path!

2. Check!  Dried berries, frozen berries, more frozen berries (so very refreshing right now!), blackberries, spinach, carrots, raisins.

3. Check!  I did have a bowl of cereal after dinner, but only one, and then I didn’t want anymore!

4. Meh.  I’ll admit, I wasn’t very nice to myself today. I sort of started getting really worked up about school and my schedule for the next few weeks and that turned into low self-esteem which turned into negative thoughts.  BUT I think I did a relatively good job of getting some of those emotions out during the run and I’m a feeling happy, confident, and calm right now.

My pictures from today are pretty boring — same old oatmeal, yogurt, berries, trail mix, carrots, SIABs that you’re used to.  Once finals are over my next little blog project is going to be doing some fun recipes and posting fun pictures of them.

I hope your weeks are all much more exciting than mine is right now!

I promise I will be a fun blogger again one day soon…

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    May 06, 2010 @ 00:18:09

    You’re doing great with the challenge 🙂 And I’m glad you’ve had chance to reflect on your therapy session. As I’ve said before, I find it useful to read about your therapy experiences because it gives me ideas as to how to get the best out of mine when I start it.

    Also, I too love those moments when you just find your writing groove and the words flow instinctively. And you are a fun blogger, don’t let school stress get you down…it’ll be time for summer before you know it 🙂

    Sarah x

    Reply

  2. Joanne
    May 06, 2010 @ 06:32:52

    Yay for cutting yourself some slack. It’s hard but sometimes incredibly necessary!

    Your finals fitness week looks like its going great! Love that you went for a run just because. Sometimes those are the best kinds. Can’t wait to see your recipes after finals are over! I’m sure you’ll whip up some awesome treats.

    Reply

  3. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    May 06, 2010 @ 06:41:42

    Those kinds of runs are the best- when you don’t feel any pressure, you just GO! Glad today was a little better for you in that respect 🙂 Good luck with finals- hang in there girl, you’re almost done!!

    Reply

  4. Maggie @ Fit.Fun.Food
    May 06, 2010 @ 07:05:21

    That run sounds really amazing. There’s nothing like it to clear your head. Good luck with your schoolwork and keeping up your challenge! It seems like you’re doing really well with both!

    Reply

  5. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    May 07, 2010 @ 01:58:26

    so glad youre cutting yourself some slack and the weekend’s almost here! 🙂

    Reply

  6. Christine @ Grub, Sweat and Cheers
    May 07, 2010 @ 09:17:21

    You’re always a fun blogger!

    I had a run like that yesterday and completely get what you mean! I love runs that like; they aren’t training, they aren’t pushing yourself, in some ways they aren’t even physical they are just therapeutic.

    You’re doing so great with your challenges – way to go. Hope you have a lovely weekend!

    Reply

  7. Katherine: What About Summer?
    May 07, 2010 @ 11:08:20

    feeling confident is what will get you through exams! you’re so good to be healthy during finals; it’s my least healthy time. no matter what, you’ll get through it!
    Katherine

    Reply

Leave a Reply

