Good Old Sunday Exercise and Eats

Today’s Happy Note:

This is a black cherry steaz bottle cap.  My last one said “I am powerful.”  I think they’re kind of great, and they make me feel happy and strong and unique.  What more could I ask of a bottle cap?  Thank you, steaz!

Workout:

I listened to my body today and she said she did not want to run.  So I didn’t!  I headed to the gym and did 25 minutes of serious weight lifting followed by 30 minutes of High Intensity Interval Training on the elliptical.  I first heard about HIIT a few years ago and then was inspired to try it by Janetha.  Basically, HIIT involves a brief warm-up followed by 15-20 minutes of intervals that alternate from easy to, well, high intensity.  Pretty self-explanatory.  You can vary the ratio of hard to easy depending on how you feel; wikipedia suggests 2:1, I have seen 4:1, and currently, I’m at 1:1.  I would do a minute relatively easy (think “jogging” pace) followed by a minute of everything I’ve got.  I kept this up for 20 minutes, followed by a five minute cool-down.

This sounds easy, and the concept certainly is, but let me tell you it is KILLER.  The sprints make it feel like a great workout (and it is) in a small amount of time.  It is, I believe, supposed to burn more fat and be good for anaerobic capacity.

I like to do supersets when I strength train.  This means I pick a group of four to five exercises, and I rotate through them.  So round one consists of, for example:

Superset 1:

12 captain’s chair crunches

6 pull-ups (I can only do 6, even with plenty of assistance)

12 V-ups

12 real-delt rows

I then rotate through the set three times.  I like to alternate arms, abs, and legs so that each muscle group gets a little rest but then has to work again.  I am not sure how scientific this is, but it works for me.  I usually do 3-5 supersets like the one above.

After my power hour at the gym I went to a yoga class at The Shala.  I wasn’t trying to be exercise-obsessive; this is the only time of week for the donation-based (read: inexpensive) class and I like to take advantage of my weekends to do actual yoga classes.  By the end of class, I was exhausted.  After lunch  I took a nice long nap instead of being productive. 🙂

I saw this wonderfully concise and truthful quote in Oprah magazine today and wanted to share with you guys:

“Exercise should be a habit, like brushing your teeth.  It wouldn’t cross your mind not to brush your teeth, and physical activity should be viewed the same way.” – Bob Greene (Oprah’s trainer)

For me, and probably for many of you guys, this is obvious.  Whether it’s twenty minutes on the yoga mat, playing in the ocean with friends, or a marathon; we get it.  But not everyone approaches physical activity this way.  I like to think of my exercise time — my 30-120 minutes a day, typically — as primal: the urge to move feels incredibly natural and human to me.  I think that deep down, this is true for most people, it’s just that many Americans have gotten out of touch with this.  Sometimes my friends question my dedication to running or yoga or laugh when they see me doing a half hour workout dvd.  But my body and mind need this time.  When I exercise, I actually end up having more energy, I’m happier, and, I think, kinder.  It really is like brushing my teeth.  Outside of the occasional rest day, I couldn’t not do it.

How do you guys feel about this?  Is this approach obsessive or just natural?  Do you feel better when movement is a part of your daily routine?

Eats:

I have been consciously trying to eat every three to four hours, and to include plenty of protein and fats.  And I’ve been feeling more satisfied!  Go me!

This is Three Sister’s Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal with a half a serving of Tera’s Whey vanilla protein powder (which was not gritty and tasted nice and creamy!  Yay!).  I can’t wait to try the rest of their oatmeal varieties.  I am really liking this company so far, go check them out!

This was one of the best weekend brunches ever.  Well okay, it was three o’clock so I don’t know if that’s really brunching hour.  But whatever.  Two eggs, white cheddar, and spinach on whole grain bread, broiled for five minutes (I have no toaster and the broiler is a decent substitute).  Three large carrots sliced up with two tablespoons Justin’s maple almond butter.  This meal was mountains of delicious.

Dinner: veggie stir fry (swiss chard, peppers, baby bella mushrooms cooked in coconut oil), steak, and hummus.  With steaz on the side, of course.  I marinated this steak overnight in maple syrup, soy sauce, and ginger.  Um, YUM!  This was a bottom round cut from the farmer’s market.  It is a tougher cut so the texture was a bit chewy (I also overcooked it a bit), but the flavor was wonderful.  I won’t lie: I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: I love red meat.  This is not something that I would ever skip out on.  I also believe that meat can be a healthy part of a plant-rich diet, for many people.  That’s my meat philosophy in a nutshell!  Agree or disagree?  Or do you just not like meat? Regardless, I respect everyone’s individual dietary choices; I promise I’m not judging you. 🙂

Triple chocolate hot cocoa.  Dessert is my favorite part of the day!

Minus three ginger cat cookies (tiny) and a similarly small square of cherry dark chocolate, I think that’s everything I’ve eaten for the day!  I’ll probably do full day eats once or twice a week, since I like to have a visual record, but don’t want to bore you.

The end!

Have an excellent week!  Make sure to smile and think positive; this will improve everything, I promise.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    Mar 29, 2010 @ 01:24:24

    I agree with your meat philosophy – and that steak sounds mmm.

    The exercise quote is interesting, and depends on how you read it and your background. I know that at the moment it would be too early for me to go back to formal exercise, because I would easily get compulsive about it and overdo it. On the other hand, I always make sure I do a reasonable amount of walking, because I do crave activity of some kind.

    Sarah x

    Reply

  2. laura ludwig
    Mar 29, 2010 @ 02:01:51

    thank you so much for sharing that quote – it is something that i struggle with – daily exercise – i will try to incorporate that daily

    Reply

    • caronae
      Mar 29, 2010 @ 08:57:13

      Good luck! MY advice is to start small: a 30 minute walk or workout dvd is a great place to start on days when you can’t seem to get yourself motivated. You can do it 🙂 caronae

      Reply

  3. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    Mar 29, 2010 @ 02:08:36

    meat is not my deal. never was. now it brings up other issues but i really dont care if anyone eats it, i just dont want to. btw i am actually posting about this a tiny bit tomorrow, i am not an activism blog and dont wanna be one! but i love that you say you eat it and not bury it like many blogs do. not everyone is vegan or veg. yet in the sphere they seem to be. in real life i only wish i knew that many vegans/vegs…ha!

    xox

    Reply

  4. sonia @ master of her romaine
    Mar 29, 2010 @ 09:47:39

    Cool! I was recently inspired by Janetha too 🙂 I tried my first HIIT workout yesterday- I did her 20-minute one on the treadmill but reduced the speed a tad…I’m not very fast. I feel great today! Can’t wait to try it again this evening.

    Reply

  5. Christine @ Grub, Sweat and Cheers
    Mar 29, 2010 @ 10:13:20

    I recently been incorporating HIIT workouts too and LOVE them. A real get in, do some killer work, and get out quick blast.

    I completely agree about the exercise primal thing. My view is our bodies are naturally made for movement, it feels good and when we are sedentary we are actually going against our bodies nature. The level of movement is different for people – I just feel great when I run and when I lift weights.

    Ahyes, I love red meat too. I’m trying to incorporate more veggie meals but I will never give meat up completely. A rare bbq steak would be my death-row meal. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Joanne
    Mar 29, 2010 @ 10:27:13

    Yay for listening to your body! I think that’s one of the hardest hings to learn to do. Exercise is such a huge part of my life now. It definitely makes me feel better about my day and I start to get irritated or depressed almost if I don’t do SOMETHING even if it’s just going for a walk. I’m pretty sure you get addicted to the endorphins.

    I’m loving the food today…your steak stir fry sounds delish!

    Reply

  7. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    Mar 29, 2010 @ 13:50:40

    I love Steaz caps- they always make me smile!! I eat meals every 3-4 hours too, it keeps me so satisfied! Hope you’re having a great Monday!

    Reply

  8. kbwood
    Mar 29, 2010 @ 14:12:16

    triple chocolate?! YUMM!!!
    good for you for listening to your body!!! it DEF pays off! your eats look awesome!

    Reply

  9. janetha
    Mar 30, 2010 @ 16:50:42

    hooray for HIIT 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

