Fears, Foods, Friday, Fun

Daily Creativity: More writing.  Not very interesting, but it’s so important for me.  I’m officially on spring break now (yay) and last night I just did a giant freewrite about all the things I don’t have to do.  It was such a relief to see this massive list and just feel free of obligations for a while.  Now if only I were going somewhere warm…

I’m going back to Michigan over break and am hoping to get in some serious trail running.  I guess not too serious seeing as the race is the 21st, which is sad because I’d love to just hit the trails for an exhausting ten miles everyday.  But I *probably* shouldn’t do that.  Sigh…

This is probably the last time I’ll be home before late spring/early summer.  For me trail running in the summer means one thing and one thing only: snakes.  I am beyond terrified of them and this is utterly and completely ridiculous because the only snakes that ever come out on the trails are garters or other non-dangerous snakes.  There are massasauga rattlers where I live but they mostly stay in the woods.  I have run into snakes on hot, dry trails in summer on a few runs (like less than 10% of the time) but I am still so scared.  I’m really ashamed of it; my mom often hikes while I run and she’s all like “get over it!”   But I can’t.  Just seeing the snake sitting on the path in front of me makes me freeze up.  Plus, on a trail with a ton of hills, curves, and roots, I’m afraid I won’t see the snake in time to stop and I’ll step on it or get too close or something.  I totally avoid the trails in summer, actually, unless I feel really really brave.

Snakes are my biggest fear, more than being alone forever or men or having too many people around me.  They’re just so tangible.  I kind of had a tramautic episode with a snake as a child and ever since I’ve had this very real, visceral fear of them.  Yuck.  Any suggestions?

Okay, sorry for just talking about snakes for so long on my healthy living blog.  What’s your biggest fear?

Eats!

Breakfast: yogurt, banana, cinnamon in a pb jar topped with a few nuts (I picked the almonds off because I wasn’t in the mood).  I have to really be in the mood for almonds or it’s a no-go.  I’m glad I was able to recognize the fact that I really didn’t want them and therefore didn’t need to eat them.  Also had some British Breakfast tea with milk and honey.  I can’t decide which I like more in the mornings, British Breakfast or Green tea.  Do you have a favorite tea?

Lunch = SIAB!  Mandarin orange passion fruit smoothie from the bubble tea store.  Topped with yogurt, granola, and cashews/brazil nuts.  I bought a little single serving container of granola because I really wanted some but didn’t trust myself with a box.  That was a good choice because I went back for the rest (with a little chocolate soymilk) immediately after eating this (about half the granola was on the smoothie).  This was a very yummy lunch.  I think anything is more fun when it can be eaten with a spoon (see dinner).  I’m trying to cut back to one serving of dairy a day, like Caitlin.  I had two yogurts today though.

Snack was about a serving of these dried pineapple rings, which I actually like more than regular pineapple, consumed throughout the afternoon.  And a small unpictured apple.  He was very disappointing; no crunch whatsoever and a total lack of flavor.  Yuck.  Must get more apples at farmer’s market tomorrow.

Dinner: TJ’s carrot ginger soup (about two cups worth) that I caronae-ified with spinach, carrot-sweet potato-apple mixture, hummus, and steak.  This was a really wonderful combination.  I love big, veggie-filled one-bowl dinners.  Consumed entirely with a spoon.  The steak was the most tender, wonderful piece of meat I have ever cooked.  I was so proud of myself!

Dessert was his sweet, juicy, and very pink orange.

I didn’t run or workout today, i.e., it was a total rest day for me.  This feels so strange.  I definitely struggle with feelings of guilt when I do this but I haven’t completely rested in a while, it’s the end of the week, I’m tired.  So there.  I just have to remind myself that I am very physically active so much of the time that the occasional rest day is a good thing!  It’s weird how un-hungry I’ve been compared to usual.  I definitely feel like I did’t need to eat as much at all!

Okay, off to go watch Numb3rs (yes, I know how painfully nerdy I am) with a cup of tea.  Hope you’re having an excellent Friday night!

Any fun weekend plans? I plan on doing my last long run followed by a museum adventure!  It’s so nice to have a weekend in this wonderful city that isn’t going to be consumed by studying.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce
    Mar 12, 2010 @ 22:43:09

    my bro had a pet snake that got out of its cage and lived in our house for a MONTH roaming free before he finally found him. isn’t that disgusting? i imagined that it must have crawled on me while i was sleeping….

    Reply

  2. Jocelyn @ Peace.Love.Nutrition
    Mar 12, 2010 @ 23:19:47

    I hate snakes also!!1 And spiders and any insect really. No big plans for this weekend but enjoy your break!!

    xo

    jocelyn

    Reply

  3. kbwood
    Mar 12, 2010 @ 23:29:10

    thanks soo much for your comment girl!
    LOVE your EATS!!!! soo good! i love eating out of jars!
    I HATE SNAKES!! eeek!

    Reply

  4. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    Mar 13, 2010 @ 01:24:34

    dried pineapple rings i have never bought those b/c i think i would eat the whole bag in a sitting but everyone raves about those or the TJ’s mango or pears unsulp/dried are GREAT if you ever want to try those too

    fear…i HATE snakes too. intense.
    fear. being attacked. I have been a victim of violence in my early 20s and i am to this day, 10 yrs later, still very jumpy at times.

    Your comment you left me re friendship and connecting with me and some other ladies, i feel the same way about you and it’s a wonderful feeling to know that someone out there “gets me” and we can banter and chat and be a source of support for each other…it’s all good girl!
    xoxox

    Reply

  5. Sarah
    Mar 13, 2010 @ 02:31:11

    I like how you referred to that apple as ‘he’! I can’t stand apples that have no crunch. In response to your question tiffin is like chocolate, biscuit and brownie all rolled into one! British tea…I’m British and I don’t really like tea, which must make me very unpatriotic..

    My biggest fear is actually fire! I used to have nightmares about it when I was younger…

    Enjoy your relaxing day 🙂

    Sarah x

    Reply

  6. Can You Stay for Dinner
    Mar 13, 2010 @ 08:05:04

    Yay for spring break! Enjoy it my dear!
    And I’m terrified of bugs. It’s a little sad that I could cry over a spider, but it’s true!
    Have a wonderful relaxing day!

    Reply

  7. Joanne
    Mar 13, 2010 @ 10:41:42

    Snakes – definite fear for me. Although I haven’t encountered many given that I’m a native NY-er.

    Another fear – spiders. Hate those things.

    Have fun on your spring break! The eats look so good. ANd you should NOT feel guilty about rest days. They are INTEGRAL to being able to perform your best. Plus you do so much that you definitely deserve them.

    Reply

  8. EE
    Mar 13, 2010 @ 17:43:39

    Biggest fears that are silly fears: blueberries, cotton balls, sudden loud noises.

    Hey, if you feel like running several 10 milers, I say go for it. Enjoy your break in a way that makes you sizzle, whatever the heck I mean by that!

    Reply

  9. Gracie @ Girl Meets Health
    Mar 13, 2010 @ 18:58:04

    Girl, your fear is completely warranted! I don’t even have a snake phobia, but I think that it’d be on my mind the entire run :/ Sorry if that isn’t very encouraging, haha. I mean, the odds of a snake even touching you on your run are seriously so slim…especially if you’re on the lookout!

    I love your OIAJ followed by SIAB 😛 They both look delish!

    Reply

  10. Darya
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 13:55:44

    I hate snakes too….and i saw a red and black very scary one like 2 inches thick and MANY feet long on spring break. very scary. And I was on a boat full of boys and they all teased me for shrieking

    Reply

Leave a Reply

