Breakfast Heaven

Today’s Mini Goal: Diversify my fruit intake!  I rely largely on apples, bananas, grapefruit, oranges, grapes, and dried mango.  I’m starting to get bored of these guys though, and I need some new fruit friends!  Suggestions?

Today’s post is going to be short and sweet because this girl needs to do some serious damage on her schoolwork pile.

Thanks for everybody’s sweet comments yesterday, I was struggling a bit and every time I opened my inbox to find one my face lit up.  As a sort of follow-up question, do you want to be a mother, if you aren’t now? Or a father, I suppose, but I don’t think I have any male readers…

Breakfast is by far my favorite meal of the day — so many options and flavor combinations, and it’s fun to play around with.  It also has to fuel me through my day, at least until lunch.  When I was younger I usually had cereal (typically not a sugary kind, although sometimes I conned my mom into buying my reese’s puffs!), instant oatmeal, or, as I got older and my mornings got more rushed, a bar of some sort.  Until about a year ago I used to always get hungry before lunchtime — usually around ten or eleven my belly would start growling.  I am just not a morning snacker at all, so I always had the dilemma of either digging into my lunch stash early or waiting it out.

Once I started adding some fruit and a little bit of fat and protein to my breakfast, I saw an immediate difference.  I think about this time last year I saw Kath putting a spoonful of peanut butter in her oats, and I thought that it sounded weird, but I tried it and fell in love.  Now I regularly include things in my breakfast that used to sound totally exotic — apples, almonds, trail mix, soy milk, cottage cheese, pumpkin, bananas, dried fruit, coconut!  The permutations are endless.  I usually stick with oatmeal on weekdays since it’s pretty much a no fail option.  I can cook it on the stovetop with spices if I have more time, or heat up a packet of kashi instant if I’m pressed for time (I like the Honey Cinnamon variety).  I can even eat it while walking to class if need be, like I did this morning.

The above bowl, kashi instant made with extra water, cinnamon, a diced gala apple, and a scant 1/4 C trail mix, was absolutely divine.   I could not ask for more from a breakfast.  Tasty.  Filling.  Nutty.  Sweet.  Full-bodied.  Crunchy.  Smooth.  Serious.  Playful.

I prefer to use cereal as a snack since it doesn’t hold me over as well at breakfast, but sometimes I do use it.  I like pretty much all the kashi cereals too, especially heart to heart, good friends, goLean crunch, and goLean berry crisp.  When I do cereal, I like to pair it with some chobani yogurt for protein and a banana, possibly a little bit of peanut butter if I know I’ll be really active that day.  Weekend breakfast possibilities include eggs (sunny side-up) with fruit and toast, french toast topped with fruit, nuts, and yogurt, or waffles.  I also love smoothies when I’m at home; I like to use vanilla yogurt or soymilk, frozen berries, spinach, a few nuts or a spoonful of nut butter, and protein powder or amazing grass.  In the summer I’ll throw in a scoop of peach ice cream for a yummy treat.

What are your favorite breakfasts?

Run:

I had one of the best speed workouts of my life today!  The schedule called for 5×1000 with three minutes recovery between each.  You know me — I can never seem to do exactly what it calls for, and today was no exception.  I converted it to 5×6 minutes with 4 minutes recovery (I’m really OCD and wanted it to be an even ten minutes!)  I was able to push really hard on the speedy parts without ever feeling like I was dying; this is all you can really ask for of a speed workout.  I covered anywhere from .73 to .80 during each six minute hard section, and my pace ranged from mostly 7:30-8:30.  There were a TON of hills going on today, and I was probably in the nine’s on them.  Regardless, it was a really great workout and definitely gave me a nice shot of confidence in my ability to actually run fast once in a while.

Today’s grumble: Garmin will not turn on again so that I can look up my exact data.  It worked fine after the reset and usually seems to turn on, but shouldn’t it turn on all the time?  I don’t think that I’m asking too much of poor Apricot…*le sigh*.

Random Anecdote: Yesterday my mother accused me of “spending too much time cooking”.  Considering what most college students are spending too much time doing, I found this pretty hilarious.  I think my cooking habit is a bit tame…

I hope everyone is having a most excellent week!

Once I complete this half-marathon (March 21st), I’m going to try to switch up my moves a bit.  I love running and I think I always will, but I want to be able to try more things and rediscover activities I’ve always loved too — swimming, yoga, gymnastics, dancing, biking, fitness classes.  What is your favorite way of moving?


21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Diana (Soap & Chocolate)
    Mar 02, 2010 @ 23:33:29

    Ah, oatmeal, the ultimate canvas. That bit of fat really makes a difference in its staying power, no? Actually, I’ve been enjoying it a lot as lunches and dinners too, but with savory ingredients, like some frozen veggies and hummus. Quick, easy, healthy = winner.

    Reply

    • caronae
      Mar 03, 2010 @ 00:01:20

      I won’t lie, I’ve totally been fearing the savory oatmeal for a while! But I trust your food instincts, so maybe I’ll have to give it a go now 🙂

      Reply

  2. kbwood
    Mar 02, 2010 @ 23:53:20

    wow great run girl!!
    ahh YES i can not imagine my life w.out PB on my oats! PB protein oats are the best for me! i love it!

    Reply

  3. EE
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 00:09:54

    Oooh, I’m the weirdling who doesn’t dig peanut butter and oatmeal. I think I’m kind of burned out on peanut butter from childhood (and earlier adulthood) overdose. But enough of that!

    I love to run run run run run. Alternatively, I like to dance in performances, which I sadly have not done in way too long. Skating (roller or ice) is fun despite my lack of skill.

    The mom question is a tough one for me. Honestly, I have always known I lacked certain instincts, but maybe what that means is that I should adopt or have a surrogate. I’ve strongly thought about both options. But… yeah, I’m going to just have one (and do it right) if I have a child, and I’m going to wait until I am 34.

    I’m done writing you a book.

    Reply

  4. EE
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 00:11:44

    I lied.

    Eat raspberries. Or golden raspberries. Or blackberries. Mmmm.

    I like multi-grain TJ’s oatmeal with a root veggie and then a protein source, like a veggie burger. Seriously.

    Reply

  5. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 00:54:46

    my fave breakfasts always involve fruit! don’t feel too bad about not having a ton of variety in your fruit choices though…i basically only have apples and strawberries at this point because that is what’s in season (barely!) come summer we can eat a lot more of a variety! try my oatmeal pumpkin pancakes (on the recipes tab of my blog) i’m pretty sure i want to be a mom, but not until i’ve totally sorted out the issues i’m dealing with now!

    Reply

  6. Sarah
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 01:46:32

    Raspberries, strawberries, pineapple, blueberries? Those are my favourites anyway..
    Yes I want to be a mum, and my favourite way of moving used to be running, but now it’s playing the piano…don’t know if that counts? 😉

    Sounds like you beasted that run, and there is defo nothing wrong with a cooking habit 🙂

    Sarah x

    Reply

  7. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 04:38:09

    Glad my comment re motherhood was enjoyed by you and I love your foodie pics and wonderful run you had…woo hoo!

    Reply

  8. Joanne
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 07:27:04

    If your mom thinks YOU are cooking too much…what would she say about me LOL.

    I’m so glad to hear you are feeling better today! I love the sound of your breakfast combos. I am so much more of a cereal for snacks kind of person also…and I live off of Kashi oatmeal. Love the vanilla flavor.

    Reply

  9. Abby
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 07:31:57

    I could eat oatmeal every meal of the day, so I would have to say that it’s my favorite breakfast. Let’s go with almond milk, oatmeal, banana and either butter or peanut butter. Yum. If it’s overnight oats, I like pumpkin added in for some reason. When I’m home on the weekends, I love eggs in any form and as for cereal, I eat a ridiculous amount of bite sized plain shredded wheat. However, not by itself–either paired with greek yogurt and fruit or eggs and fruit, sometimes a bunch of almonds and dried fruit.

    Obviously, I’m in the breakfast club,

    Reply

  10. Christy
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 08:15:54

    I love blueberries and raspberries! I go in spurts with my breakfasts. Sometimes I’ll get on a toast and PB kick, or smoothies every morning. Just all depends on my mood. I was on a huge oatmeal kick for awhile, but haven’t had it now in a few months.

    Reply

  11. blueeyedheart
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 09:38:12

    For some reason the first fruit to pop into my head was a kiwi! I can’t wait for blackberries and raspberries to be in season, though. 🙂

    I pretty much always have cereal on weekday mornings… I’ve never had a problem with it holding me over! Which works, because I am a cereal FREAK. And my favorite way of moving is through water. Preferably a hundred feet down!

    ❤ ❤

    Reply

  12. theprocessofhealing
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 09:55:40

    So glad you had a great run!!!

    I’m the same way with breakfast. I used to be so afraid of fat and nut butters (the horror!!!) but now, I know that it’s important. Whipped banana oats with pb or almond butter is my go to breakfast. When I find something that works, I tend to stick with it lol I like cereal too but I have to eat one that has a lot of protein and fiber or i’ll be hungry an hour later.

    Favorite way to move? Running, no doubt.

    Reply

  13. Katie
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 12:08:37

    My favourite breakfast is probably pancakes 😉 hehe it’s kind of funny that your mum accused you of spending too much time cooking – your food always looks lovely and I enjoy cooking things from scratch too, if it makes you feel good keep on doing it! Well done for your great speed workout 🙂 I love running too, although I have to be careful not to overdo it these days. Poi is my other favourite way to move. It’s so much fun it doesn’t feel like exercise at all!

    Reply

  14. Kate
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 14:14:17

    breakfast is my favorite meal of the day. i went thru a serious elaborate oatmeal phase earlier in the ear but have reverted back to simple yogurt, fruit and cereal combos. i think this is because i have to get up so blastedly early, but whatever. it makes my less rushed, consumed at an actual table breakfasts that much more enjoyable.

    Reply

  15. Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 14:34:42

    I can’t wait to be a mommy 🙂 I think it creeps my boyfriend out a little, haha! As for different fruits, I love adding berries to my breakfast bowls! Frozen ones are great in the winter when produce gets to be expensive. Happy hump day!

    Reply

  16. Sarah
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 14:57:22

    Incorporate some fresh mango, yum! And how about strawberries and raspberries? Pricey this time of year but soooo good when they’re in season. Perhaps dried goji berries?

    Reply

  17. Susan
    Mar 03, 2010 @ 15:00:15

    I love breakfast too. Oatmeal has to be one of the most amazing things because the possibilities are endless – that’s probably why I never get bored of it!

    Reply

  18. Lauren @ BIOCHEMISTA
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 15:04:29

    Sounds like a great workout! I really need to do speedwork more often. I have a love/hate relationship with it however! Lol

    My favorite breakfast are Green Monsters!

    Also, check my blog today I gave you an award 🙂

    Have a great day!

    -Lauren

    Reply

  19. Darya
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 18:31:09

    you spend too much time eating and i live off coffee and sugar…. dysfunctional eating run in the family?

    Reply

    • caronae
      Mar 04, 2010 @ 19:41:17

      My eating isn’t dysfunctional (a vast majority of the time); I just like to blog about it because I think cooking and eating are fun. If YOU live off of coffee and sugar though, you might need help, no offense.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

