Anatomy of My Snackage

Today’s Happy Note: I had TWO social activities.  Hey, that’s a lot for me.

I’ve switched from daily creativity notes to happy notes!  I was getting bored (and, um, a bit uncreative) and needed a change.  So far I’ve done positive notes, mini goals, daily creativity, and now happy notes.  The happy note has to be a comment on one happy thing from my day.

My friend J and I headed out for our run this morning and he finished so strong!  I even made him run up a hill at the end.  He was such a trooper; my legs were so dead, I could barely keep up with him!  I want to do a long run tomorrow and get it out of the way, but I can’t decide if my legs will be happy and rested.  Decisions decisions. Also, my running club is doing a small 5k for charity.  I hate 5ks but I feel like I should participate?  To race or not to race?  To do the long run afterwards or not to do the long run?

Caronae fact of the day: I am terribly indecisive.  I used to make my parents crazy saying I wanted one thing and then changing my mind at the last minute.  Oh wait, I still do that.

I won’t lie, I didn’t get much done today.  I did my five mile run and a nice hour-long yoga class, plus had brunch with J, did a little school reading and watched a lot of pointless TV.  But I don’t have class Monday so I feel like I shouldn’t have to start homework until tomorrow!  Lol, that’s just silly 🙂

Snackage:

I didn’t take a lot of food pictures today so I though I would do a round up of some of my typical/favorite healthy snacks and why I like them!  There are a few qualtiies I look for in a snack:

1. Must hold me over: this means that it should be nutritious.  Usually I go fo some (or all) of the following elements: fiber/vegetable matter, fat, protein, smart carbs, deliciousness.  If a snack is healthy as all get out, but it doesn’t taste good, I won’t want to eat it, and will therefore end up just eating what I really crave later on.

2. Portability/convenience: My afternoon snacks (generally consumed anywhere between 3:00 and 6:00 pm depending on lunchtime and hunger levels) are most often eaten between classes or walking to work or the gym or volunteering.  I usually look for something that can be taken in a plastic baggie or tupperware.  BTW, I LOVE tupperware.  If you have extra tupperware, send it to me 🙂

3. Nutrition: This relates to number one.  You will not see me eating 100 calorie packs or processed stuff.  I try to keep the snack as “whole” as possible.

Time for pictures!

Apple with nut butter.  While this was clearly eaten on a plate, you can easily cut up an apple into slices ahead of time, store it in a bag or container, and throw in a spoonful of nut butter (or a Justin’s on the go packet!  Love these!).  Sometimes I sit sheepishly at my desk at work and just smear some of the packet onto a whole apple 🙂

Veggie slices with hummus!  Also can be easily put in a container and thrown in your bag.

Homemade trail mix and/or whole fruit.  I take two snacks if I know I will be out and about for a long time between lunch and dinner.  I like the following for fun, unique trail mixes: nuts, exotic dried fruits (think pineapple or blueberries), whole grain cereal, dried edamame, chocolate chips, animal crackers, etc.

Good old plain fresh produce!  Carrots and peppers are really easy to cut into manageable strips.  I also like cucumber and cereal.  Snacks like this are perfect for when you have several hours before your next meal and you know you’ll be hungry, but you don’t want to get too full.

Frozen yogurt with toppings is my favorite occasional “treat” snack!

Yogurt with random toppings.  I like greek yogurt for the protein, and as long as I don’t eat more than one serving a day, my tummy feels fine.  You can get super creative with yogurt mix-ins.  This one had pb pretzels and chocolate raspberry sticks.

Bars: These are my in-a-hurry or need-calories choices.  They can be a bit processed, but some aren’t bad.  They usually keep my nice and full, but you do have to experiment to find ones that taste yummy to you.

Smoothies!  Smoothies can be a super fun but also filling choice.  Since I am still blenderless (*tear*), I have to buy mine and add toppings if I want them.  I like a little yogurt and a sprinkle of nuts.  Mmmmm.

Okay, I think I’ve covered my most typical snacks!  I’m looking on doing more protein/savory snacks, since I know that carbs/sweet stuff can be a little bit addictive for me.  I’m thinking of plain edamame and hard boiled eggs.  Anyone have any other protein/fat snack ideas?

I hope your Saturday night is going superbly.  Off to a friend’s birthday party 🙂

See you tomorrow!

PS — Averie is giving away some awesome Tazo tea stuff here.  Seriously, the blog fairies love this girl!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Erin
    Mar 27, 2010 @ 22:52:42

    I try to avoid processed snacks too, although I do love a good granola/protein bar. Definitely feel better when it’s real food. Apples and PB is a good one, also hummus and ANYTHING. 😉 Portability is key when I’m traveling, which is why I stick to the bars on the road, but at home I have the luxury of pulling whatever out of the fridge/pantry.

    Size is also a thing — like, I wouldn’t be happy with a tiny handful of nuts. Much better (to me) to have a platter of veggies that take more time to eat.

    Reply

  2. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    Mar 27, 2010 @ 23:30:32

    Thanks for the linkage Caronae! And the PB Lund and the Clif..yum! I am not much for processed snacks but i have to say, those look good. And the face you made with the veggies..awesome!

    Reply

  3. Sarah
    Mar 28, 2010 @ 04:35:23

    Haha that smiley face is brilliant! And I love the idea of happy notes…they sound like a great way to stay positive and motivated 🙂

    Sarah x

    Reply

  4. Can You Stay for Dinner
    Mar 28, 2010 @ 06:30:30

    I love all of your snack options and I completely agree with your list of requirements. It’s so true that if you don’t satisfy what you’re really craving you will just end up eating it later. I always have a big snack in the afternoon: a container of Fage or Chobani yogurt (plain) with 2 slices of Ezekiel cinnamon raisin toast- 1 spread with blackberry jam, 1 spread with peanut or almond butter. It’s basically like a second lunch, but it keeps me so happy and full til dinner.

    Reply

  5. Marina
    Mar 28, 2010 @ 10:16:34

    I really like Pria bars too! In fact, I’m eating one now! You’re wise to avoid the processed 100 calorie pack snack though. They only keep you full for 5 minutes anyway!

    Reply

  6. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    Mar 28, 2010 @ 19:31:00

    I love your carrot smiley face- so cute! I’m currently loving April’s protein cookie dough as a snack! And dates stuffed with PB are always a good healthy fats choice!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

