I Like (Free) Food.

Today’s Happy Note: Naps.  Cuddling with my stuffed duck Herbert.  Watching TV curled up in my bed.  Drinking tea with honey.  Ah, the joys of being sick and not going to class!

Exercise: Went for a 40 minute walk today; climbed lots of stairs.  Still no “official” exercise, and guess what?  I’m perfectly fine!  I am, however, getting a bit restless and will need more movement time tomorrow.  I also am missing strength training!  I can’t wait to lift some arm weights and do core work.  Sometimes it’s not the process of exercise (i.e., burning calories, seeing results, etc.) but the act: it clears my head and just doing it makes me feel strong.

Eats: Sicky foods.  I’ll let the pictures talk.

Okay wait.  I want to talk.  Who doesn’t buy their dark chocolate by the pound (or pound plus, perhaps).  And anyone who doesn’t consume dark chocolate when they’re sick is a zombie.

And who doesn’t eat frozen yogurt daily?  Is that not allowed?

Eats Part II: Free food. Who doesn’t like free food?  I’ve been encountering LOTS of free food lately.  It tends to be rather ubiquitous at the end of the semester and my thoughts about it can be summed up in three words: I love it. I haven’t spent money on dinner in three days.  This is amazing.  I try to keep things real on this blog, and this is definitely one very “real” aspect of my life.  While I’ll never skimp on food, I can’t always afford Whole Foods produce or organic products or unlimited servings of fresh veggies.  I do what I can — and I probably do better than most college students.  But sometimes, payday is still three days away.   In the meantime, bring on the (free) food (preferably healthy; but when you’re a student free is free).  I don’t discriminate amongst things without price stickers.

Free dinner last night:

I snagged a seat at a little dinner hour with the provost and had a most lovely meal, including un-pictured chocolate covered strawberries.  My school is insanely rich and has the most amazing catering services.

Items pictured include: grilled chicken, salmon, rare steak, roasted cauliflower, some sort of bacon potato salad (DIVINE), broccolini, greek salad, mango and cucumber salad.

Tonight’s free dinner:

That last plate is stolen free food.  Perhaps snagged is a better way of describing it.  Plus, it was leftover at the end of an event, so I’m pretty sure it was up for grabs anyways.  This meal involved jerk chicken, a tiny bit of rice and beans (I’m not a huge rice fan), lamb kebab, Indian samosa patty thing, plantains, plain salad, fruit, and, of course, pretty cupcakes.  Look at that frosting!  So blue.  It reminds me of pictures of the ocean off of Greek islands.  Random, but am I right?

These cupcakes were from Buttercup Bakery (I saw the boxes) and the frosting was hands down the best I have ever had in the city.  Creamy and rich and sweet but not overpowering or cloying.  A perfect balance.

I’ve only gone to two classes so far this week.  Hey, I don’t want to infect anybody else right before finals!  Seriously, people on this campus would be having some major panic attacks if they got sick right now.  I;m only doing my duty to my fellow students.  BUT this wonderful little not-going-to-class-streak must end, sadly.  I am feeling a bit better and really need to go to both my classes and work tomorrow.  Hopefully I won’t be too tired!

Goodnight friends!  And happy Thursday!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hope Has A Place
    Apr 28, 2010 @ 22:48:34

    Nothing like yummy, free food to get you feeling better! Good luck studying for finals! xoxo

    Reply

  2. Sarah
    Apr 29, 2010 @ 01:21:50

    I’d say that fabulous blue cupcake makes me think of smurfs 😀

    I’m glad you’re looking after yourself and giving your body some rest. Hopefully you will soon be as good as new 😉

    Sarah x

    Reply

  3. Christine @ Grub, Sweat and Cheers
    Apr 29, 2010 @ 08:43:47

    That is totally smurf blue! My kids would love it.

    Looks like you snagged some lovely free meals – I remember those student days and scraping by on pennies between pay cheques. Nice that you have some free AND healthy options!

    Hope you are feeling back to normal soon – I always find I miss strength training before running too…

    Reply

  4. Sonia
    Apr 29, 2010 @ 10:38:10

    Ohh I love free food too- lucky you! Our catering service provides the worst stuff. Once an organization I was part of wanted to have them do “snacks” for an even and they brought too-hard cookies and watery hot cocoa. UGH.
    Hope you feel better soooon 🙂

    Reply

  5. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    Apr 29, 2010 @ 12:35:05

    I used the not wanting to infect anyone excuse this week too- sometimes it’s nice to take a break, even if you’re not on your deathbed!!

    That cupcake is BLUE. And by blue, I mean BLUE!! The frosting does look delicious, though! I love free food too, though I have to admit that I’m a total princess and tend to skeeve around big buffets- so many people are handling them! I’ll never say no to letting my parents treat me, though 🙂

    Hope you’re having a great week love!!

    Reply

  6. Maggie @Fit.Fun.Food
    Apr 29, 2010 @ 14:05:51

    Score on the free food! Here’s a tip–check out receptions! They always have a little hummus and crudite action. Don’t feel bad about the exercise–you probably got enough just walking around all day. Have a great weekend!

    Reply

  7. Ada
    Apr 29, 2010 @ 17:22:13

    I tried to snag one of those cupcakes yesterday but the line was endless!

    I hope you feel better ASAP!!!

    Reply

  8. Marina
    Apr 29, 2010 @ 19:36:36

    Oooh, Buttercup Bakery sounds amazing! Yay for cupcakes! 🙂

    Reply

  9. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    Apr 29, 2010 @ 19:46:22

    free food is awesome and LOVE that nice big TJs hunk of choc! ill share with you 🙂 i’d love some!

    Reply

  10. pen (pen at peace)
    Apr 29, 2010 @ 20:04:51

    oh yum! i LOVE buttercup!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

