Green Things and Good Things

Today’s Happy Note: Green things!  Everything from tree buds to salads to green monsters and green dresses.  Green means spring and I like it!

Sorry for my unexpected absence last night friends!  I’m sure you can guess he culprit — schoolwork, obvs.  Icky, but has to be done.  Fortunately I did a much better job of planning my schedule today so I have time to blog!  I think taking one week night off seems to work well, but that night needs to shift around from week to week.  I like to shake things up!

Good news: I GOT A JOB WORKING FOR A NON-PROFIT I LOVE THIS SUMMER!!!!!  And it’s paid.  Just not a lot.  It’s a part-time/evening gig which means that I will be able to work other times at my current job and hopefully save a little bit of money.  I am quite excited about being in NYC over the summer; I love not having classes and homework and being able to plan out my day and my life the way I want to.  It makes me feel very adult 🙂

Exercise: I did an easy five miles yesterday.  I was going to take a rest day, but it was so nice out I just couldn’t.  I did a mini yoga sesh by myself afterwards.  I love tree pose so much right now!  Makes me feel calm and balanced but also strong.

Today I did seven and a half miles, definitely faster than yesterday.  It was about 58-60 degrees when I went (at 7 am) but it was unbelievably humid!  I was drenched when I got back and sucked down three full water bottles by nine.  Today’s run reminded me how ambivalent I am about summertime running.  It can just get so damn hot and humid that it’s unbearable.   I don’t think I could ever live in the South!

Hopefully my body adjusts a bit by the time June rolls around and it starts getting into the 80s and 90s!

Eats: Lots of random munchings lately — all of which have been good!  Here’s a sampling…

Multiple salads larger than my head 🙂

Green SIABs.

Oatmeal with melty nut butter and easter candy.

Random food thoughts, in list format because I love lists:

1. Lemon-lime twist zevia is the most disgusting drink I have ever had in my entire life.  When I was little I loved Sprite.  I dunno if I have just really come to dislike processed foods or what, but I think this stuff is actually worse than Sprite.  Please don’t buy it, please.  Has anyone tried the other zevia flavors?  I had black cherry steaz last week and it was really good; maybe it’s just this brand of stevia-sweetened drinks that’s gross.

2. Why does my soy milk have 12 g carbs and 3 g protein?  This is just wrong.  I am guessing it’s because it’s the chocolate kind, but still, that’s inappropriate.  Soy milk is supposed to be a protein, I’m pretty sure, not a carb.  I need to be a more diligent label reader, I guess.

3. In the last year as I’ve learned about processed foods, I have stopped wanting them!  Sure, I get the occasional TJ’s pre-made stuff (ahem, ginger cat cookies) and I’ll never totally break up with bars, but I would say a vast majority of my diet is made up of whole foods at this point.  No more yoplait light or 100 calorie goldfish packs.  Now that I know how awesome a cheesy veggie and egg scramble or a perfectly seasoned medium-rare steak is, I find myself craving those things instead.  This afternoon for my snack, I only wanted a plain turkey burger and some cashews!

4. Another thing I have gotten infinitely better at: self-regulating/moderation.  I was making cookies for a bake sale tonight and of course I had to snack on a bite of dough and a few of the m and m’s that I was adding in, but after a few bites I realized I didn’t want anymore!  I’d already had dessert and wasn’t in the mood for more sugar.  I love how my body is really getting better at listening to itself.

5. Why oh why is produce so expensive?  Sure, four dollars for a bag of spinach doesn’t seem so bad, but when a bag of spinach only lasts me four days, that’s eight dollars a week on spinach alone!  Grrrr.

Sorry this post is kind of all over the place.  Sometimes my brain works in spurts and my thoughts just aren’t coherent.  Meh.  Also sorry I haven’t been the best commenter/reader lately; busy busy week, but come Thursday and Friday I’ll be back.

Happy middle of the week everybody!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    Apr 07, 2010 @ 02:08:33

    i just posted today bout intuitive eating/self moderation, etc. love that youre getting better.

    i think most zevia is meh. lemon lime is not at all good 😦

    the soy milk lack of protein. agreed which is why i dont even know why ppl drink it. almond has none of the estrogen and i think is better at being a “milk” if one needs a replacer.

    Reply

  2. Sarah
    Apr 07, 2010 @ 03:18:12

    Hey well done on the job! And I love the fact that you seem to be so happy and busy. Don’t apologise for lack of commenting/posting, because it’s only right that real life should get in the way 😉

    Sarah x

    Reply

  3. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    Apr 07, 2010 @ 07:13:45

    CONGRATS on the job, that’s so exciting!! That must take such a load off your mind 🙂 I hate how expensive produce is too…my parents still pay for my groceries, and they’re in disbelief about how many fruits and veggies I eat.

    Enjoy this beautiful weather!!

    Reply

  4. Erin
    Apr 07, 2010 @ 08:39:48

    Congratulations on the job! That’s absolutely awesome and SUCH a relief to have something lined up for summer. 😀

    Reply

  5. Christine @ Grub, Sweat and Cheers
    Apr 07, 2010 @ 11:11:34

    Congrat on the job! You must be delighted!

    I’m envious of your current heat but have to agree about summer…I don’t enjoy running in hot-hot weather either….but break of dawn runs? Gotta love those.

    Reply

  6. janetha
    Apr 07, 2010 @ 16:16:42

    congrats on the job. that is great news!!

    Reply

  7. Maggie
    Apr 07, 2010 @ 18:24:32

    That flavor of Zevia is HORRIBLE. It was the first one I tried and I didn’t have Zevia again for months bc I assumed they were all bad.

    Yay for the job!

    Reply

  8. Marina
    Apr 07, 2010 @ 20:53:28

    Congrats on the job! And it’s true, you can NEVER give up Trader Joe’s pre-made stuff. My whole post tonight is full of their goodies! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

