April Fitness Fun

Today’s Happy Note: Coming home after work and class and not immediately passing-out or eating carbs!  Normally this is a bad habit for me on my longer days (I think it’s a sort of stress-induced exhaustion), but today I did my workout instead, then cooked a nice dinner and savored it!  Score one for stress management.

Exercise: I did levels 2 and 3 of the 30 Day Shred this evening.  Doing more than one level at once is actually really hard!  I was screaming at miss Jillian and dripping with sweat by the end.  I used to scoff at the idea of having a good 45 minute workout, but this felt really effective.  I was planning on doing half an hour of strength followed by six miles of speedwork at the gym, but I wasn’t feeling it.  Does anyone else really hate the gym?  Maybe it’s just because mine is crowded, dirty, smelly, and not that great.  And there aren’t any cool classes.  Blech.  I can’t wait until I’m in the “real world” with a real job and can have a real gym membership.  Scary to think that all of that is only a little over a year away from now!

April Fitness Goals: While I certainly get plenty of exercise, I want to spice up my routine a bit!  Running 40 miles a week with the occasional yoga class get’s boring.  And my muscles are ready for something new…

1. Strength training twice a week for half an hour.  This should be manageable; I’ve already done more strength since the half than I have all year (hahaha) and I feel so much stronger!  Plus, I like feeling like I can keep up with the boys in the weight room, and that I’m just one of those silly cardio-only girly girls.

2. HIIT twice a week for half an hour.  Old, body dysmorphic Caronae would have said “only half an hour; yeah right, that’s nowhere near enough cardio!  Don’t even think about it!”  New, happier Caronae says “sometimes a 30 minute interval sesh can be really effective and makes me feel strong and fast!”

3. Continue tracking calories and not mindlessly snacking in the evening.  I’ve been doing well with this lately and have noticed that a lot of times when I reach for something tasty to munch on, I’m not really hungry!

This is my version of an April shape-up plan.  I want to feel even more confident than I already do when I go swimsuit shopping and go to the beach.  I want this spring and summer to be the happiest time of my life, and taking care of myself physically is one of the best ways to achieve that.  I think I’ll include some mental health goals tomorrow!  Other things I’m going to focus on include drinking more water and getting more protein.

Gotta make this post short and simple so I can get to bed.  I am going to try to wake up early for a long run tomorrow morning.  I want it to be far enough out from my ultra that my legs are well-rested!

I’ll leave you with pictures of my Trader Joe’s goodies that arrived today (I sent some to myself when I was home for spring break).  It was a nice little surprise 🙂

I’m most excited about my Naturally Nutty honey cinnamon pb (not from TJ’s), chocolate covered pretzels and chocolate raspberry trail mix.  Yum!

Do you have a favorite grocery store?  Local or chain?  Specialty or discount?  Around the corner or a long drive away?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Erin
    Mar 30, 2010 @ 22:32:37

    TRADER JOE’S!!!

    You don’t realize how amazing it is until it’s not right now the street anymore… My number one (okay, number two, after cost) requirement for a new apartment is that it’s near TJ’s. 😉

    Reply

  2. janetha
    Mar 30, 2010 @ 23:47:53

    i wish i had a TJs. sigh. i LOVE you goals! they are great! and i love love your happy thing today!

    Reply

  3. Sarah
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 01:58:13

    Green text! Cooool 🙂
    I was pretty impressed with Whole Foods when I visited the store in London for the first time. Usually I’m pretty boring and get my food from Tesco, which is a supermarket in the UK, don’t think you have them over there…you’re not missing much thoug 😉

    Looking forward to hearing your mental health goals…

    Sarah x

    Reply

  4. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 03:28:14

    I love the tj’s stash and i remember you mailing it to yourself…it arrived, time flies 🙂

    thx for your comment today, and of course for your comment yesterday that i featured. it was just a great viewpoint on it all.

    love your list/goals..very awesome caronae!!!

    Reply

  5. Joanne
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 06:08:54

    Yay for menu-planning and well-balanced meals! I can be a snacker as well and it makes me feel like crap afterwards so I’ve been trying to control it.

    I have a membership to NYSC and I really like it, actually. The gym is pretty clean and there are tv’s attached to each machine. A godsend now that my leg is injured.

    Love your new workout plans. Got to keep your muscles guessing!

    That naturally nutty PB flavor is one of my favorites!

    Reply

  6. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 07:19:35

    Great goals!! Those Mojo bars you bought are my favorite. The PB Pretzel especially is amaze!!

    My fave grocery store is probably TJ’s, though I don’t get there nearly as often as I’d like to!! Otherwise, I love Giant…I think it’s a Pennsylvania thing?

    Have a great hump day love!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

