Finals Week Health Challenge

Today’s Happy Note: I got one paper done (8 pages).  I still need to edit it, but getting the first draft out is always the hardest part.  Here’s what’s left between now and Friday: one 15-page paper, one 10 page take home exam, and one in class final.  That’s not so terrible!  I can do it!

Speaking of school, finals, and papers, I want to give myself a little challenge.  I found myself eating way too much this weekend because I was stressed and/or bored.  Finals week(s) is always a difficult time to follow the diet (in the lifestyle sense, not the weight loss sense) that works best for me, so…

Introducing the Finals Week Health Challenge!

There are several components:

1. 60 minutes of physical activity every day (I suspect this one will be the easiest).

2. 6+ servings of fruits and veggies (dried, fresh, frozen, sauces — it all counts).

3. No late night stress snacking: if I am genuinely awake and using energy studying and I need fuel, that is fine, but I am going to try to maintain a semi-decent schedule, and I would like to institute my no after dinner snacking rule (besides dessert, of course).

4. Mental health: tell myself 3 positive/nice things everyday.  Don’t panic; remain calm and know that everything will get done!

That’s it!  Pretty simple.  This is how I try to live most of the time, but things tend to get crazy during finals — think 12 hour marathon paper writing sessions accompanied by a bag of chocolate chips, etc.  Any college students out there who want to join me are welcome! It starts immediately, unless you don’t have exams yet.

Here’s today’s progress:

1. Check.  I did a 6 mile run (which took me almost 70 minutes; it was 85 degrees and I am NOT adjusted to the heat yet) followed by a 90 minute yoga class at The Shala. The actual class and teacher and flows were great, bu I was so disgustingly sweaty that I could hardly concentrate.

2. Check. I have consumed the following today: blackberries, half a banana, frozen berries and pineapple, arugula/lettuce mix, roasted broccoli, and roasted bell peppers.  I think it was probably somewhere around six or seven servings.

3. Not check.  I had my standard dessert after dinner, but felt the need to eat some unnecessary cereal and peanut butter afterwards.  Not sure if it was genuine hunger (I was pretty active today) or stress, but I’m leaning towards the latter.

4. I think I was pretty un-stressed today, and I have had plenty of positive thoughts.  Why, you want to know?  Because I asked a boy on a date(ish) yesterday!!!!  This is a first for me, and I am VERY PROUD of myself.  It’s such a simple thing, but men are a huge source of anxiety for me.  We’re having lunch on Tuesday.  I’ll let you know how it goes! 🙂

I did a 12-miler yesterday; I wasn’t planning on a long run but I woke up early and just decided to do it.  It was a bit slow but I felt really good during parts of it.

Eats:

LOTS of cereal/smoothie/trail mix bowls.  They’re just so easy.  With the weather this hot,I’m really craving cold smoothies and cereal.  I think I only had oatmeal once this weekend!  My favorite smoothie is really simple: about a cup of frozen berries, a scoop of protein powder, either soy milk or greek yogurt plus a little water, a few bug handfuls spinach, and, sometimes, pb or ab.  Anyone have a favorite smoothie recipe I should try?

Dinner tonight was really good and really easy!  I roasted broccoli and bell peppers with EVOO, salt, and crushed red pepper for 30 minutes.  When it had ten minutes left I heated some EVOO in a non stick pan and added several thin sole fillets (it was on sale at WF this week) and lemon pepper.  I heated up a tiny bit of leftover rice in the microwave and washed a bunch of arugula/lettuce to use as a base.  When everything was done I just threw it in the bowl!  Easy and delish.  The sole tasted a little too fishy for me, but whatever.

Yum!  Sometimes it scares me how fast I go through spinach.  Does anyone else have this problem?

Back to the grind for me.  Stay tuned for Therapy Monday tomorrow!

Questions to entertain me:

1. What food do you go through the fastest?  What do you spend the most on?

2. What’s the craziest thing you did in college?

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    May 03, 2010 @ 01:02:05

    Spinach rules! I love your goal-oriented approach – I remember how stressful finals were for me, so it’s good to give yourself a battle plan to get through them.

    Ok the food I go through the quickest, well boringly enough it’s carrots, because you can have them raw and cooked, with meals and as snacks…you can even make a cake with them.

    The craziest thing I did in college (or uni as I would call it)…hmm…I cycled about ten miles to some random village to get my euphonium fixed. Basically it’s like a smaller version of a tuba, and I had it strapped to my back the whole time. Never again will I put myself through that! Hehe

    Sarah x

    Reply

  2. Sarah L.
    May 03, 2010 @ 08:53:37

    I definitely go through an insane amount of spinach as well… it’s just so darn good! In smoothies, steamed with eggs, or as the base of a salad… yum!!!

    Also, I remember you asking about other veggies to put in smoothies. I am currently doing “The Green Smoothie Cleanse” from Making Love in the Kitchen. If you have not been to Meghan’s blog, I would definitely check it out and consider buying the tutorial. Either way, I can attest to the fact that romaine, zucchini, kale, avocado, cucumber, celery and even beets can all be delish in smoothies accompanied with some fruit for added flavour/sweetness. Those are all the veggies I have tried in smoothies thus far in my adventure but collard greens are on the list for tomorrow so I’ll let you know how it goes.

    Also, I don’t think I’ve ever commented on your blog before but I am a daily reader ….so hey, I’m Sarah! 🙂 Keep up the awesome work, I love reading it.

    Reply

    • caronae
      May 03, 2010 @ 09:33:05

      Thanks for stopping by! I love “meeting” my readers. And thanks for the smoothie tips; I can def. see myself trying some of those. I might start with cucumber!

      Reply

  3. eatspinlive
    May 03, 2010 @ 09:43:36

    All of your foods look amazing girl!! I definitely go through dark chocolate dreams peanut butter the quickest because it is amazing and I use it in so many things 🙂 especially breakfast cookies!

    Reply

  4. Sonia
    May 03, 2010 @ 09:59:25

    I also go through tons and tons of spinach! Also soy/almond milk…
    The craziest thing in college…umm does getting kicked out of the bar this Saturday count? 😉

    I love putting mango in smoothies- they make it really *silky* somehow, if that makes sense.

    Reply

  5. Kate
    May 03, 2010 @ 11:44:17

    i like the challenge! all good compents for a very holisticly focused challenge. good luck!

    i don’t know if i should share my college stories on the web 🙂 the one that pops into my head first involves a pole, a giant chocolate sculpture, and me wetting my pants from laughter.

    excited to hear more about the date too!

    Reply

  6. Missy Maintains
    May 03, 2010 @ 13:34:23

    Love your challenge! Mine would be pretty similar! Trying to add in more fruits and veggies and end the night eating! Hope your date goes well! Exciting!

    Reply

  7. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    May 03, 2010 @ 13:44:16

    Great challenge! Just make sure you don’t deprive yourself at night- if you’re hungry, go for it 🙂

    I go through cereal, almond milk and apples like it’s my job- I feel like I’m constantly running out! And crazy college stories…hmm…I don’t think I should share some of last year’s events on the internet 🙂

    Hope you’re having a great day!!

    Reply

  8. Christine @ Grub, sweat and cheers
    May 03, 2010 @ 15:41:39

    Love the challenge – I need to do something similar.

    I think I go through greens the quickest – lettuce mixes, kale, spinach etc. I spend the most on good quality meat & fish. And wine. 🙂

    Thankfully I can only remember bits and pieces of my University days…trust me…it’s a good thing.

    Reply

  9. Maggie @ Fit.Fun.Food
    May 03, 2010 @ 16:47:32

    I do love spinach, but I’m amazed how fast I can finish a quart of yogurt these days. I think my record time is less than 2 days…at least my bones are strong, right? Good luck on your challenge! I think #4 is especially important!
    1. You’re a great blogger!
    2. You have insane running stamina!
    3. You manage to make a great, healthy dinner in the midst of finals!

    Have a great Monday, girl!

    Reply

  10. Marina
    May 03, 2010 @ 21:17:55

    I don’t know where you get that energy from, Caronae! To write term papers AND run 6 miles?! Good grief!! LOL

    I spend a shameful amount of money on veggie restaurants. :/

    Reply

  11. Kelly
    May 05, 2010 @ 11:37:53

    Good for you for asking a boy out! That was really hard for me back when I was in the dating scene. You should be really proud of yourself! 🙂

    if you want some new amoothie recipes. Check out the recipe tab on my blog. I have a few that are really yummy. A friend just asked me for some the other day so I organized all my recipes so they would be easy to find.

    Reply

  12. Trackback: Therapy Thought, Finals Health Week Challenge Day 3 « Run. Write. Therapy. Life.

Leave a Reply

