Long Run, Emotional Eating, Springtime, A Surprise!

Today’s Happy Note: Started a semi-interesting, and at least important, task at work today.  It’s really hard to explain but basically involves cross-checking a lot of lists about what’s in our collection.  Fun-ness.  Made me feel more useful than when I just get the mail and answer the phone. Oh, and it’s April now, one of my favorite months!

Exercise: Finally got the long run in today — 15 miles!  It was the most beautiful springy day in NYC.  There were so many people in CP, but the views were worth it.  I saw crocuses, violets, daffodils, tulip shoots, cherry trees, magnolia trees, dogwood, wild rose buds.  Delicious (does anyone else enjoy using food-related adjectives to describe non-food items, or is it just me?).

I felt fantabulous for the first ten or eleven miles, but the last four were painful and slower.  Meh.  Maybe not enough fuel beforehand?  The last few miles hurt in a really weird way; it was like my pelvis was sore.  I have this pain a lot, but it was really bad.  And my hip flexors and ankles were tight.  Guess I need to stretch more!

Eats: So, confession.

I ate way too much yesterday; I just started snacking in the afternoon and could not stop.  I often snack a little too much after dinner but this was more than too much.  Ugh.  I’m focusing on keeping my eats cleaner than usual the next few days; ultimately, I don’t think that one day of overeating will matter, since it probably only happens a few times a year, but it annoys me to feel not in control, ya know?  I hate that my immediate stress-response is eating.  I identified several stressful situations that were stressing me out at the time; I think that’s the first step.  I also want to make a list of alternative responses:

1. Drawing/sketching

2. Writing

3. Puzzles, cards, word games

4. Getting blog stuff done (new pages, guest posts, etc.)

5. Making tea

6. Reading the newspaper or fiction

7. Call friends/stop by their rooms

That’s a pretty good list I like to think!  Do you guys use any of these tactics or any others?  Or are you just one of those people who never feels the hunger monster?

I’ve heard that there are such people but I don’t know any 😉

Pretty eats from today and yesterday, followed by a special announcement!

And my surprise….

I’m the proud new mama of a blender!  I have been coveting one for months.  I was going to possibly get one at home but the timing didn’t work out.  My mom sent it to me for Easter, my favorite holiday!

Blenders potential uses:

smoothie/protein shake  master

chocolate avocado pudding creator

-soup-maker extraordinaire (love some of Gena’ s recipes!)

banana soft-serve/ice cream producer

-?????

As you can see, I am quite the excited girl right now.

What is something that happened to you today that you’re excited about?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deb (SmoothieGirlEatsToo)
    Apr 02, 2010 @ 01:21:28

    Congrats on your smoothie maker! And I hope that your running pain goes away- boo!

    Reply

  2. Sarah
    Apr 02, 2010 @ 01:47:03

    Wow blender! Hehe I ate pizza yesterday for the first time in ages (big fear food) so that was pretty exciting/amazing 🙂

    I think your list is a great one, I have some additions for you:

    Tidy
    Wash pots
    Iron
    (I often find mundane, but active tasks help distract me and are quite therapeutic too)
    Take photos of random things
    Paint my nails (depends how girly you are, I’m not very girly, but I do find it relaxing to paint my nails hehe)

    I’m sure I had some more…will try and remember them for you 🙂

    Sarah x

    Reply

  3. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    Apr 02, 2010 @ 11:08:16

    I’ll bet CP was gorgeous yesterday, figures I leave the city when it’s finally nice out!! I often oversnack in the afternoon too, but blogging is always a good distraction. It reminds me to eat when I’m HUNGRY, not because I’m BORED.

    Yay for the new blender! Getting new kitchen appliances is always so fun 🙂

    Have a great weekend!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

