Crow, Peacock, Headstand, Oh My!

Daily Creativity: Sketching.  Lots of sketching.  With ink pens.  My favorite.  This may or may not have occurred during my two hour seminar.  No comment.

Day off from running today.  It was the last day of my $5 week at Yoga Vida so I had to take advantage!  I went with my cousin.  Twas wonderful.  Again, my arms were shaking.  I managed to hold “feathered peacock pose” (had no idea that’s what it was called until I googled it!) aka forearm balance for several breaths.  I’ve never been able to stay in it before, so that was nice.  I also felt pretty solid in headstand.  We did some poses I’ve never done before which is always fun.  The teacher pushed me down really low in my warriors and my legs were seriously burning.  I thought I was going to collapse.  It was the perfect challenging-but-not-too-challenging class.  We got mini neck massages at the end too.  The pictures above are me in crow pose!  I know I need to get my hips higher; I’m trying.

My cousin and I went to dinner at Whole Foods afterwards.  My bowl:

Hidden pile of mixed greens topped with saag paneer (my all time favorite Indian dish, in case you wanted to know), pad thai, chicken salad, and shredded zucchini/yellow squash mix.  I wasn’t going to have any dessert afterwards but really wanted some frozen yogurt.  For some reason that just made me more hungry so I had a few random ginger cat cookies and chocolate soy milk.  If I don’t eat anything after dinner, I’m fine — I won’t want to eat too much or eat junk, but if I have one snack I want a lot of snacks.  This is kind if a dilemma for me because typically I eat very healthfully throughout the day and I think my body does legitimately want a dessert with some sugar and fat, but one should be enough.  I know half-marathon training does make me extra hungry.  I’m curious to see if I’ll want to eat as much in the evenings after the race…

While we were eating my cousin told me about an NYC “Yoga Pass Book” that costs about $75 and gives you one or two free classes at a ton of different studios.  Um, sign me up!  Does anyone know anything about this?  I think it will be perfect for my yoga challenge (page for that is forthcoming, as is a new “spiritual health” page).

Overall I had a wonderful little evening.  Napped after work, yoga and dinner with my cousin, bought myself a magazine, blogging.  I find it much easier to spend time with people who I am comfortable with as opposed to meeting new people.  It takes me a very long time to get to this stage.  My cousin is older than me so I’ve known her my whole life.  I feel very lucky to have her as a friend in the city.  I love my college friends, but it’s nice to have someone outside of that little isolated environment.  I think one of my “men problems” simply lies in the fact that I really prefer to spend time with people who I am already comfortable with.  At the same time though, I know that it can be rewarding to push myself out of my comfort zone.  Time for a yoga analogy: sometimes I feel like I’m going to fall out of headstand (and sometimes I do!) but I would never get to experience the fun of pushing myself into the pose and holding it if I didn’t lift my feet up off the floor.  I would never be able to feel proud of myself.  Trying anything new is like that I guess.

How do you push yourself to try new and/or scary things?

Happy Friday my friends!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    Mar 12, 2010 @ 02:01:35

    ” Napped after work, yoga and dinner with my cousin, bought myself a magazine, blogging. “–Oh that indeed sounds wonderful!

    Your peacock, i.e pincha mayarasana sounds awesome and truly that may be one of my fave poses in yoga, it’s in the top 5 for sure. something about the perfect balance that i could stay there all day sometimes. just find the sweet spot and hang out 🙂 and your bakasana looks great too!

    being adjusted (or neck rubbed) in yoga is awesome…only yogis can really appreciate the gift that is a great assist i think. non yogis think it’s a little weird i think.

    meeting new ppl..yea scary but hey they prob feel the same way 🙂

    Reply

  2. Sarah
    Mar 12, 2010 @ 02:22:53

    If I had money, I would seriously think about trying yoga – I think you slowly converting me haha 😉

    Pushing myself to try new/scary things used to be really difficult, but now I get round it by asking myself what’s the worst that could happen if I try x or y, and telling myself that even if it doesn’t work out, at least I tried, and no one can be a failure for trying something…

    Sarah x

    Reply

  3. fitandfortysomething
    Mar 12, 2010 @ 08:37:09

    First of all good job on crow pose! I cannot do it! It is hard…….
    Thank you for stopping by my blog-I like yours too.
    Your dinner looks great. I love whole foods 😉

    Reply

  4. sonia @ master of her romaine
    Mar 12, 2010 @ 11:54:57

    I am exactly the same way! If I start snacking I do.not.stop.

    I push myself to try new things by telling someone I’m going to do it! That way, I can’t back out because I know someone knows I’m going to do it…

    Reply

  5. EE
    Mar 12, 2010 @ 17:51:21

    I listen to Eye of the Tiger, do a lot of fist pumping (strangely, I never watched Jersey Shore), tell a few people I’m going to do it, and then I jump in. If I fall, then I fall hard. Only way I know how to be, though.

    How did I not know you were planning on a legal career?

    Reply

  6. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce
    Mar 12, 2010 @ 20:42:52

    dinner at WF yay!

    Reply

  7. Jocelyn @ Peace.Love.Nutrition
    Mar 12, 2010 @ 23:20:35

    Look at you doing that pose! It’s a hard one. Go you!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

