A Place Called Smoothieland

Daily Creativity: I plan on spending some serious quality time with my journal tonight.  Just me, my pen, and my endlessly bizzare thoughts.

Yoging:

I was *this* close to coming back to my room and vegging out with a book after my last class got out at six.  It was a looooonnnggg day and I was just happy I’d survived  But deep  down I knew my body had a lot of energy to burn off, which meant workout time!  I won’t lie, I was totally inspired by Cheryl from the Biggest Loser.  On last night’s episode she said something like “it felt really good to come back from a long day of working and just move.”  So true.

I ran downtown along the river; it was so lovely and mysterious in the dark (don’t worry, there were a lot of runners and bikers out in the early evening).  I did about 6.5 miles total with the following 35 minute speed workout thrown in the middle:

5 x (4 minutes hard, 3 minutes easy)

The four minute sections were basically half-miles.  It was hard but I also felt strong.  My legs were definitely ready to be done by the last one!  I ran all the way over to Yoga Vida for another advanced vinyasa class (I went to one last Friday too).  I didn’t love the teacher, but he did do a really nice and invigorating series of poses.  It really worked my upper arms — he had us going back and forth between upward dog and downward dog, coming in and out of crow, and doing a million chaturangas up to planks.  My arms were shaking.  Crazy hot handstand boy was totally there again and even crazier.  I know yoga is about looking inward, and I wasn’t comparing my abilities to him —  I’ll never have that kind of upper body strength — but it was fun to watch.  Today he went from a crow directly into a handstand and back down into crow then directly into chaturanga.  Amazing.

I ended my yoging adventure with a trip to Jamba Juice.  Why does JJ have to be right down the street from the yoga studio.  I was planning on going home and making a nice stir fry for dinner, but I was in the mood for a smoothie.  I’m not sure what’s up with this smoothie kick lately.  I think maybe I just get jealous of other blogger’s fun smoothie creations?

I had the mango peach meal thingy (i.e, it was topped with granola and banana).  So.  Nom. Nom. Nom.

When I got home I had dinner part dos, half a steamed sweet potato topped with flax pb and cinnamon.  Perfect!

Random, but the sweet and nutty flavors worked really together.

I got a steak at the farmer’s market the other day.  It was local, organic, and grass-fed.  My favorite.  I believe I paid nine dollars for it, which at the time felt expensive, but for two servings, that’s only $4.50 each.  I could probably get some really sketchy, low-quality, highly unethical ground beef for two or three dollars from the store.  But I don’t like my meat this way, plain and simple.  And I could probably eat that same steak at a restaurant for $25.  I won’t lie: I love meat — red meat, white meat, poultry, sea food.  I like it all.  I try to eat it in as ethical a manner as possible,but when it comes down to it, I believe that humans, especially carbohydrate-sensitive ones like myself, are meant to eatmeat.  There are many people for whom this does not work and I totally respect that!  But it works for me.

Glad I got that out there.  Now I can show you pictures of my lovely little steaks (which I pan seared until the smoke alarm was about to go off so I stopped.  They’re a wee bit rare, but I like them that way).

At first I wasn’t gonna talk about this because I know many of my readers are vegan or vegetarian or even raw and I don’t want to offend anybody, but then I remembered that this is my blog and we all have to make the health and dietary choices that work for us as individuals.  Do you eat meat?  If not, do you consciously seek out other protein options?

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce
    Mar 11, 2010 @ 01:21:10

    it’s totally your blog! i don’t eat meat, but then again i am always the one stuck cooking the turkey on thanksgiving lol! i definitely consciously seek out other protein options, but protein intake is actually not a veg’s hardest struggle, that part is easy! it’s the other stuff like b-12 that can be more challenging. i finally journaled last night for the first time in a while, i have let it fall by the wayside bc i spend so much time blogging, but there is something diff about your OWN journal, ya know?

    Reply

    • caronae
      Mar 11, 2010 @ 10:07:29

      OMG there totally is something different about your own journal. So true! I even like the physical space of my journal; the birdies on the cover, the smell of the pages. I’m such a dork!

      Reply

  2. Sarah
    Mar 11, 2010 @ 02:27:21

    If there is a place called smoothieland….I want to go and live there! Hehe

    Actually it’s reassuring to know there are other meat eaters out there…no offence to all the lovely vegan/vegetarian bloggers, but sometimes I feel like I am in a minority 😉
    I love steak, my favourite source of protein is fish – I love any kind of fish at all, but I also like chicken, and roast beef at the parents’ house when my mum does the traditional British sunday dinner. In fact, we had steak on Christmas day as a non-traditional alternative! Sorry to go on about my carnivorous meat eating…

    Like you, I try to shop as ethically as possible…

    Sarah x

    Reply

  3. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    Mar 11, 2010 @ 02:49:27

    who cares if you eat meat girl, it’s your blog, your body, wear it loud and proud. I dont eat it, dont care if ppl blog about it. Now if you posted bloody slaughterhouses or something i wouldnt be reading/opening that post, but I could care less what anyone else does. I know many vegan/veg’s do not share that sentiment though.
    oxo

    Reply

  4. Katie
    Mar 11, 2010 @ 06:10:44

    I’ve been a vegetarian for 16 years but I have no problem with other people eating meat if that’s the best thing for them! Everyone is different 🙂 I don’t really have to try hard to find alternative protein options because I know veggie nutrition inside out now – I can eat beans, eggs and tofu. I love my carbs though 😉 Anyway, I’m basically in agreement with Averie, I don’t mind what other people do as long as it makes them happy and healthy!

    Reply

  5. Joanne
    Mar 11, 2010 @ 07:01:38

    Your run sounds wonderful! Every day with nice weather that passes, I kick myself for being injured. Oh well. I’ll be better eventually.

    Yay for taking a night just for you. Sometimes that’s what your body and mind need.

    Love the grass-fed organic beef! That’s not a bad price at all! Where did you buy it from?

    Reply

    • caronae
      Mar 11, 2010 @ 10:09:50

      The CENYC (now GrowNYC) Farmer’s Market! They’re all over the city. I can’t remember the nae of the farm though, silly me, but I have yet to purchase meat from any farmer’s market vendor and not like it.

      Reply

  6. Jocelyn @ Peace.Love.Nutrition
    Mar 11, 2010 @ 10:44:11

    Hey! I LOVE vinyasa yoga. Such a great work out. I do eat meat! I know a lot of people in the health and nutrition world are against this but I find it keeps me full and I enjoy the taste. I DO try to eat only grass fed and hormone free chicken and beef though.

    xo

    Jocelyn

    Reply

  7. Can You Stay for Dinner
    Mar 11, 2010 @ 14:00:48

    I love meat. I eat all things and I feel good about the choices I make- trying to buy ethically produced meat. I’m glad you feel confident in your carnivorous ways. Your blog is great and I love the variety!! Be proud!
    Love sweet potatoes and nut butter too!
    Have a wonderful Thursday!

    Reply

  8. Christy
    Mar 11, 2010 @ 17:47:56

    Yeah smoothie land! I eat meat…..but not very often. I try to buy organic and local meats if possible. I really don’t eat meat until dinner time. Reading the Blue Zones really made me cut back on my meat intake.

    Reply

  9. Kate
    Mar 11, 2010 @ 20:38:07

    i started compiling this creativity journal that was going to be my final project for class. I meant it to be a tool for someone else to use. I got so inspired by it that i started doing the excerises in it. FART! I can’t decide if i care enough to start over and make a new one.

    I’ve been on a smoothie kick too. i wonder what that is all about?

    Reply

  10. Darya
    Mar 11, 2010 @ 22:53:09

    you are making me want a smoothie….

    Reply

  11. Christine @ Grub, Sweat and Cheers
    Mar 12, 2010 @ 12:24:16

    Sweet potato with pb?! That sounds so bizarre – I must try it.

    I was a veggie for a long time but now eat meat for so many reasons; taste (I mean a grilled rare steak is heaven on a plate!), protein, the way it fuels my body and makes me feel energetic.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

