Almond Butter Adventures

Daily Creativity:  Yoga totally counts as a creative exercise, right?  I went to a 90 minute vinyasa donation class today and I mostly follow along with the teacher, but do my own poses or variations when I need to.  I think this stimulates my thinking/creative parts plenty.  So I say it counts. I’m running out of ideas for creativity.  Anyone have any ideas?

Yesterday’s very random drawing experiment.

Please excuse the hair.  Rain makes my hair even more unmanageable than it usually is.  No long run today; still pouring.  Yoga was a good workout though.  I think I did my best headstand and forearm stand ever today.  I’m going to try and get out early to run tomorrow even though I know it will be pouring.  I’m going to be travelling most of the day so I won’t have another chance.  Oh Michigan, how I’ve missed your cold, flat greenness!

Funny story: at Trader Joe’s today, I was looking for the flax almond butter and like five employees told me they don’t have such a product.  I kept insisting that they did, because I bought it a few weeks ago (picture evidence here), and they were like, no, we only have flax peanut butter.  Finally someone came and said, “oh yeah, we do have that, but we’re out.”  It wasn’t like I was angry or they were, it was just funny.  Also, note: NEVER go to the NY Trader Joe’s on a Sunday afternoon.  When I realized they didn’t even have the AB, I hightailed it out of there to the UWS WF instead.  Much better choice.  I ended up acquiring a perfectly tasty jar of AB there, although it wasn’t my favorite — Maranatha — because that stuff is so expensive.  Seriously, 12-18 dollars for a jar????

Awesome oatmeal this morning:

That’s kashi creamy vanilla instant oats with a banana, lots of water (these oats absorb a ton of water and get very, well, creamy) 2 TBSP AB and 2 TBSP chocolate chips.  So nom nom nom.  I really want to think of a candy bar to name this after, but I can’t.  Sort of like a Snickers maybe, only with a banana vanilla flavor too?  Hmmmm…All that really matters is its degree of deliciousness.  Which was a perfect 10.  Clearly.

Alright, I have to clean, fold laundry, and pack for tomorrow.  It’s going to be a pretty busy/exhausting day — run, work, therapy, lunch, travel to airport, fly (don’t ask me why my flight from NYC to Detroit must go through Philly), home at midnight.  Ick.  Oh well, my family, and the possibility of a new blender, is definitely worth it.

Question: What’s your favorite yoga pose? I like half-moon, pigeon, and headstand!

PS — go check out the BSI Carrot roundup over here!  My omelet is in there  somewhere 🙂

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce
    Mar 14, 2010 @ 23:24:32

    lol aw that poor TJs employee prob felt like such a fool! yoga totally counts as creative exercise, go you! i love pigeon too :). also it’s not really a “pose” but legs up the wall at the end of practice is sooo calming! you do have a busy day ahead of you, but at least your fam will be there to greet you at the end of it! question: who snaps pics of you when you workout? lol!

    Reply

    • caronae
      Mar 15, 2010 @ 00:14:28

      If I’m there with a friend or my cousin they take the pic, otherwise I ask the teacher. They’re usually happy to do it, and sometimes I mention the blog!

      Reply

  2. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 02:53:37

    congrats on the best head and forearm stands ever!!!
    the hair, dont apologize, it’s sunday afternoon and who cares?! and i even posted about this msg today..women unite, no one cares about your hair. i didnt even notice it; i noticed your glowing smile and awesome zen vibe!
    OMG TJ’s trying to tell you that they dont have something but they really do..happens all the time. annoying!
    and your drawing is amazing!

    oh thx for telling me my recap post was just the right size…i felt SO triumphant when i read that and since you read all or most all of my posts, and you’re such an awesome friend i totally felt even more vindicated like yes, i got it down pat!

    and the shampoo red bottle long hair stuff, workin’ like a charm for me, thx for that too girl!!!
    xoxo

    Reply

  3. Sarah
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 04:58:50

    I love your drawing! Sorry I can’t answer about yoga poses, not being a yoga-er, but hopefully one day I will be 🙂

    Sarah x

    Reply

  4. Abby
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 07:21:47

    We have no Trader Joes or Whole Foods here, so getting “unique” products is a bit of a struggle. There’s my health food store I haul it out to that can order pretty much whatever I want, but otherwise asking for anything like almond butter, chia seeds or tahini pretty much only gets you completely confused looks and directions to the Chia Pet display.

    As for yoga, I was just thinking about this last night! I like half moon and pigeon, too, but also a good side stretch or triangle post. Hard to pin one down…can’t do headstand yet, though! Big props 😉

    Reply

  5. Christine @ Grub, Sweat and Cheers
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 09:07:33

    Cool drawing!

    I’m useless at yoga but love the chair pose and tree pose I do downward dog stretches all the time. I wish I was good at yoga…

    Reply

  6. EE
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 09:15:30

    I like to quilt. Haven’t in a long time, but it’s fun to sew stuff. I love your drawing — I thought it was cross-stitching for a second?

    My favorite yoga pose is “I’m watching people do yoga,” sadly.

    Reply

  7. janetha
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 14:19:08

    i dont have a fave because, if you can believe it, i have NEVER done yoga!! i love that TJs almond butter~ totally wish i had a TJs here so i could buy some!!

    Reply

  8. Kate
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 15:13:56

    i think yoga counts! i think anything that gets you inside yourself counts as a creative endeavor. i see cooking and blogging as creative activities too.

    my fav pose is the gorilla one (so don’t remember the name!) where you are in rag doll but your feet are on your hands. i really like tree in hot yoga too. it always feels so good as that time of class!

    Reply

  9. pen (pen at peace)
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 20:56:46

    $18 a jar for AB?!!!! Oh gosh, I’m never going to be able to make it in NYC. The south has ruined me with their dirt-cheap-cost-of-living. I will be stuck here forever. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Joanne
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 22:24:07

    Thanks for giving my round-up a shout out! Your omelet recipe was one of my faves…I’m definitely going to have to make it soon,.

    TJ’s at any time is a total train wreck if you ask me. I have never gone in there and waited less then fifteen minutes on line…if I was lucky. And yet I keep going back. I’m a sucker for the low prices. I shop at WF also (I do both in one trip to Union Square!). I bought Maranatha the other day when it was on sale…haven’t tried it yet though.

    Yoga is definitely creative!

    Reply

  11. sophia
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 03:59:42

    How could the TJ employees not know their own product? I sure as heck would have remembered AB with flax…I might forget the PB one though. It’s boring. Heh.

    The last time I was in the TJs at NY, I was in line for like an hour and a half.

    Reply

  12. Lauren @ BIOCHEMISTA
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 09:42:16

    Lol, I feel like every TJ’s is insanely crowded on a Sunday! I always tell myself I’ll go during the week but then seem to always forget and end up heading there with the rest of them! haha

    My favorite yoga pose would have to be Camel (Bikram).

    Have a great day! xoxox

    Reply

  13. Monique
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 11:44:19

    OMG I am so thankful that I live near the Queens TJ’s otherwise i would never survive in the Union Sq one! sheesh you deserve a medal for braving that location!

    I am a big fan of the Warrior pose. its easy. I have mastered it and I love the feeling in my thighs when i do it the right way.

    Reply

  14. Ada
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 14:12:38

    Woah, I just read your article in the NY Times and we actually go to the same school. What a small world!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

