Carbs, Carbs, Yoga, Macrobiotic

Today’s Happy Note: Going to a restaurant!  Sounds silly, but I hardly ever eat out and tried a most wonderful place with my cousin this evening.

Well hello there friends!  I hope you all had fabulous Friday’s and are ready for the weekend.  Mine wasn’t stellar; too much walking.  I hope my legs aren’t too tired for my ultramarathon tomorrow!  I haven’t mentioned it too much because I wasn’t positive I would do it, but I’m definitely going to try!  Lots of ibuprofen…and carbs.

Speaking of carbs, there have been plenty of them today!

Started the day with some yummy pb and j oats!  Forgot to bring my camera to work so no picture of lunch, but it was two pieces of pizza, a huge cookie, and an apple the size of my head.  Carbs, people.  Carbs.

I hardly ever crave “junk” foods, but today I absolutely had to have some pizza.  I was at an event with free food, but there were only mozzarella sticks and pigs in a blanket.  If I’m going to have an unhealthy treat, it’s going to be one that I really want!  And that pizza had some protein and healthy fats anyways.  And yumminess, of course.  I smeared the giant cookie with almond butter, duh:

The cheese-fest kept me full for over five hours!  Snacked on some trail mix afterwards, then yoga with my cousin at yoga vida.  It was great today.  I walked at least three or four miles throughout the day and the yoga was the perfect ending.  The teacher was fun and creative; we did stuff like tree pose with block’s on our heads and dancer’s standing on blocks, and lots of cool handstand prep.  I LOVE when yoga teacher’s don’t go exactly by the book.  What do you like in a yoga teacher/coach/instructor?

After yoga we went to Souen, a neat macrobiotic restaurant that I have seen many times on someone’s blog, but I don’t know whose!

I had one of the tastiest, simplest meals I’ve had in quite some time.  It was a platter with brown rice, great northern beans, squash, kale, steamed veggies (turnip, carrot) and seaweed (very tasty).

I have a few thoughts about this meal!  First of all, everything worked so well together!  I had it all with a creamy miso-tahini dressing and I was in vegan-food heaven.  I mixed most of it together and it was like a little melting pot of joy.  Secondly, normally I hate rice and kale, but I love them here.  Weird.  I think I am going to give them a try more often.  Oh, and I got to eat it with chopsticks which was super fun!

My cousin had the salmon, above.

I love the macrobiotic concept, although I think many vegans just eat this way in general, so in that sense it’s not “special”.  I would come back to this restaurant in a heartbeat — and I’ll bring friends too!

I have been muncing on dark chocolate and drinking hot cocoa since I got back.  I might still be hungry.

I’m definitely nervous about tomorrow, but knowing that I’ve done it once before helps.  I can do this!  Wish me luck, and see you with the (painful but awesome) details tomorrow evening!

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    Apr 10, 2010 @ 01:09:34

    Wow good luck 🙂 It makes me feel tired just to think about you running all that way, but I’m sure you’ll relish the challenge. You can do it!!

    Sarah x

    Reply

  2. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    Apr 10, 2010 @ 02:48:05

    “neat macrobiotic restaurant that I have seen many times on someone’s blog, but I don’t know whose!

    I had one of the tastiest, simplest meals I’ve had in quite some time.”

    SUPER JEALZ! God that sounds good!

    love your yoga pics today!
    xo

    Reply

  3. Ada
    Apr 10, 2010 @ 06:18:54

    I can’t wait to finally meet you today! I heard you finished the ultra last year, great job! I’m really hoping I can actually finish it, hopefully talking to you will make the miles fly by:)

    Reply

  4. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    Apr 10, 2010 @ 07:25:46

    Oh my god, cookie + AB sounds awesome. I can’t believe I’ve never tried that!! I’ve been dying to try Souen but none of my friends will go with me…would you want to do a blogger meet up sometime?!

    Reply

  5. Joanne
    Apr 10, 2010 @ 08:34:16

    You’d better have SERIOUSLY carb-ed up chica! I don’t want you collapsing on the course. Good luck! I can’t believe you are doing an ultra. That is INCREDIBLY awesome! So proud of you.

    I love going out to eat too! We should meet up sometime to treat ourselves to a foodie meal. I think it would be tons of fun.

    As for my blog layout, there’s a link all the way at the bottom to the designer’s page where I got it from. You should check it out!

    Reply

  6. Can You Stay for Dinner
    Apr 10, 2010 @ 09:13:26

    Wow the macrobiotic dinner looks fantastic! It has so many of my favorite foods all in one. I’m thinking about you and your run today!! Good luck!!!!

    Reply

  7. Sonia @ Master of Her Romaine
    Apr 10, 2010 @ 12:39:52

    ohhh I love macrobiotic food! My dad used to take me to a macro restaurant growing up…loved everything but the mushrooms 🙂 I had pizza yesterday too!

    Reply

  8. pen (pen at peace)
    Apr 12, 2010 @ 06:46:01

    Look at that balance, lady! With a block on top of your head too?!

    Hope the ultra went well!

    Reply

  9. Maggie
    Apr 12, 2010 @ 18:13:56

    Probably my blog! I go to Souen ALL THE TIME. I will gladly get brunch with you sometime or dinner if you’re free 🙂 Sorry I missed brunch this weekend!!

    Reply

  10. Trackback: Nut Butters, Fun Workout, Blogger Meetup, And Easy Weeknight Dinners « Run. Write. Therapy. Life.
  11. Trackback: Finals Challenge Day 2 And Yummy Study Eats « Run. Write. Therapy. Life.

Leave a Reply

