Evil School, Chocomize, Emotional Eating

Daily Creativity: Prose poems!  I am taking a class on prose forms and some weeks we do workshops.  I worked really hard on my piece for today and the teacher seemed to like it.  Yay 🙂

Sorry for the unexpected absence last night my friends!  I had to attack a very evil paper.  Random fact: I’m actually quite bad at writing papers, including essay-style exams.  And I hate them.  And I’m a procrastinator.  Bad combination of attributes.

I love doing readings (at least when they’re interesting) and I love creative assignments and writing poems and prose though.  I don’t mind making my way through hundreds of pages of details on Saudi Arabian history, but tell me to write a paper, and, well, I quake in my boots.

Were you a good student?  Do you/did you like writing papers or prefer other assignments?

I won’t lie: in high school I was that obnoxious girl who cried if I got an A-…

Now for a hodgepodge of eats!

My chocomize bars! I saw these on a few blogs, including Meghann’s, and knew I wanted some for myself.  But I also knew that customizable chocolate bars,while ingenious, weren’t really in my budget.  But, upon visiting the website and learning that they graduated from my school a few years ago, I was intrigued and decided to go out on a limb and ask for some samples!  And guess what?  The owners were so sweet and kind and sent me two amazing bars to review!  I could not be more thrilled.  Chocolate, fun toppings, packages in the mail?  Marry me, chocomize.  Please?

I’ve already eaten one and a half bars in two days.  Lord.  But they are so tasty that the indulgence is absolutely worth it.

First up: dark chocolate with m & m’s, peanuts, and pretzels with a decorative butterfly decal thingy (!!!!).  First of all, props to me for picking such a yummy combination.  This was perfect; it was like a peanut butter chocolate covered pretzel, with extra chocolate.  Yes.  Please.  The top of the bar is loaded with the toppings too; no skimping here.  These flavors worked well together, but so did the textures.  It was just the right amount of crunchy and creamy.  The only suggestion I might have would be that some people might want certain toppings baked into the bars.  With this bar, I think it would have been really interesting to have the pretzels and peanuts inside the bar and the m & m’s on top.  I  don’t think all toppings would be cool inside the bars though.  It’d be fun if customers could choose.

Second bar: Milk chocolate with cinnamon, dried mango dices, and macadamia nuts.  Oh my god.  Just kill me now.  Oh wait,  I’ve already died.  And gone to heaven.  Foodie heaven.  And let me tell you it is a very special place.  The milky sweetness of the bar complemented the generous dust of cinnamon perfectly, and the (giant) macadamia nuts broke up the visual look and the texture of the bar.  For some reason they didn’t seem to have a super strong nutty flavor, but I didn’t really mind.  The mango dices added another type of sweetness and a chewiness to an already yummy slab of chocolate.  Good thing I still have half this bar left.

Conclusions: Ordering these bars was one of the best calls I’ve ever made.  Better than going to college or moving to New York or any of that serious business.  This is what life is about: enjoying something so simple, yet so yummy.  As long as you have some vegetables with your dinner, I’d say you’re clear to eat this baby.  So go ahead.  Visit chocomize.  You can order your bar with everything from gold flakes to rose petals to peppercorn to dried cantaloupe.  This is one of the cutest, kindest, most innovative food companies I have encountered in a while and I would encourage everyone who isn’t allergic to dairy or cocoa to support them.  One day, when I have a real job and am rich, I will eat chocomize every single day.

Disclaimer: I received these bars for free.  I was not paid to write this review or say great things about them.

Wow, that totally ended up being longer than I expected.  I guess I’ll let the pictures do some talking!

I have a lot of thoughts about food and emotion and the complex connections between them floating around in my head.  Last night I ate way too much and I realized how lonely I felt and it seemed totally obvious: I was using food as a friend.  But food is not a human friend!  It nourishes my body and can certainly be a source of pleasure sometimes, but it is not a replacement for a friend.  This post is getting too long though so I’m going to go into more detail tomorrow!  Stay tuned…

Are you a chocolate person?  If not, what do you think might be wrong with you?

PS — send some good vibes towards Stef while she recovers in the hospital!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Erin
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 23:05:39

    Mmm chocolate! Oh man, those M&Ms look so yummy right now.

    I was the same way in school about getting an A- but papers were always much strong suit, much more than exams. Guess that’s why I’m still a writer today!

    Reply

  2. Sarah
    Mar 25, 2010 @ 01:02:12

    Oh my gosh I WANT some of those chocomize bars…all my favourite ingredients in bar form…what could possibly be better?!

    Sarah x

    Reply

  3. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    Mar 25, 2010 @ 01:58:34

    I was a type A, 4.0 summa cum laude student and i was a study-aholic. I look back and wish i had partied more, lived it up more, and studied less. When i got out of school though, in my early 20s, i made up for lost time! LOL

    Good luck with the school work girl!

    Reply

  4. Joanne
    Mar 25, 2010 @ 06:09:30

    Papers suck., There’s no two ways about it. Creative writing is totally much more my thing (which is why I take so much creative license with my posts LOL). good luck with it girl and congrats on your prof liking your creative writing piece!

    Chocomize looks amazing! Especially that second bar. Totally worth the indulgence. You just don’t come across chocolate like that every day.

    Reply

  5. Pen
    Mar 25, 2010 @ 09:11:36

    I used to be that crying girl over A- too…I blame the fact that the first question I would get when I brought home a less than perfect test was “what did you get wrong?”. 95%…what’d you do wrong…I’ve finally shaken that scarring. 🙂

    also, I visited chocomize for the first time yesterday…I found it a bit overwhelming!

    Reply

  6. Christine @ Grub, Sweat and Cheers
    Mar 25, 2010 @ 11:06:30

    Wow. Wow. Wow. Those look amazing. I never used to be a chocolate person but over the past few years I like, and eat it, more and more.

    Interesting thoughts on food as a friend – look forward to reading more. Recognizing and pinpointing the underlying emotions is huge yet so difficult to do at times – good for you for stepping back and putting a name to it.

    Reply

  7. Kate
    Mar 25, 2010 @ 19:26:48

    oh girl! i am a chocolate person and then some. those bars look amazing!

    i too am baffeled by the emotional ties i make to food too. i don’t know where it comes from but i am not a fan of it. blah!

    good luck with your school work!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

