Therapy Monday

Today’s Happy Note: Baking cookies!  I made chocolate chunk cookies for the students who I teach an SAT class on Monday nights.  Today was the last day so I wanted them to have a little reward.  Baking is definitely relaxing!

I started feeling a teeny bit sick yesterday and am full-blown sick today.  Icky.  Sore threat, headache, body ache, etc.  I hope it’ll go away soon since I have so much work to get done this week and I can never concentrate when I’m sick and I just want to take a nap!

I didn’t want to overdo it by exercising too much, so I just did a twenty minute yogadownload video this morning and walked about 2-3 miles throughout the day.  The yoga felt nice and relaxing.

When I’m sick I tend to panic about not exercising for a few days at a time.  I dislike taking rest days more than one day in a row, and if I’m sick for 3 or 4 days and don’t workout at all, well, that scares me.  I have an irrational fear of becoming instantaneously fat.  And then if I do workout I just feel run down which stresses me out and probably just ends up exacerbating the illness!  So, my mini goal here is this: respect my body, give it the rest and love and attention that it needs; if I feel up for a little movement, fine, but if not, I will listen to my body (and my mind) and I won’t stress about my decisions either way!

What do I like to eat when I’m sick?

Oatmeal!  Specifically, oats in a jar!

My row of nut butter jars is growing growing growing!  I have no idea why I’m saving them, I just think they’re cute!

I  also like cold, creamy smoothies (consumed in a bowl with some kashi for crunchiness!):

And soothing, hot tea:

And easy peasy leftover bowls: this dish (ground beef, stir-fried asparagus/spinach, TJ’s coconut lime rice) took three minutes to heat in the microwave!  And voila, done.

I also like hot cocoa and anything sweet/carby.  What do you like to eat or drink when you’re sick?

Therapy Monday:

Today was really complicated; lots of tears, but I came away with one simple and concise point: be compassionate towards others, but begin by being compassionate towards yourself and your family.  It would take me about ten years to explain how we got to this point so I won’t.  But it was a lovely, spectacular little realization, really.  Because it’s so true.

On an unrelated note, I was telling my therapist about what I did when I was little and I was sick.  I used to go to my parent’s offices  (they’re both doctors) and it was such a blast!  My sister and I would play with the stethoscopes, microscopes, and rolling stools, draw endless pictures, and be entertained by the nurses.  Great little memory!   When I was older and could stay home during the day by myself, I became an absolute master at either pretending I was sick when I wasn’t or convincing my mom that I just needed a day off and she should call school and say I was sick.  I have always been pretty good at manipulating people, but this was my specialty.  She always felt so bad (and was really gullible), and I took a ton of sick days when I wasn’t remotely sick!

Did anyone else do this or was it just me?  Do you have any really fun childhood memories like this one?

A third note: my therapist went way above and beyond the call of duty today.  I don’t really want to explain how, but wow.  Just wow.  I was floored by her compassion, generosity, and kindness.  I am so incredibly, incredibly lucky.  If anyone lives in New York and wants a therapist, email me and I would HIGHLY recommend her.

Alright, time for me to munch on chocolate, do the crossword puzzle from the paper, and go to sleep!  Goodnight 🙂

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hope Has A Place
    Apr 26, 2010 @ 21:31:21

    Ah, sorry you’re sick, girl! Definitely take it easy and give your body a rest. When I’m sick, I pretty much just eat carbs. Oatmeal, graham crackers, toast, saltines. Nothing else sounds good! And both my parents are doctors, so I’d go to work with them too. I have to admit, I took a lot of sick days with my mom… but I couldn’t fool my dad! He doesn’t take “sick” as an excuse.

    Reply

  2. Sonia
    Apr 26, 2010 @ 22:04:02

    Ohhh I definitely faked sick A LOT as a child. I hated school for some reason. My dad never forced me to go when I didn’t want to, so I spent a lot of time at his work- He was an Electrical Engineer. I would print off pages of programming garble and ended up teaching myself HTML and hex! I don’t know why I hated school so much…My dad ended up homeschooling me through middle school and when I moved to TX I went to a public high school. I don’t regret any of it!

    Reply

  3. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    Apr 27, 2010 @ 00:56:55

    it’s great you save your jars…i put leftovers in them rather than using disposable containers or baggies.

    have a great week, caronae!

    Reply

  4. Sarah
    Apr 27, 2010 @ 01:18:08

    Man I wish I was in New York, your therapist sounds like a dream, I can’t seem to find any decent ones in my area grrr!

    Also, I know deep down you probably know this, but stopping exercising won’t make you fat. I don’t really exercise now other than walking, and I’m not fat. Even going from exercising every day to complete bedrest in treatment I still found it hard to gain, and I was eating an awful lot at that point, so be reassured, a few extra rest days are not going to do any harm. Take care of you, and feel better soon 🙂

    Sarah x

    ps as for faking sick, I was more of a faking ‘well’ kid since I hated missing school, or anything, yeah I was pretty weird!

    Reply

  5. justjac
    Apr 27, 2010 @ 01:41:52

    So glad you found a therapist who you love, that works for you. That is so important sometimes!!

    I LOVE that you keep the nut but jars, I mean why not right? They are pricy $$ and cute…start a collection, lol! 😉

    Reply

  6. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    Apr 27, 2010 @ 07:36:27

    So glad to hear your therapy went well 🙂 I’m sick this week too- I think we just wear ourselves down with stress/school/exercise, and this is our body’s way of FORCING us to take a break. I get a little anxious on consecutive rest days too, but I keep telling myself that the more I rest, the sooner I’l be better!

    When I was little I loved staying home “sick”. My mom and dad would both usually be done, and I’d sit on the couch all day watching Arthur and eating chocolate chips. It was awesome.

    Hope you have a great day love!!

    Reply

  7. Salah
    Apr 27, 2010 @ 08:47:32

    haha i definitely faked sick when I was little but I guess I wasn’t much of an actress b/c my parents never bought any of my “illnesses” lol

    Reply

  8. Maggie @ Fit.Fun.Food
    Apr 27, 2010 @ 16:24:25

    I love crossword puzzles! Best way to relax! I know how you feel about exercise. It’s so hard to cut back sometimes, but then again it’s also really important! I hope you feel better soon!

    Reply

  9. kbwood
    Apr 27, 2010 @ 18:42:34

    wow love your collection of jars!! i should save mine!! 🙂

    Reply

  10. Joanne
    Apr 28, 2010 @ 06:16:09

    So sorry to hear you are sick chica! Rest up, drink some OJ, tea with honey, etc. and GET BETTER. My mom always made us jelly on toast when I was sick. I’m not really sure why but it was a tradition.

    And go you for doing what your body wants! I have a hard time with not exercising for days at a time, but I have to remember that it’s extremely hard to eat 3600 calories OVER my bmr in three days. And I am just crazy if I think otherwise.

    Reply

  11. Christine @ Grub, sweat and cheers
    Apr 28, 2010 @ 15:27:40

    Sorry you are feeling poorly…hope you bounce back soon. I’m a big carb girl when sick too…oatmeal..toast…tea. That’s what I tend to live on.

    great to hear more good news about your therapist…sounds like a wonderful woman.

    Reply

  12. Kate
    Apr 28, 2010 @ 19:52:42

    hope you are feeling better! take plenty of time to rest up and recover so you can kick finals in the arse!

    i always mean to tell you how much i love your yellow twisty bowl. so cool and very bright! i loves!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

