2010 NYC Half-Marathon Recap and Cook’s Mission Entry

Daily Creativity: Taking lots of race photos!  Also, I’m working on a fun, self-reflective guest post for Sophia that involves lots of creative writing.

Race Report: 2010 New York City Half-Marathon

This was my second half-marathon and my first New York Road Runners race.  It went really well!  I shall share my thoughts in a timeline format and then put a pile of pictures at the end!

5:45. Ugh, I hate waking up early.  Banana chia vanilla oats are the only thing getting me out of bed right now.

6:00 Shovel down oats and a few sips of green tea; read good luck notes on blog.  Rush out door.

6:15 Meet up with other members of my school running club.  Walk 2-ish miles through CP and watch the sunrise.

6:50 Do another half mile or so easy jogging.  Go to the bathroom.  Go to the bathroom again.  Wait behind extremely enthusiastic Team In Training girls who are worried they won’t make the three hour cut-off.

7:10 Enter my corral.  Why are there so many corrals?  Seriously, I must be half a mile back from the start.

7:15 Fidget with my bib.  Fidget with my amphipod water-belt.  Fodget with my gel/shot blox.  Fidget with my cell phone.

7:40 Hmmm.  Weren’t we supposed to start already?  Oh, there’s the gun.  Awesome.  Lots of nervous energy.

7:47.15 Cross start line.  Must remember that I am 7:15 back from the clock.

8:05 Mile 2.  Crap, I went out too fast — I am running 8:50 miles.

8:15 Gatorade endurance formula is actually pretty good.

8:25 I should really do more hills in my training.  I should really get a garmin that works.  If I had a garmin on Harlem Hill, it would probably tell me that I am running 14 minute miles.

8:32 Dear Aid Station Volunteer: It is so kind of you to wake up early on a Sunday morning to hand me cups of gatorade.  But please, dear God, please, do not enthusiastically shout “you’re halfway there” when I am at mile 4.8.

8:40 Six miles already.  Not bad, but I’m feeling dangerously tired.

8:45 Ready to be out of CP.  Oh!  There’s two members of the running club.  One of them has a serious knee injury and the other has never run further than 13 miles before.  Maybe this means I should pick up the pace.  Or I could stop comparing myself to others and focus on me.  Gah, why can’t I just run.  Therapy has made my over-analyzing habit even worse.

8:50 People who cut you off on tight turns suck.  I should not have to stop suddenly so that you can squeeze past me.

8:58 Out of CP.  At last.  Running by Carnegie Hall is fun.  Running through Times Square with tourists trapped behind barriers is really fun.  Evil tourists.

9:10 Almost to mile ten!  The music on this course is good but too infrequent.  I feel better than I did at mile 6?

9:15 The West Side highway is so nice and flat and straight.  Me likes.

9:22 Must stay with girl in pink Danskin shirt.  She’s been floating near me all race.  You.  Can.  Do.  This.

9:30 This is painful but it’s so damn flat that it’s doable.

9:33 I like water.

9:37 I’m pretty sure I only have to run a ten minute mile here and I’ll beat my PR…

9:40 800 meters to go, people are actually here cheering.

9:43-something.  Done and done.  If I’ve calculated correctly I ran a 1:56 something.  This would be good.

9:45 Walk through shoot, get awesome silver cape thingy that I have wanted for my entire life (aka heatsheet), food bag, etc.  Walk a mile or so to cooldown.  Head to post race festival, drink hot chocolate, get a sweet 10 minute post race table massage.  Run into random person from hometown.

My official time was 01:56.18, which is 2:26 faster than my first half-marathon.  I’ll take that!  No mile splits, but my average mile pace was 8:53.  I’m really proud of myself for this race!  Yay!

The rest of my day has been pretty chill; eating lots, readings for school, visiting with friends, blog catch-up, sitting on my bed doing absolutely nothing, napping, and hydrating.  Fun times.

I put together a recipe for Mae’s new blog, Cook’s Mission.  It is super cool — she reveals new secret ingredients every week and then bloggers put together recipes and submit them for votes.  This week’s ingredients are pretzels and apricots.

White Chocolate Cinnamon Apricot Dipped Pretzels

40 grams white chocolate (2/5 of a standard sized bar)

1 tsp cinnamon

4 dried apricots

10-15 thin pretzels, or whatever type of hard pretzel you prefer

In a double boiler (I used a glass bowl over a pot of boiling water) melt down white chocolate with cinnamon, stirring frequently.  Finely chop apricots, or use a food processor to get very small pieces.  Lay out pretzels on a flat plate or pan.  When chocolate mixture is creamy/smooth, remove from heat.  Dip one side of each pretzel in mixture and coat thoroughly.  Lay flat on pan or plate.  Sprinkle with a few pieces of dried apricot.  Repeat until all the ingredients have been used up.  Place in freezer or fridge for half an hour.  Remove from plate and enjoy!

Head on over to Cook’s Mission later this week to vote for my recipe, or whatever recipe you like best 🙂

This is becoming a marathon of a post (bad pun intended) so I’d better stop now.  I ate some tasty things today, so I’ll share some more food things with you tomorrow evening.  Happy Monday everybody!

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maggie
    Mar 21, 2010 @ 23:15:53

    Congrats!!! Your time rocks 🙂

    Reply

  2. Erin
    Mar 22, 2010 @ 00:05:11

    That is incredible — you should be SO proud! 😀

    Reply

  3. Sarah
    Mar 22, 2010 @ 01:52:38

    Well done you!!! Fantabulous 🙂

    You look so lovely and happy in your victory pics hehe, and I love your minute by minute account of the race – made me remember my racing days, and feel like I was there with you as it happened…

    You rock!

    Sarah x

    Reply

  4. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    Mar 22, 2010 @ 03:26:27

    congrats, Caronae!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    and the pretzles, and the combo of white choc and cinny and apricots, yum!

    Be so proud of yourself, this was such an accomplishment!!!!

    Reply

  5. Christine @ Grub, Sweat and Cheers
    Mar 22, 2010 @ 08:45:37

    Great recap – congrats – and what a great time too! You must be so proud of yourself!

    Reply

  6. aron
    Mar 22, 2010 @ 13:32:03

    congratsssss on your half marathon!!!! you did great 🙂

    Reply

  7. Mae
    Mar 22, 2010 @ 15:33:43

    This recipe looks amazing!! What a wonderful idea!! 🙂 Congrats on the race- you’re awesome.

    Reply

  8. Trackback: Cinnamon Bun Raw Oatgurt « Ohh May…
  9. theprocessofhealing
    Mar 22, 2010 @ 18:08:27

    Wow girl, awesome recipe!!! I did the challenge as well but mine is a savory dish. Maybe mine can be the entree, and yours the dessert! 😉

    Reply

  10. Trackback: Therapy Monday « Run. Write. Therapy. Life.
  11. pen
    Mar 23, 2010 @ 10:49:54

    Congrats on a wonderful race! And enjoy those choco pretzels, you certainly deserve them!

    Reply

  12. Trackback: White Chocolate Cinnamon Apricot Dipped Pretzels « Cook's Mission: Mystery Basket Competition
  13. Trackback: Apricot Filled Pretzel Crunch Muffins « Ohh May…
  14. Trackback: Super Saturday Surprise « Run. Write. Therapy. Life.
  15. Trackback: Grete’s Great Gallop/Mental Health Update « Run. Write. Therapy. Life.

Leave a Reply

