Breakfast for Breakfast, Lunch, And Dinner

Today’s Happy Note: Had some quality social time with friends, but it didn’t feel overwhelming!  Yay!

I have literally spent the entire day studying, writing papers, preparing projects, and reading articles, minus the two hours I was in class and the three hours I was at work.  I studied while I ate, while I watched TV, while I hung out with friends.  Yuck.  I hate the end of the semester when everything gets all overwhelming.  It’s funny because everyone I know thinks I am like a really perfect student, but I’m actually the biggest procrastinator ever!  For example, I probably did a total of three hours of schoolwork this weekend.  I could probably save myself quite a bit of stress and anxiety if I learned to do things ahead of time.  Hmmmm…

Are you a procrastinator or do you get everything done in advance?

I apologize ahead of time if I am a bit crazy and frazzled for the next two weeks. 😦

I was too busy to exercise today!!!  For someone like me who can get a little bit obsessive, I think this is a really good thing.  And it wasn’t like I was sedentary either.

Eats:

I had one of my most favorite breakfast combos ever this morning but I forgot to take a picture!

It was one packet of Three Sister’s brown sugar and maple oatmeal heated with half a banana and topped with half a serving of Greek yogurt (Chobani vanilla) and a big scoop of MaraNatha almond butter.  Yum.

While I like plenty of other breakfast foods, this breakfast, and similar versions, makes me feel “safe.”  It’s a part of my morning routine.  I can’t decide if this is controlling or a comforting mechanism? I like to set up my mornings similarly every day; it just feels good to know that, at the very least, this one thing can go right.

Lunch was special because I finally got my blender to produce delectable smoothies!  I just realized that I have to include a wee bit more liquid, and that I have to push the ingredients down a few times and then be patient.  It takes a while for it to build up to that serious blender whirling motion, but when it does get there, it blends quite nicely!

This SIAB contained about a cup of frozen mixed berries, a half-ish cup of chobani vanilla yogurt, a half-ish cup of water, 1 scoop Whole Foods vanilla whey protein powder and spinach.  It was quite perfect.  I topped it with Trader Joe’s AB and J trail mix (almonds, berried, and peanuts — muy addictive).  I do wish I had room for ice cubes in my freezer to make it a little thicker/icier, but it still had a pretty good texture as is. Look for many more smoothies in my future.  I’m actually craving one right now.  The power of suggestion is strong!

Some days, I absolutely have to have breakfast foods for dinner.  Ironically, I don’t like cereal for breakfast — it doesn’t seem to keep me full as long as oatmeal — but I love having it for dinner.

This is Three Sister’s Honey Oaties cereal (I am loving this brand) with a bit of milk, some cherry vanilla yogurt, chocolate chips (buried — makes for fun hidden treasure!) and Justin’s honey peanut butter.  Wow, I just realized I had yogurt at all three meals today.  Not the best for someone who is trying to get only one to two servings of dairy a day.  Oh well, I’ll survive.

It looks like I’m on a major breakfast kick!  I can’t help it.  I think it’s by far the best meal of the day.  I like all kinds of breakfast (although as stated above I usually stick to oats on weekday mornings).  Here are a few favorite combos:

~whole grain waffle with fruit and maple syrup

~oats with nut butter

~apple, cinnamon, yogurt, trail mix

~omelette with sweet fillings

~chocolate chip pancakes topped with peanut butter and banana

~yogurt with grapes and nuts

~smoothie with frozen berried, soy milk, protein powder, and nut butter

~pumpkin baked goods of any sort!

What are your favorite breakfasts?

I have a lot of college friends who skip breakfast and this just seems so wrong to me.  Why would you skip such a delicious meal and deprive your body of important fuel?

Sorry for the lame-o post.  I still have more work to do.  Ick ick ick.  Major ick.

I hope you all,on the other hand, do not have massive amounts of work and are enjoying spring.  And lots of yummy breakfasts too!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    Apr 21, 2010 @ 00:33:22

    i am trying to enjoy spring more, less time on puter…good luck to getting your homework all done and fast!

    Reply

  2. Sarah
    Apr 21, 2010 @ 00:34:46

    Breakfast is my favourite meal of the day! And the most important. It sets you up for the day.

    Eek sounds like you have alot of studying to do – in that respect I don’t miss university…I used to be a major procrastinator. Good luck with it all 🙂

    Sarah x

    Reply

  3. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    Apr 21, 2010 @ 07:42:16

    I love love love breakfast, so eating it three times a day isn’t at all unusual for me!! I’m the opposite of your though- I prefer a lighter morning meal of cereal, and a bigger dinner bowl of oats!!

    Sending you positive vibes to get you through the week love- I’m a horrible procrastinator too, so I feel your pain!! Have a great hump day!!

    Reply

  4. Maggie @ Fit.Fun.Food
    Apr 21, 2010 @ 10:22:20

    Speaking as someone who’s also addicted to exercise, I think a day off can be a really great thing! Enjoy it! Most people don’t exercise at all! Pat yourself on the back, because you deserve a day off! I also love breakfast! I usually eat it in class so it’s any combo of Clif Bars, fruit and yogurt. People look at me funny, but I love my breakfasts!
    Have a great day!

    Reply

  5. sophia
    Apr 21, 2010 @ 15:19:25

    I’m gonna be so frazzled within the next few weeks, too. SO many things to do!

    I used to skip breakfast all the time, and became a cranky old lady. Now I almost always eat breakfast. I eat turkey sausage, bacon, eggs, and a bagel with cream cheese.

    Reply

  6. Jocelyn @ Peace.Love.Nutrition
    Apr 21, 2010 @ 20:56:37

    I used to skip breakfast all the time in college–very bad. Now I make sure to each every morning!

    Reply

  7. Kate
    Apr 21, 2010 @ 21:05:27

    i hear you on being busy! it is that glorious end of semester time. GRRRRR!

    i LOVE breakfast! it seriously is what gets me out of bed sometimes. lately i have been on a smoothie kick, but i also like oatmeal, yogurt, fruit, cereal, eggs and of COFFEE! Going out for breakfast is such a treat too. I am getting hungry just thinking about breakfast now.

    Reply

  8. Christine @Grub, Sweat and Cheers
    Apr 21, 2010 @ 21:32:09

    Oh I am so with you on the breakfast thing…I love all things sweet and savoury. Some days eggs and toast hits the spot, most it’s oatmeal but things like French Toast and pancakes make me a very, very happy woman.

    Also cool – putting trail mix in a smoothie – never would have thought of that one!

    Good luck getting through all you have to do…I’m generally a procrastinator but heading into a very busy at work & life phase for the next couple weeks so I hear ya. Think it’ll be breakfast for dinner a lot in my house…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

