Adventure Friday!

Today’s Happy Note: Grocery shopping!   Never fails to make me happy.  And I had some pretty good finds too, like TJ’s mini peanut butter cups and sole fillets on sale at Whole Foods.

Hello friends!  Happy Friday evening.  I had a very exciting day filled with adventures galore!  At the office this morning someone referred to “going on an adventure” and my ears perked right up.  Immediately, I pictured pirates and princesses and dragons and giants.  Actually, the adventure only involved picking up huge boxes from the mail room. But an adventure is an adventure and I like them all.  Seriously, you could probably tell me that the most boring analytical political paper ever (which I will be writing this weekend) was an adventure and I’d probably enjoy it.  Note to self: said paper is an adventure.

Guess what?  I have an apartment for the summer!!!!!!! Perfect location, price, etc.   It’s huge and in a beautiful old building on the UWS with a doorman.  And the woman who owns it doesn’t actually live there!  She works there some afternoons/evenings, and it’s been in her family for over 50 years.  Basically I will have the space to myself some of the time!  It’s pretty fabulous (and beautifully decorated).  The bedroom alone is about twice the size of my current dorm room, and cheaper.  I’m excited!

Exercise: 30 minutes of arm weights and 30 minutes HIIT on elliptical this morning.  When I do this combo I think of it as a power hour.  And it is!  I had to lug around multiple (heavy) bags of groceries later on in the day and I felt really strong doing it.  And I can definitely see more definition in my arms.  I never seem to see much ab definition though.  I can have rock solid arms and legs and the abs will just be, well…there.  Anybody else have this problem?

I also walked at least another 4 miles throughout the day (mostly on my adventure).

Lunch was yummy and Caribbean-inspired!

Romaine base topped with carrots, plantains, coconut rice, and pinto beans.  This tasted surprisingly yummy all mixed up!

I wasn’t in the mood for a cookie for Cookie Friday, but did want a treat.  I found just what I was looking for at the WF bakery…

Rocky Road Brownie! This was so perfectly rich and delicious.  I had a spoonful of my newfound maranatha dark chocolate almond “spread” (no idea why it is a “spread” and not a “butter”) on the side.  Pure chocolatey heaven.  I hope there is chocolate in heaven.

Adventure Friday:

Recap of Adventure Friday #1

Recap of Adventure Friday #2

I was planning on going to the Cloisters but didn’t have enough time because of visiting the apartment.  I needed something to do in a two hour block of time.  Enter…

The Central Park Conservatory Garden:

It was a most beautiful day and walking to the gardens and back was lovely!  A wee bit warm, but the piercing blue of the sky and the lazy, dragging leaves made up for it.  You guys know I like my plants, and today was a day for plants indeed. I saw many of my favorites — lilacs, lilies of the valley, honeysuckle, bluebell.  I also saw a ton of willows.  I think willows might be my favorite tree.  Either that or Japanese maple or white pine.  Hmmmm…

Do you have a favorite flowering plant?  Tree?

My sister became obsessed with edible wildlife when we were kids.  Someone gave her a book about what you can and can’t eat in the great outdoors and she latched onto it for years; if we went to a park or a lake or a botanical garden (what?  you didn’t go on trips to botanical gardens as a kid?), the book went too.  I quickly learned which berries could and could not be eaten, how to properly suck on honeysuckles, and that pine needles are edible.  I have forgotten most of the specifics, but the two of us used to take great joy in rambling around the woods looking for things to eat.  Today reminded me of that!  I started thinking of all the things in the gardens that could be edible…

Alright, I have just admitted one of the major quirks of my childhood.  Now you have to share.

This was a very pleasant little Adventure Friday!  I highly recommend the gardens; it’s nice to find spots of greenery and natural beauty in the city.

I have a monster headache and am off to steam myself and drink gallons of water!  I want to do a long run this weekend, but I know that it might not be the best plan given that I still feel sick and now sound like I have whooping cough…or tuberculosis…or something.  Blech.

Anyone doing anything fun for the weekend? I will be writing three papers!  Yay  Hope everyone else has a fun few days filled with outdoor activities (i.e., not sitting in the library looking like a vampire)!

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sophia
    Apr 30, 2010 @ 23:27:19

    Writing three papers? Oh wow. I’m already griping about this one research paper I have to write. Good luck with yours!

    Childhood quirk…Hm, can’t really recall…Well, I liked to jump over cracks on streets. And when there were tiles, I liked to hop over them in a certain pattern. haha.

    Reply

  2. Sarah
    May 01, 2010 @ 01:22:28

    Well I loved reading about your adventure Friday – the gorgeous pics, the smile in your writing and the good news (yay for a place to live!). It cheered me up 🙂

    Sarah x

    Reply

  3. Maggie @ Fit.Fun.Food
    May 01, 2010 @ 07:12:38

    Good luck with your work! That brownie looks scrumptious and I don’t even like sweets that much!

    Reply

  4. foodiefresh
    May 01, 2010 @ 07:13:52

    It is great to hear that someone else in this world enjoys grocery shopping as much as I do. Your last photo of the willow tree beside the pond is so beautiful. It looks like a more realistic Monet painting. Lovely. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Erin
    May 01, 2010 @ 08:04:35

    Congrats on finding an apt! It can definitely be a frustrating process but sounds like you found the perfect one. 😀

    Reply

  6. Kate
    May 01, 2010 @ 08:08:07

    love new york photos! the one with the sun shinning thru the trees is gorgeous.

    congrats on the apt too. that can be such a stressful so i bet it is nice to have that taken care of. enjoy your weekend and hope those papers go smoothly!

    Reply

  7. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    May 01, 2010 @ 11:31:36

    Hooray for finding an apartment! It sounds absolutely beautiful, what a steal! When I was a kid, I was absolutely OBSESSED with the Titanic. Obsessed. Like, there are no words to describe this obsession…it was all I thought about, all I talked about. And no, it did not come from the movie….I was obsessed before it even came out, so you can imagine how much more I loved it with Leo as a factor. I’m still kind of obsessed, but I’ve learned to tone it down a bit 🙂

    I definitely gain muscle in my limbs way easier than my midsection, too. It used to bother the crap out of me (and I’ll admit, it still frustrates me occasionally), and then I just said to hell with it. Think of it this way: as you get older, it gets increasingly less acceptable to flaunt your stomach, but you can wear shorts and sleveless tops until you’re 90. Right?

    Hope you’re having a fabulous weekend love!!

    Reply

  8. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    May 01, 2010 @ 23:26:00

    3 papers..ugh.
    The asking boy out that you just told me…OMG will need deets on that one, for sure!!!!!!!!

    Great rocky road brownie, and the TJs finds, and the apartment…sooo awesome!

    Reply

  9. Joanne
    May 02, 2010 @ 07:16:07

    Blech to the papers. Good luck. You will rock them.

    I like your idea about picturing schoolwork as an adventure..maybe then I would actually do it…

    Okay so if you are going to be here for the summer, we are definitely going to need to hang out. SERIOUSLY. I live on the UES. You will be on the UWS. Sounds perfect.

    I need to check out that rocky road heaven from Whole Foods. Can you say amazing?

    Reply

  10. Haleigh
    May 02, 2010 @ 07:20:42

    The rocky road brownie looks seriously delicious. I always prefer brownies over cookies… probably because they contain much more chocolate 😉 I love your photos of central park! I’ve visited the city several times and you are so lucky that you are able to live there! Hope you have a good day! xoxo /Haleigh

    Reply

  11. Katherine: What About Summer?
    May 02, 2010 @ 12:14:44

    you can breathe out now that you have somewhere to live! that’s so stressful to find.

    grocery shopping is great! i only wish I didn’t have to do it so frequently…
    Katherine

    Reply

  12. Ada
    May 02, 2010 @ 12:15:51

    Hooray for finding an apartment! Now we can definitely hang out this summer!!!

    Reply

  13. Salah
    May 02, 2010 @ 22:54:02

    YAY about the apartment!! Those scenery pictures are so beautiful!

    Reply

  14. Trackback: Adventure Monday « for the love of breakfast

Leave a Reply

