I Like Schedules

Today’s Happy Note: Doing nothing tonight!  Well, technically I could be reading a few things for one class tomorrow, but I’ll just read them in the morning and during my first lecture.  I wanted a night off 🙂

I couldn’t go sans peanut butter for the day!  I made a quick trip to the store for “essentials”: spinach, bell pepper, bananas, and crunchy peanut butter!

I had some different (for me) eats today so I’ll share, if you don’t mind!

Breakfast: chobani pommegranate yogurt with a handful of (very tart) dried cherries and a clif mojo peanut butter bar!

I was a busy bee today!  When I look back at the day it doesn’t feel like there are so many components, but I like to include EVERYTHING on my schedule.  If I don’t know what I have to do, I’ll feel overwhelmed.  Plus, I feel extra accomplished when everything is done.  I don’t usually write out a schedule unless I have a massive amount to get done, but I always make a schedule for myself in my head.

Here’s what today’s breakdown was:

8:30 — wake up, shower, get backpack ready

9:15 — breakfast, studying, check email(s)

10:50 head to first class

11-12:50 human rights class

12:50-1:00 walk back to room

1:00 — make lunch, check email(s)

1:10-2:00 — eat lunch and read Freud for next class

2:00 walk to class

2:10-4:00 contemporary civilization class, hand in paper

4:10-6:00 prose writing class (eat snack in middle of class)

6:00- head to gym

6:15-7:30 workout (45 minutes weights, 30 minutes cardio)

7:30 shower and dress, head back to room

8:00-dinner and relaxation time!

10:00-dessert and blog

10:30-watch tv, pick up room, plan out schedule for tomorrow, double check readings/assignments/papers/school stuff

11:00 teeth brushing, crossword/sudoku puzzle, bedtime!

What are your days like? I love routines and patterns and used to think this made me a total weirdo, but now I’ve realized that, for the most part I use them in a healthy way.  Having a schedule helps me stay productive and feel accomplished; I tend to be lazy without one.  But I also know that if, say, I want to wake up an hour later than usual (which I did today) and do an evening workout instead of a morning workout, that’s perfectly fine.  If I want two afternoon snacks and a late dinner time so I can visit with friends, that’s also okay.

Are you a schedule/planning person or do you just go where your day (or week) takes you?  Am I weird about this?

According to my schedule, I had lunch right on time, around 1:15.

Lunch: carrot slice pile, peanut butter and banana sandwich on whole wheat cinnamon bread (very delicious).

Afternoon snack: Berry Amazing Grass Bar. This was my first time trying this bar (it was on sale a few weeks ago) and it was really good!  It didn’t taste grassy at all; I also like the chocolate pb and chocolate flavors.  It only held me over for three hours though, and I started getting hungry during my workout.  I prefer an afternoon snack to keep me satisfied for four-ish hours.

Dinner: 1.5 servings (half a can) of pinto beans with broccoli and carrots, topped with about a half serving of cottage cheese and a dash of salt, giant side salad with spinach, romaine, 1/3-ish avocado, 1 tbsp Annie’s Goddess dressing.

Dessert: two large unpictured squares of dark chocolate and a “smoothie” — I mixed about a quarter cup of skim milk in the blender with a heaping tablespoon pb, a tablespoon cocoa powder, a packet stevia, and a little maple syrup.  This was a really good combination!  Random, but definitely nomable.  A big smoothie with a lot of volume would have been nice, but I have no frozen fruit, ice, or gums, sadly. 😦

I think that’s everything!

Workout: 45 minutes of strength followed by 30 minutes on the elliptical.  The strength was awesome!  I did a ton of arm, chest, and back exercise (everything from bicep curl to overhead presses to pull-ups, dips, and tricep kickbacks), interspersed with a few ab and leg moves to break things up.  Anybody have a favorite arm move? I was looking forward to HIIT for cardio (I’m loving how great it makes me feel), but I had a headache (hormonal, not serious) and going fast didn’t feel good, but just doing steady-state cardio felt fine.  I played around with the resistance for 30 minutes; it felt like a decent workout.  No, I was not pushing myself too hard — when I get these headaches, there are only two things that help: insane amounts of water and gentle exercise.

Happy Wednesday night 🙂

Edit: Just went back for a few more snacks!  A square of toffee chocolate, a few almonds, a small forkful of PB, and an orange; maybe I didn’t  eat enough earlier today?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sophia
    Apr 14, 2010 @ 22:09:00

    I don’t have a strict schedule, except this–> NO WORK AFTER 7pm! 😀 usually I get up around 7:30 if I have classes, and then all my classes end by 2pm, which is when I have lunch, then go grocery shopping, come back, maaaaaybe do some work for about 1-2 hours, and then blog-reading and dinner and just entertainment! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    Apr 14, 2010 @ 23:23:21

    used to be totally about schedules and times
    now, with a child, if i get it all done, in whatever order it happens in, that simply has to be “good enough” b/c there is always something random that comes up regardless. ha!

    🙂
    xo

    Reply

  3. Sarah
    Apr 15, 2010 @ 01:45:40

    Oooh toffee chocolate? That sounds rather nice!

    I like schedules, but not every single day of the week. I must admit, sticking to a schedule does make me feel accomplished and organised, but spontaneous days are also kind of exciting and liberating.

    Sarah x

    Reply

  4. Erin
    Apr 15, 2010 @ 06:47:22

    I try to give myself a schedule *especially* now that I’m home without a full-time job. I spend most of my day working on a few freelance gigs and searching for a full-time job so it’s easy to get sucked into YouTube/Perez Hilton/etc. I try to “work” 9-5 — although on nice days like today, a mid-afternoon run or walk is required! 😉

    Reply

  5. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    Apr 15, 2010 @ 14:03:52

    I’m such a schedule person, though I rarely write them out…I just have a routine that I like to stick to!! I’m working on being more comfortable with “going with the flow,” because I can be really Type-A and I know it bothers a lot of my close friends.

    I’m all about the post-post snacking…there are always bedtime eats that go totally undocumented!

    Hope you’re having a great day love!!

    Reply

  6. Kate
    Apr 15, 2010 @ 14:10:34

    i love the pomegrante chobani!

    i too am a scheduler. mine is different depending on the day. with two pt jobs and class each day looks a little different. but i definately go to bed knowing with a general plan of attack for the next day.

    i wish you had a freezer too!

    Reply

  7. Ada
    Apr 15, 2010 @ 19:27:12

    Hey girl! Man, you have one packed schedule! I’m impressed that you’re already back at the gym. I have been swimming this week, but even that has felt a bit painful.

    I would love to celebrate cookie Friday with you but, unfortunately, I already have plans. Hopefully some time soon though!
    Have a great weekend:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

