Yoga Challenge and Long Run (Eats)

My Daily Creativity: I’ve switched my opening note again!  First were my positive notes, then mini goals, and now daily creativity, in which I shall reflect on one creative endeavor each day.  I think that creating things — be they poems, collages, pastel drawings, stories, photographs, whatever — is a big stress reliever, for me at least.  So I’m aiming top do one small creative thing everyday.  Today (well yesterday actually) I worked on a mindfulness collage (inspired by Oprah, I won’t lie).  This is just part 1, I’ll probably do a bit more over the next few days since I have more picture cutouts waiting.

Sorry it’s blurry 😦  It says “mindfulness” and “peace”.

Long Run:

I finally managed to get up at an early enough hour to have time for some distance today.  Yay!  I set out planning on 18-22 miles, but only ended up doing approximately a half-marathon (13.1).  My ilio sacrum was hurting too much by that point.  I am not really sure why — sometimes it hurts when I run, but never this much.  There were a lot of hills involved, perhaps that contributed to the problem?  I also felt like my hips were too open from the last two days of yoga.  Weird.  I guess I’m glad I didn’t keep pushing it; 13 miles is still pretty decent.

Speaking of yoga, I have an announcement:

I am not sure if you’ve noticed, but I’ve been to several different yoga studios in Manhattan in the last few months:

Yoga Vida review here

Yoga Shala review here (one of several; search in the side bar for the rest)

Om Yoga review here

Life In Motion is mentioned here

I am in a constant quest for the cheapest, calmest class that pushes me physically and emotionally.  This can be hard to find.  I have liked all the studios I’ve been to so far, but I know there are others out there that deserve a shot.  So, I am making it a goal to visit, take a class at, and review every yoga studio in Manhattan.  If possible, I might like to take more than one class at each place to get a good feel, but if this is not feasible, one review will have to suffice.  I am guessing this challenge will take at least a year, probably more.  Does anyone know how many studios there are in Manhattan (NOT including private-lesson type studios)?  Any suggestions as to where I should head next?

I’ll make a separate page with links to my reviews and I’ll keep it updated as I make progress at new studios.  The goal is to have a complete and relatively unbiased compendium of reviews so that in the future, both myself and others might have an idea of the studio that is right for them (and this may not be the same for everybody!).

Eats:

I think that’s everything for the day!  Didn’t eat all of the dark chocolate edamame, just a few bites.  And the yogurt has peanut butter in it.  I say peanut butter can be added to anything!  Just finished sipping on jasmine tea.  Watching the Oscars so that I can look at all the pretty dresses.  What are your favorites for this year?

Off to bed soon.  Goodnight and have a happy Monday!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce
    Mar 08, 2010 @ 01:30:17

    pb CAN be added to anythign! i wish i had a functioning tv at my apartment, sadly no oscars for me this year! although supposedly you can watch live online, but i’m too lazy

    Reply

  2. Sarah
    Mar 08, 2010 @ 01:52:59

    Haha at the smiley food face – that made me giggle! I’m liking the idea of daily creativity…
    and 13 miles is definitely decent, I’m glad you didn’t push your body beyond it’s limits.

    Have a good Tuesday

    Sarah x

    Reply

  3. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    Mar 08, 2010 @ 02:49:37

    “I am in a constant quest for the cheapest, calmest class that pushes me physically and emotionally. This can be hard to find.”–ME TOO! For the past 10 yrs. And there are not that many that can fill the bill! Mine are all back in So Cal; AZ sucks for yoga. blech!

    Check out Dharma Mitra’s studio, I know he’s been around forever and not sure what to say but he’s a fixture in the ashtanga yoga community.
    And if you want Jivamukti, David Life & Sharon Gannon have a studio with great classes.

    Again, these are just very “big names” that you can check out after the other 87678987 studios you hit up too 🙂

    Reply

  4. Jenny
    Mar 08, 2010 @ 05:26:38

    Have you seen this? All yoga studios in manhattan: yogoer.com (click the “studios” link)

    Reply

  5. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)
    Mar 08, 2010 @ 10:12:15

    i think the yoga studio idea is awesome!! what a fun little adventure 🙂 and great eats too! love the egg haha.

    xox
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

    Reply

  6. EE
    Mar 08, 2010 @ 10:34:38

    Haha, clearly I don’t watch Oprah, because I have no idea what you are making. But I fully support it and look forward to your many illustrious endeavors.

    Cheers to your quest, too! Don your armor and come back to tell us great tales.

    Wouldn’t it be funny if you wore a suit of armor to a yoga studio?

    Reply

  7. Kate
    Mar 08, 2010 @ 13:01:00

    love the smiling veggies! cute!

    creative projects like that are so fun. i just got done illustrating a children’s book for class. i was intimidated by the project but ended up being really pleased with the results.

    totally forgot that last night was oscar night until i heard the results on the radio this morning 😦

    Reply

  8. Maura
    Mar 08, 2010 @ 14:13:01

    Love your collage – was actually just thinking, “Should I make one of those ‘vision boards’ everyone keeps talking about?” Your collage might inspire me to do so! And yes, I’d say 13 miles is pretty decent, to say the least 😉

    Reply

  9. sophia
    Mar 08, 2010 @ 16:13:36

    lol-ed at the cute face you made with your food!
    I’ve never tried yoga before…so I can’t see the appeal of it…yet. But I really wanna try it…I must be the last blogger to have tried yoga!

    Reply

  10. Andrea@CeleryInTheCity
    Mar 08, 2010 @ 18:02:29

    love the smiley face! I’ve never done yoga in the city, sorry girl 😦 hope you had a good monday!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

