Playing, Munching, Growing Things Galore!

Daily Creativity: Photography time!  I wandered around my yard and documented all the springy plant growth.  There wasn’t quite as much as I hoped, but I could definitely feel that distinct softness to the earth and a twitching in the shrubs:

Hello rhododendron!  Hello daffodil shoots!

Hello Japanese Maple!  Hello hyacinth bud!

Hello magnolia tree!  Hello crocuses!

Not sure if I’ve ever told you guys this, but I’m OBSESSED with flora.  I just love plants of all kinds.  Especially orchids and trees.  Pine trees. Beech, birch, willow, cherry.  I like nature.  Speaking of nature it was the most beautiful day in the world today.  No wind, sunny, mid-50s.  I live in the center of a small town near all the schools, which means that there are about five playgrounds within half a mile of my house.  I rode my scooter around (serious exercise people) and played on the playgrounds.  No joke.  You should try it sometime.  There are few things more satisfying than playing on swings and slides and strange climbing contraptions as a full-fledged adult.

Run:

My scootering-playgrounding time was actually a pretty good workout, but it was so lovely that I couldn’t help going to the park too.  I did six miles (2 warm-up, 2 tempo, 2 cool down).  The run was just okay — I felt too loose, kind of like a blob of jello running on two legs?  My mom actually told me that I looked really loose and relaxed today.  I can’t decide if this is a good thing or a bad thing.

What I’ve Been Munching On:

I’m going to do a mini therapy Monday recap since I didn’t post last night at the end, but for those of you who may not want to read it, I’ll share some eats first.

The star of the show:

SIAB!  Oh blender, how I’ve missed thee.  This bowl of glory contained 2/3 of a giant banana, about a cup of frozen raspberries, 2 tbsp peanuts, 1 tbsp flax seeds, 1 C low-fat milk, and a giant spoonful of plain Greek yogurt.  Topped with a crumbled kashi trail mix bar.  Heaven.  In a bowl.  This lunch made me so happy, and sometimes food should do that.  And it kept me full through my afternoon of serious playtime!

Other eats:

Airplane dinner (sorry it’s blurry): AB and pumpkin butter sammy on a whole wheat roll, carrot sticks, trail mix, dried fruit and ginger cat cookies.  Looks like a lot of food but this kept me well-fed from 2:30 when I left my room until 10:30 when I made it home!

All around, lots of good things.

Therapy  Monday:

I felt like I made a huge breakthrough in yesterday’s session.  I always leave therapy feeling like I have learned something new or understood a different way of approaching a situation or just shared important and scary parts of myself.  But yesterday was different; something finally clicked on an intellectual level.  That something sounds very simple, but is hard for me to grasp:  over the last several months, I have really come to understand the importance of loving myself and taking care of myself.  When I want to see a movie with a friend, I do that.  When I want to curl up in my bed with Herbert (my stuffed duck) and a good book, I do that.  When I want a mocha, I have one.  Seems simple enough, and really, it is.  But I knew that I was missing something — taking care of myself felt rewarding, but there was still a deep and ongoing sense of sadness and hopelessness in me that I couldn’t quite pinpoint the origin of.  I won’t go into the details of how I arrived to this understanding because it is not something I want to share on the blog, but suffice it to say that after a lot of tears and frustration and even arguing with my therapist, I realized the following: in addition to actively taking care of myself, I have to stop carrying around other people’s problems.  I have a certain tendency not just to absorb other people’s (rather serious) issues, but to let them affect me and drive my own feelings.  This is not good.  I do not need more mental baggage than I already have.  No matter how much I love a person, I cannot carry around their darker side, their hopelessness.  It’s too exhausting.  Duh, Caronae.  This was a painful truth for me to come across, and I give my sweet therapist a lot of credit here.  In the name of pushing me to open up and to look deeper, she said some things that annoyed me, but I think in the end we arrived somewhere.  I felt like there was just a decisive conclusion at the end of the session and I felt so joyful and grateful.

Okay, that’s more than enough rambling for today!

What’s going on in your lives?  I feel funny having been “absent” from blogging for a day!  Oh, and I need tips: now that I’m home I have access to a large and fully-equipped kitchen (i.e, blender, wok, grater, beater, rolling pin, etc.) and I want suggestions on what to cook!  I know I’ll be doing Evan’s/Averie’s avocado chocolate pudding and lots of smoothies (possibly the one Mama Pea posted today — looks so good!) but what else?

I have seen so many delicious recipes in blog world lately that I don’t know where to start.  Help!

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 22:27:34

    so glad you had a productive sesh yesterday! i LOVE ginger cat cookies :). you airplane food rocks

    Reply

  2. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    Mar 17, 2010 @ 02:28:04

    yay for the nice session! thanks for the linky love and can’t wait to see what you make!

    And the glorious outdoor/nature shots…love that! So glad you spent time outside; we all need MORE of that and less time at our ‘puters. I am sooo guilty as charged 🙂

    And random convo topic shifts…keeping up. yeah, just means the person talking has alot of gray matter and lots to say, that’s how i look at that! ha!

    Reply

  3. Joanne
    Mar 17, 2010 @ 06:34:48

    Yay for being home and on vacation! AND playing in playgrounds…i think if we all did a little more of that, the world would be a much better place. I hate running and feeling like jello…it’s so disorienting.

    Excellent therapy session…it’s so true, you can’t change other people or let their problems weigh you down. Sometimes it’s important to just focus on yourself!

    Reply

  4. Katie
    Mar 17, 2010 @ 07:42:43

    Aw I’m glad you had a therapy breakthrough! That always feels good 😉 and you are right, if other people’s problems are weighing you down you can’t look after yourself OR be there for others as much. I hope this realisation helps! I love plants too, I just bought an orchid for my bedroom 🙂

    Reply

  5. Andrea@CeleryInTheCity
    Mar 17, 2010 @ 08:07:49

    YAY, you brought real food on the airplane. good to know..I was a little worried that I couldn’t..

    Reply

  6. Christy
    Mar 17, 2010 @ 10:49:24

    I love spring! My tulips are popping up…..makes me happy. This weekend I plan to clean up the back yard and get it ready for some planting. I started to compost last year….so I plan to use that compost in my garden this year 🙂

    Reply

  7. Christine @ Grub, Sweat and Cheers
    Mar 17, 2010 @ 11:24:24

    oh I’m envious of your spring growth. Still chances for snow here.

    Sounds like a great session – good for you!

    I hear you on the blog recipies…I feel overwhelmed by all the things I want to make!

    Reply

  8. lynn
    Mar 17, 2010 @ 12:44:26

    An avocado/chocolate pudding sounds lovely. I have to hop on over to check that one out. I agree, there are so many great recipes out there on blogs, it’s hard to know where to start. If only we had time to try them all out. Sigh. Your garden looks beautiful, by the way. This is such a neat time of year, watching everything start to sprout and bloom. We got our first tulip yesterday 🙂 And good for you, on trying to take better care of yourself, and not take on everyone else’s problems. I am part of a weekly prayer group, and praying about stuff helps so much — takes my worries off my shoulders and lifts them up to God.

    Reply

  9. Sarah
    Mar 17, 2010 @ 14:29:06

    Oooh I visited a playground on a morning out from my treatment centre, and the member of staff I was out with let me go on the seesaw and the slide…it was the middle of summer and there were all these little kids and their parents staring at me like I was strange! Never had so much fun 😉

    Sarah x

    Reply

  10. Kate
    Mar 17, 2010 @ 19:58:49

    your smoothie looks delish and uber creamy. yum!

    doesn’t self care seem like such a basic yet it is soooo hard sometimes. i am genuinely thrilled that you have it figured out! i am getting better but am going to channel you when i need a like extra to do so!

    enjoy your kitchen time 🙂

    Reply

  11. pen (pen at peace)
    Mar 17, 2010 @ 20:33:18

    What a wonderful breakthrough. I’m so glad you are getting to become free from other’s problems. For people who are sensitive, empathic souls, it can be hard to distance yourself from others problems (um, that’s why I break inside when I talk with my clients. I take on their pain…and oh god, it is too much).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

