Lots of Happy Adventures

Daily Creativity: Writing.  Reading and then more writing.  Listening to poems and then more writing.  It’s what I do.

Sorry for my unexpected absence!  Yesterday and today I had a ton of time to spend with my sister and my friends, and I took advantage for that.  I’m really proud of myself for doing that, actually.  I have had so much fun being lively and social and conversing these last two days.  There are so many people I love in my life and I enjoy being with them and sharing with them and learning from them, even if sometimes I tell myself that I’m meant to be alone all the time.  This is not true!  I spent a lot of time with my best friend from home.  Yesterday we had a picnic, and I made Joanne’s cremini and gruyere macaroni and cheese.  Such a good choice.  We ate it with smoothies and oranges in a park and there was so much sun and tree roots bursting out of the ground and wind and children and playing.  Afterwards we went to one of the local high school poetry events.  We were really involved in them in high school and still are.  I love love love and really treasure my writing friends.  And I like going to events like this because young poets are so terribly honest in their writing; sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn’t, but I always find inspiration.  Afterwards we drove around and talked, just like in high school.  Good times.  Today we ran in the morning; she’s training for her first 5k and I’m so proud of her.  The longest she had ever run before today was 22 minutes and today, with a few walk breaks, I got her up to 40!  It was so glorious outside that it was hard not to be in the park running.  I went to another poetry event tonight too.

I have way too many photos to recap every meal I’ve eaten or everything I’ve done in the last few days, but I think this is a good thing.  It means there has been a lof of JOY in my life.  I’ll share some highlights.

Brunch with my sister today:

Mmmmm.  These next few are from an amazing tea shop my sister and I discovered!  I love these types of places!  It’s called Tea Haus.

I had a small hot coconut green tea.  So steamy.  So nutty.

I absolutely adored this place.  The world needs more simple, beautiful, satisfying places like tea shops.  I chatted with the manager; oggled the gorgeous tea sets, and sniffed at the dried leaves.   Just being in there made me feel like a better person.  I would have loved to knock out some studying there.

We also went for a bit of a walk and went through this fabulous little market.  We stumbled into a store that happened to have kitchen supplies.  Lot of them.  Endless endless amounts of supplies, all of which I wanted.  My sister thought I was a total freak for taking pictures of everything, but she lovingly snapped my pic next to some of the objects of my desire.  Thanks D :)!

I think right now the top things on my cooking supply list are a stand-mixer, a good set of knives, a wok, nice cutting boards, oven pans, and a blender.  Okay, so that’s kind of a lot of things.  What can I say.  I’m a foodie.  At lunch my sister mentioned that sometimes she gets so distracted at work that she forgets to eat lunch.  This could never ever ever happen to me.  Ever.  I like my meals and snacks and healthy foods and cooking and baking.  I don’t think I’m obsessed, it’s more of a passion.  I watched Julie and Julia the other day (highly recommend) and just felt like both the characters.

Tomorrow I’m going to fly back to NYC, hopefully get a little school work done, pick up my NYC half marathon race packet, and sleep.  Sunday is the race.  So excited.  I did about four miles, plus another mile or so of walking, yesterday and today.  My legs felt nice and rested this morning.  Probably will do a little yoga and abs tomorrow to get the blood flowing.  Any bloggers/readers out there running the race who want to meet-up afterwards or in the corrals or something?  I’d love to hear from you.  Email me at caronaeh@gmail.com!

What’s been going on in your lives?  Any outstanding new recipes or happenings?  Plans for the weekend?

How do you feel about getting out and spending quality time with friends or family?  Does it “work” for you, or just make you anxious? I think I’m somewhere in between right now.

PS — please send your thoughts and prayers to my sister right now, one of her close friends just died unexpectedly and she is devastated.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joanne
    Mar 19, 2010 @ 23:40:21

    hey chica! I’m so glad you’ve been having a good vacation and that you liked the mac and cheese! It’s a really good dish.

    All I want is a stand mixer too! I could just stare at all the pretty colors for hours. they are so hypnotizing. Now if only they weren’t so expensive…

    I’m so sorry for your sister – give her a hug for me.

    Technically I’m registered for the half but since my injury still hasn’t gotten better, I can’t run it. I may just take a detour to the park to cheer people on so maybe I’ll see you there! I totally forgot it it was this weekend!

    Reply

    • caronae
      Mar 19, 2010 @ 23:57:33

      It sucks that you registered but are still injured. Here’s to hoping you kick that injury’s booty very soon! I’ll probably post a pic of my outfit/number tomorrow night so if you’re in the park you might recognize me. How fun 🙂

      Reply

  2. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    Mar 20, 2010 @ 02:28:37

    Caronae what a great time you’ve been having with your sis! I was kinda wondering where you were yesterday and i kept checking your site 🙂 and I am so happy to hear it’s b/c you’ve been living life! that’s awesome and i wish i did that more but somehow i always blog….but it’s my goal to unplug a bit from the comments. not to you, you’re a wonderful friend, but to the ones that I have not become as close with.

    I love the gadgets! it’s too funny that I had a long question in my post today re gadgets, knives, and wish list kitchen stuff and then took it out and am posting it at a later date…I figured my playboy nude posing question would trump that one anyway 🙂

    I want a new cutting board, too. But I have this one that’s so old that’s the perfect size, it’s simply ugly but everything else about it is “fine”…if you have any that you think are amazing, LMK. I mean, there are 7698789 cutting boards in BB&Beyond alone!

    xox

    Reply

  3. Sarah
    Mar 20, 2010 @ 02:47:28

    Sorry to hear about your sister’s friend, that’s really sad…

    I do like the title of your post, and all the lovely pics – looks like you had a fab time. And good luck for the race on Sunday, once upon a time I would have wanted to do the race, but now I’d be happy just to watch from the sidelines.

    And I want to go in that tea shop! Even though I’m not a tea fan (I know, how unpatriotic of me being British and all that!) I like looking at the different types and adore teapots.

    Sarah x

    Reply

  4. theemptynutjar
    Mar 20, 2010 @ 06:58:36

    Wow you are amazing. What kind of writing do you do?
    I have so many desires with writing…but road-block. Unsure where to start or my busy mind won’t let me. Plus, difficult when have another career I hate to devote to (debt makes anything else impossible).
    You sound like you are having a busy time. Get some rest!

    Reply

    • caronae
      Mar 20, 2010 @ 13:40:33

      I mostly write poetry and some short prose/memoirs, and occasionally personal essays. It’s actually funny because I’m good at writing personal stuff and creative stuff but am the worst academic writer ever. I get terrible grades on every paper, every time!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

