Super Saturday Surprise

Today’s Happy Note: Spending time with friends of all sorts!  Wheeeeeee!

Exercise: So remember how I mentioned yet another surprise in yesterday’s post?  Do you want to know what that surprise was (is)?

Running with Kath!!!

I met her at her hotel early this morning and we did a speedy (for me) 5.5-6 miles.  We chatted and the miles pretty much flew by!  My legs, however, were not feeling especially spectacular.  I honestly haven’t felt great on a run since the half-marathon, which was two weeks ago.  I’m pretty sure muscle recovery should be over; maybe I just need a few weeks off from running to recharge me or something?  Thoughts?

Anyways, it was a blast hanging out with Kath again, she’s such a sweet girl and I get the feeling that her mind works a mile a minute.  Not a bad thing!

See her post about it here.

Look how strong we are! 🙂

The rest of the day was full of good eats, shopping, and time with friends.  A pretty good Saturday if you ask me!  I think I probably walked an additional three or so miles shopping.

My purchases:

A bikini! The clasp on my last one broke beyond repair and, ahem, a certain part of my body grew and no longer fit into the top anyway.  And I dropped the top of the swimsuit before that down an outhouse in the wilderness two summers ago!  So it was definitely time for a new one.  I was anxious about looking around and trying them on because I thought I would feel fat and ugly and hideous.  But I positive self-talked my way out of that state of mind!  Go me!  And my friend also helped by telling me I had nothing to worry about.  BTW, this is a designer DKNY suit originally one hundred something dollars that I got for $40 total!  Steal!

I have been looking for the perfect pair of nikes for three years now and finally found them this afternoon.  Yes, my friends, I am in love.  Move over men.  I don’t need you anymore!  I have these shoes now instead!  Best part?  Got them on sale at DSW!  Holler.

I may have consumed a bit too much sugar in chocolate form tonight.  Shhh, don’t tell anybody.

Tomorrow, I am setting a goal to neither deprive myself NOR overindulge.  Easter is by far my favorite holiday, not for religious reasons, but just because I love the onset of spring, ducks and bunnies, and, of course, good chocolate. I am going to eat some nutritionally-devoid foods.  And this is okay.  What I will not do is eat more nutritionally-devoid food than necessary because I am sad or lonely or bored!  My Easter goal: simply stop eating when I’m full! Duh, Caronae.  How easy.  Except not.

And I am going to be cooking a little Easter dinner for myself!  My school’s dining hall isn’t having one and I can’t afford to go home.  My friends don’t really cook, so I’m on my own!  I haven’t exactly menu-planned, but since I’m going solo, I think I can wing it. 🙂  Oh, and there will NOT be an Easter ham involved.  I despise ham.

Remember the blender my mom sent me?  I just took it out of the box tonight since she said I wasn’t allowed to open it until the actual holiday (a few hours early never killed anyone, right?).  And look what I found inside:

I have the most wonderful mama in the world.  I love her so much! She even included little plastic eggs that my friends and I can hide for each other!  And four cadbury creme eggs.  One for me and one for each of my three best friends!  AND there’s a whole other bag of Easter goodies that I’m saving to open until tomorrow!

I’ll leave you with pretty springtime pictures from today’s shenanigans:

I hope you have a spectacular Easter, if you celebrate it.  If not, I hope you have a wonderful, sunny spring Sunday!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ameena
    Apr 03, 2010 @ 22:35:16

    What a great run! How nice that you got to meet up with another blogger.

    Love your new shoes! I love DSW but I noticed today that the store near me just shut down. I am so sad. I have bought so many great pairs of shoes there! 😦

    Have a great Easter!

    Reply

  2. Sarah
    Apr 04, 2010 @ 01:41:59

    Yay! Bloggie meetups are cooool 🙂

    Love the bikini, and am super impressed by those Nikes – I so want a pair like that! And yes you are allowed to have a nice treat for Easter and I really hope you do. How sweet of your mum to fill your blender with an Easter surprise.

    Have a fantastic one 😀

    Sarah x

    Reply

  3. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    Apr 04, 2010 @ 02:02:44

    i think this is my fave post ever:
    running with a “celeb” blogger had to have been cool yet a little bit of pressure all at the same time, but maybe not foryou, for me it woulda been surreal. Gwenyth Paltrow used to drop in to my yoga studio in CA and I used to practice next to her sometimes…yeah, a little surreal.

    the flowers, and candy, and pics of spring.

    the shoes

    the swimsuit…OMG I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!

    Great post, Caronae & happy easter!!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

  4. Jessica (jesslikesithot)
    Apr 04, 2010 @ 12:53:47

    Thanks for checking out my blog 🙂
    It looks like you had fun with the ohh so famous kath!
    Love the skirt and the nikes, very cute!!

    Reply

  5. Jessie
    Apr 04, 2010 @ 12:54:42

    Aww, your mom is so sweet 🙂 And that gorgeous skirt was a steal! Wow! I love getting cute clothes at a great price.

    I’m glad you had a good run 🙂 Usually when I’m feeling sore after a long run, I know I need to take some time off from running, but keep moving. I usually do low intensity workouts like walking or using a stationary bike. Hope you feel better soon! Happy Easter!

    Reply

  6. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    Apr 04, 2010 @ 17:32:47

    I read about your meetup on Kath’s blog, looks like fun!! I love that everyone’s mom still gives them Easter candy. I wish mine did! Happy Easter girl 🙂

    Reply

  7. Marina
    Apr 04, 2010 @ 19:23:00

    Happy Easter! I’ve always loved Easter too for the reasons you mentioned! 🙂

    Reply

  8. Kate
    Apr 04, 2010 @ 20:19:48

    sounds like you had a lovely holiday weekend! and i love the sneakers too! and aren’t mom surprises the best 🙂

    Happy Easter my friend.

    Reply

  9. Joanne
    Apr 04, 2010 @ 21:17:46

    So cool that you got to run with Kath!

    This sounds like an awesome weekend. I love all the extra walking that the warm weather allows me to do.

    Your mom is such a cutie! Hope you had an awesome Easter!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

