BSI Carrot Omelet!

Daily Creativity: See fun new recipe below!

Run: I did manage to drag myself out of bed this morning and the first few miles of my run were going swimmingly.  But then I had to go to the bathroom and only found one after going way farther South than I had intended.  By the time I went in the building, used the bathroom, and got back out, I realized I would be late for class if I ran all the way back.  Crap.  I went into the nearest subway station and tried to talk the MTA attendant into letting me in.  No luck.  She was really rude about it too.  What if I had been lost and didn’t know how to get back home?  Grrrr.  I booked it home, speed showered, got breakfast to go from the bagel place, and made it to class only five minutes late.   Not so terrible I guess.

My leggies were tired and sluggish today, but I think I maintained a decent 10-ish minute pace per mile.  Except on the uphills.  Those weren’t pretty.  But we won’t talk about that, now will we?  I managed to get in 7 miles in about 70 minutes.  Hopefully my legs will pull through for a little speed work tomorrow (which should have been today but I knew within the first mile of my run that my legs were not going fast this morning.  No sir).  I started feeling really tight in my hamstrings toward the end of the run and now I have this funky knot in the back of my right leg.  No amount of stretching or massaging has helped.  Suggestions for hamstring soothing?

Food: I have never done Blogger Secret Ingredient before, but when I heard that Joanne was hosting this week and the ingredient was carrots, I knew I had to step it up.  I wanted something unique but also relatively simple, with lots of individual flavors that came together to make a fun, interesting dish.  I wanted it to involve sweet and savory flavors.  I think I have achieved all of those things with this baby; it’s one of my best recipes ever and I am a very proud mama.  Feel free to try it and let me know what you think!

Introducing…

Sweet and Savory Carrot-Apple-Sweet Potato Omelet!

1 small sweet crunchy apple (I used golden delicious)

2 small/medium sized carrots, w ashed and peeled

1/2 medium sweet potato, washed

1 tbsp butter

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp salt

1 tsp coconut oil

2 eggs

1-2 tbsp white cheddar, shaved or grated

1 tbsp maple syrup

Directions:

1. Dice carrots and sweet potato.  Here’s how I did so:

2. Cut tablespoon of butter into smaller pieces and add to a non-stick skillet.  Heat on medium-high.  While it melts, dice up the apple.

3. Add carrot-apple-sweet potato mixture to skillet.  Use spatula-type utensil to stir frequently.  Add in spices (salt and cinnamon) and make sure that the mixture gets relatively evenly coated.   Continue to sautee the mixture for 10-15 minutes or until veggies are cooked through (the sweet potatoes should be just fork-tender).

4.  While veggies are sauteeing, grate (or in my case finely chop, if you have no grater) cheese.

5. Set cheese aside and crack two eggs into a bowl.  Whisk until thoroughly scrambled (use a fork if you don’t have a whisk).

My egg totally looks like it has a pirate hat.  Awesome!

6. Remove cooked veggies from pan and set aside in a bowl.  Switch pan to a different, not hot burner!  Let it cool while you measure out your coconut oil.

Melt coconut oil in pan.  When it has melted, add in scrambled eggs.  Cook them SLOW AND LOW.  Medium-low or medium heat works best!  When eggs appear almost cooked through, toss cheese on top.

7. Cook egg/cheese mixture another few minutes until eggs are cooked through.  Take as much of the veggie mixture as you can and pile it high on half the eggs (i.e., pick one side).  I used about two-thirds of the mix and will have the rest as leftovers later on this week.  Immediately use spatula to flip other half of eggs over and press it down onto the veggie mixture.  The melty cheese should help it stay in place.  This should just take another minute or two.

8. Transfer omelet to plate and drizzle with maple syrup.

9. Consume.

The carrots, sweet potato, apple, cinnamon, and maple syrup make this dish perfectly sweet, while the eggs, cheese, salt, and butter make it subtly savory.  This, my friends, is a most wonderful meal: breakfast, lunch, dinner, or snack.  You might be seeing this in my future.  Um, like, a lot.

Have you ever done BSI?  What’s your favorite way to eat carrots?

Pray that I survive my Contemporary Civilization midterm tomorrow.  I cannot seem to keep Hume, Rousseau, Kant, etc. straight.  They’re all so painfully similar.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce
    Mar 10, 2010 @ 00:31:47

    that omelet is awesome! i’ve never done BSI nor have i put maple syrup on eggs, lol bt i’ll have to try both. my fave way to eat carrots is raw, and after that in baked goods, duh!

    Reply

  2. EE
    Mar 10, 2010 @ 00:31:56

    I love carrots in pancakes. Mmmm.

    I hope you artfully, yet Chuck Norris-ly, kick that exam to the curb.

    When my hamstrings hurt, sometimes I try to play with the tendons behind my knee. And I foam roll and grouse about it.

    Reply

  3. Sarah
    Mar 10, 2010 @ 00:32:28

    Wow that sounds like a fab recipe 🙂 I don’t have a favourite way to eat carrots – they taste great raw, cooked, in salad, in cake, in pies, in anything really as far as I’m concerned!

    Mmm bagels for breakfast…hamstring tips – I used to get tight/knots in my hamstrings in my running days, and I found that the best thing was to just keep stretching and massaging the area constantly, hopefully you will eventually see some results for your efforts…

    I hope you survive your midtern (I’m sure you will!) gosh I remember Kant from my first degree, not exactly fond memories I can tell you!

    Sarah x

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Fears, Foods, Friday, Fun « Run. Write. Therapy. Life.
  5. chayacomfycook
    Mar 14, 2010 @ 10:21:53

    This omelet could be my favorite. Have to make it. We like the orange veggies so this is a natural.

    Reply

  6. lynn
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 16:09:33

    Your omelet looks awesome. Lovely combination of ingredients. 🙂 This was my first time participating in the Blogger Secret Ingredient roundup — just happened to stumble upon one of Joanne’s posts at the right time. It was such fun; my contribution was a yummy vegetable soup, topped with nonfat plain yogurt. It’s my new favorite way to eat carrots. Though that may change once I try your omelet . . . 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

