You Had A Bad Day

Today’s Happy Note: I’m having serious trouble finding something here.  Today was not the most happy of days.  Probably the happiest part of the day was being told by one rather harsh professor that I gave an “excellent presentation” on Amartya Sen.

It’s just been one of those days where (almost) nothing goes right.  And for me, as soon as a few things go wrong, it’s like everything goes wrong — and this is largely a self-fulfilling prophecy; I seem to sort of give up after a few things have gone wrong.  All my classes were long, boring, and/or frustrating, I lost my phone at lunchtime (but found it an hour later, thankfully), I was too exhausted for a workout (having 10-12 hours of schoolwork a day seems to wipe me out just as much as about a 10 mile run would.  Does anyone else experience this?), ate too many “bad” things/too much in general, can’t seem to get started on a 15 page paper that’s due Friday, wanted to ask a boy on my floor to lunch but couldn’t find the courage.  Just felt like everything was piling up.  I talked to my mom for a while tonight and cried and that seemed to help improve my outlook a wee bit.  Although we did fight for a while; we have very different views on poverty, aid, and charity, and we seem to squabble over that quite often.  I’m also going to go for a brief walk and get some fresh air.  Then hopefully I’ll find a way to start this paper.  The funny thing is it’s a very literary paper and one that I really want to write; I even have all the books, articles, references, and arguments that I want to use all lined up.  But no words are on the page, somehow.

I have two 15-page papers, two 8-10 page papers, and finals in the next week or two.  Please forgive my very boring/stressful/off-topic posts for the moment.  And know that I truly love hearing from you and your support/comments make me so happy, even if I may not be writing the most detailed posts or commenting much.  I promise I will be more present after May 3rd (my last exam)!  Please feel free to update me on your lives or to email me 🙂

I’ll probably do every other day or sporadic posts, I’m not sure exactly yet.  Or if anyone has an idea for a guest post, that’d be awesome.  In the meantime, I’ll leave you with a picture of my beautiful, delicious frozen yogurt from this afternoon:


xoxo Caronae

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    Apr 22, 2010 @ 00:52:56

    omg good luck with your papers!
    and i think it’s too freakin cool that you remember being weaned and that you were bribed with a bike/trike. I love your mother 🙂
    have a stellar nite and good luck w the homework..ugh.

    Reply

  2. Sarah
    Apr 22, 2010 @ 01:08:21

    When things pile up and seem overwhelming, I find it helpful to break them down into the smallest little chunks. Think of the most urgent thing first, or the things that’s worrying you to most, divide it into small manageable tasks, and take each a step at a time. I find things are only overwhelming if we think too far ahead and mangle all the tasks together into one big tangled mess which makes you want to scream!

    Hope that makes some kind of sense….and good luck with it all 🙂

    Sarah x

    Reply

  3. Laura V
    Apr 22, 2010 @ 01:32:48

    Hang in there! I’ve been in a similar funk all week, drained and stressed, drained and stressed. But keep your head held high because you are in the final stretch! (That has been my mantra the last hour).

    I’m so looking for to catching up with you when we are both available, and I can’t wait to be able to try some of your crazy-good-looking recipes! Dorm food has me overloaded on carbs and I will get to running when I can find the time.

    I have a track meet this weekend and I’m really hoping I can pull a PR in hammer.
    Also thanks for having this blog, it gives me an excuse to pop on over from an essay on Hyenas I should be writing. I say, “I have to see if she has posted a new update!”

    Anyway I’m sending lots of good luck and positive thinking your way,
    Laura VV

    Reply

    • caronae
      Apr 22, 2010 @ 12:25:52

      Thanks for stopping by Laura! You’re right, it is just the final stretch…and then only one more year, lol! Good luck at the meet! I’ll be in NY for the summer but may be home in May for a little while, I shall let you know, and we can go running together!

      Reply

  4. Joanne
    Apr 22, 2010 @ 06:30:29

    Oh sweetie, I’m sorry you’re having a rough time. I think the end of the semester always feels like this. I agree with Sarah…whenever I have big things to do, I’ll tell myself okay. I’ll write five pages by this time. And then take a break. And then five pages by the next day, etc. This way I don’t feel like I’m being hit with a ton of bricks (maybe just a half ton).

    School definitely exhausts me! I think that by trying to learn so much new stuff and just pay attention for that long, your brain burns a ton of calories. More than you would think!

    Hope today is better!

    Reply

  5. Erin
    Apr 22, 2010 @ 06:52:31

    Frozen yogurt makes life better.

    The end of the semester is always busy and difficult! Don’t be afraid to take a hiatus from blogging and concentrate on school and personal stuff. We’ll still be here when you get back!

    Reply

  6. mtobias
    Apr 22, 2010 @ 06:58:12

    I know you’ll get through all your work, girl! I’ll definitely be praying for you! Just remember that it’ll all be over in a couple of weeks!

    Reply

  7. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    Apr 22, 2010 @ 14:09:02

    I hate days like that. The end of the semester is always rough for me too…just channel all your energy into the task at hand and know that it’ll all be over in 10 days 🙂 Don’t worry about the sporadic blogging!!

    That fro-yo looks awesome. Is that…peanut butter on top?! Genius. Have a great night and hang in there love!!

    Reply

  8. Kate
    Apr 22, 2010 @ 14:39:31

    hope today is treating you better lady! it is all about hitting that magical “restart” button 😉

    Reply

  9. Marina
    Apr 22, 2010 @ 21:23:18

    I know what you mean about bad days and things going from bad to worse! That happens to me too! But your fro yo does look yummy and you DID find your phone, so those are two positive things right there! 🙂

    Reply

  10. Christine @ Grub, Sweat and Cheers
    Apr 23, 2010 @ 09:08:22

    Days like that are so tough. When I’m that swamped I like to make the most detailed lists of what I have to do…then every time I tick something off I feel a sense of accomplishment.

    Hope today is brighter for you & the papers go well!

    Reply

  11. pen
    Apr 23, 2010 @ 09:43:49

    Aw, lady, keep your head up…and I hope tomorrow is a better day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

