Today’s Happy Note: Hard to pick one thing!  I’m going to have to go with walking/running through two parks today that were stunningly, verdantly green!  There was yellow and lime and forest and bright jade and chartreuse and pear and bud green and a million other tones.  It had just rained and everything simply felt so wonderfully alive!

Oh happy Sunday!  Most wonderful day full of most wonderful things.  I want to make a list since it was all so refreshing:

1. Brunch with my contemporary civilization class (there’s only 8 of us) at my professor’s apartment!  I have never dined with a professor before and thought it might be intimidating, but it was actually really relaxing!  She had the most adorable two year old son and cats.  I played with both, of course! 🙂  Her son was obsessed with lox, it was so cute.  It was a very New York brunch with bagels, cream cheese, lox, frittata, and banana nut muffins.  I didn’t take any pictures, but I have good news: I wasn’t afriad of any of the food!  I told myself, “this is a fun event with a professor that doesn’t happen everyday, with delicious (free) food; just relax.”  And I did!  And had fun! I snagged a leftover  muffin and had half with pb as an afternoon snack:

2. Movies with friends: It’s nice to see B-grade comedy movies sometimes and just laugh and smile.  I really do feel healthier after laughing; I think there is soemthing healing about it.  That reminds me.  My steaz cap today:

I munched on my own trail mix at the movie.  I don’t believe in exhorbitant movie theater prices and the options generally aren’t the healthiest.  This baggie had cashews, dried cherries, and kashi goLean crunch honey almond flax cereal.

A good cap for the day, I think!  After brunch there was plenty of relaxing, reading (school) books in bed, and just generally having a nice indoor-afternoon on a rainy day.

4. Run!  I got my friend Jonathon to go with me again today!  I was planning on doing five miles with him and then adding another two or three on at the end.  But we saw an awesome playground in the middle and he wanted to stop.  At first I was like “No way!  I can’t interrupt my run!” but I eventually conceded and I am SO glad I did!  We played on the swings, climbed the jungle gyms, did push-ups on the benches (even though I am push-up challenged), jumped around and went on the see-saw!  It was honestly the most fun with a friend I have had in a while, and I really needed that.  I needed to restore confidence in my human relationships and my ability to just let go and have fun and this adventure did that.  It is amazing what one little afternoon of feeling free can do for your spirit.  Thanks Jonathon 🙂

5. Evening: Dinner/homework time (blech — to the homework, not the dinner).

My stomach was feeling a wee bit off before eating this, but now it’s hurting a lot!  I have two hypotheses: too much fiber (that is one giant salad with romaine, spinach, asparagus, and cucumbers) or the animal protein.  Every once in a while meat seems to make my tummy a little crampy.  It only happens once in a while though, so I’m not sure what that means.  I don’t plan on ever being a vegetarian or even vegan though.  I just need to do a better job on balancing my meat/fish/dairy consumption, I think…

I guess it was a pretty spectacular day, looking back.  Sometimes it just takes one really nice day with friends to get me out of a funk, ya know?

What made your day special?  What makes you happy?

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maggie @Fit.Fun.Food
    Apr 25, 2010 @ 21:45:31

    I’m glad you had such a great day! This post made me really happy! Today was special because I didn’t do any work and I spent the whole thing with my family!

    Reply

  2. Erin
    Apr 25, 2010 @ 22:14:53

    It sounds like you had a great weekend–glad you were able to enjoy the brunch and relax about eating. I went to a potluck dinner tonight with my best friends and it was so nice just to sit around a table together, laughing and sharing stories. Those are the best times.

    Reply

  3. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    Apr 26, 2010 @ 00:42:38

    my day was special b/c for the 1st time in a year, i didnt’ blog!!

    too much fiber, weird food combining, or animal protein….all could be culprits. sorry for that!

    Reply

  4. Sarah
    Apr 26, 2010 @ 01:34:52

    Brunch with a professor eh? I wish the profs at the two universities I went to had been that friendly – sounds like a cool idea 🙂

    Hehe I’m so glad you had fun in the playground – I actually did this last year and went on a slide and a seesaw in front of lots of confused looking children and their parents haha!

    Sarah x

    Reply

  5. Joanne
    Apr 26, 2010 @ 06:43:10

    This sounds like an awesome weekend girl! I love the idea of running through two parks…GOD I WISH MY LEGS WERE BETTER! When they are, you and I are doing some serious mileage together.

    That brunch sounds delicious! I went to Boston this weekend to visit some friends – tons of fear food/lack of control. And I was anxious at first but then I realized, it’s one weekend of my life and I don’t get to see these people all the time. And I had fun. So there.

    Being with friends is awesome and definitely much needed! What movie did you see?

    Reply

    • caronae
      Apr 26, 2010 @ 08:28:55

      We saw Death at a Funeral. And we ARE going to do some serious running when you’re injury-free! Although be forewarned,I do not run very fast…

      Reply

  6. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    Apr 26, 2010 @ 07:34:35

    SO glad to hear you had a good day!! What a perfect Steaz cap to commemorate it 🙂 And I always sneak in my own movie snacks too- until theaters start offering healthy options, I’ll continue to bring my own!!

    Things that make me happy- warm weather, dark chocolate, running, and my best friends. So cliche, I know, but it’s true!

    Hope you have a wonderful Monday love!!

    Reply

  7. Christine @ Grub, Sweat and Cheers
    Apr 26, 2010 @ 09:24:11

    What a great day! Sorry to hear about the stomach woes…it’s so hard to pinpoint what exactly triggers a reaction sometimes.

    I love that bottle cap! Funny how reading something like that…or on Op Beautiful note can totally lift a mood.

    hope you have a lovely start to the week!

    Reply

  8. Kate
    Apr 26, 2010 @ 16:01:13

    glad you had a good day! spending time with “my people” always makes me feel better too!

    i got a call for an interview tomorrow morning which has been my happy for the day. don’t want to jinx anything, but it would be a FREAKING AWESOME job so keep your fingers crossed!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

