Caronae-ified Snow Day

Today’s Mini Goal: Write cover letters.  This. Needs. To. Be. Done. ASAP.

Timing for a run didn’t really work out today, but I did get in some walking, the 20 minute Yoga Core class from Yoga Download and bowled in the evening!  The Yoga Core class is a serious core workout — between tons of boat poses and knee-to-nose raises, your abs feel wrecked by the end (in a good way).  This is one of those yoga videos that proves that with the right combination of poses yoga can be a great workout.  A lot of vinyasa classes I’ve done have been quite hard.  It’s not really something that I could do as my workout everyday, because I like running so much and I also need to have a variety of exercise options, but I try to do a yoga class once or twice a week, and I always leave feeling physically and emotionally strong.  Yoga is actually definitely one of the things that has helped me battle my depression and anxiety; there is just a certain calming aspect to it that makes me really believe “I’m okay; this too shall pass; I will indeed survive; there are so many beautiful things in the world around me.”

Has yoga helped you physically?  Emotionally?  Made you realize something big?

I told myself that since today was a snow day I would get so much work done.  Yeah.  Didn’t happen.  Does that make me a bad person?  Anyhow, the day ended up being nearly perfect; I had brunch with friends, napped and read, then went bowling and to an amazing BBQ restaurant for a friend’s birthday.

We had a lot of fun, as you can see.  Bowling is one of those activities that’s so fun because you totally don’t realize you’re “exercising”, but you are!  I did some arm moves with my ball too; I don’t get a chance to make it to the gym for strength that often.  I gotta take what I can get.  And if I have an 8 and a 12 pound bowling ball and a few minutes till me next turn, I’ll take it.  My scores were humiliatingly low.  Bowling is just one of those things that I’ll probably always suck it.  I have terrible aim, plus I always make the ball roll diagonally down the lane.

Randomly, my pelvis/ilio sacrum is hurting a lot right now.  I think bowling is just a weird motion and it triggered an ongoing problem I have in the area — ever since I was about 12 or 13 (the last few of my gymnastics years), I remember having an ongoing pain in my sacrum (basically, the bone at the very bottom of your spine/the back of your pelvic bone).  It tends to happen mostly when lying down/sitting up, but frequently shows up after other exercises.  I can even crack my pelvis; I’ve never met anyone else who can do that!  Massaging the bone makes it feel better, which is weird and makes me think it’s just a nerve/tendon/muscle issue.  I love having my hips and sacrum massaged — probably more than my neck, shoulders, or back even.  I once saw a therapist who did some crazy thing with his hands and forearms along the sides of my hips that felt so indescribably good.  I have some sciatica and piri formis issues too, so the whole region is generally just sore.  Okay, sorry to complain.

Do you tend to accumulate pain in one part of your body?

I loooovvvveee BBQ/soul food.  It’s one of my favorite varieties of food, after Middle Eastern.

The menu had all the most wonderful things on it: corn bread, pulled chicken, ribs, fried shrimp, BBQ chicken, collard greens, sweet potato fries,macaroni and cheese, oxtail, jerk chicken, black eyed peas.  I Caronified my dish, pulled chicken sandwich, by getting it with sweet potato fried and steamed veggies.  I ate half the sandwich and fries and all the veggies.  The waiter seemed really confused that I wanted vegetables with my meal.  I actually don’t think anyone else’s meals came with veggies, besides collards (I don’t mind the greens but I hate the ham).  The dishes were all roughly $8-12 and were seriously massive: I took half of mine home, and everyone who ordered meat combo platters probably has another two meals waiting for them.  Seriously, the plates served to us probably contained 3-4 servings of meat.  No joke.

One thing I loved about this meal was that we lingered over it.  We took our time just talking after dinner, sharing stories, watching our friend open cards, then slowly munching through our cake.  I think more meals should be eaten like this; it provides valuable social interaction and also reminds us that a meal is a time to celebrate good food, friends, family, and memories.  Sounds a bit tacky, but I think it’s important, especially for someone like me who eats a vast majority of meals by herself.

Cake:

Sometimes you just need some good old-fashioned birthday cake, with pink frosting roses.  Happy 21st Birthday A!  I love you!

I was going to be going on an xc skiing day trip tomorrow, but apparently the park we were going to upstate got 26 inches of snow and hasn’t been able to groom the trails and clear out the park properly yet.  I’m hoping for next weekend.  Skiing is just one of those activities that never fails to be fun.

I’ll probably just do a long run, study, and eat tomorrow.  Boring, but that’s reality.

Anyone have any more glamorous plans?

PS — Averie is giving away three jars of naturally nutty nut butters here.  So so so so unbelievably tasty.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce
    Feb 27, 2010 @ 01:00:23

    it’s definitely the gymnastics, it destroyed my sacrum too! not cool. is it horrible that i don’t like bowling? i can’t stand it! but my friends make me go haha. looks like a fun time! bummer you can’t go xc skiing tomorrow, but hopefully you’ll get to soon

    Reply

  2. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    Feb 27, 2010 @ 01:46:31

    Thanks for the linky back.
    The acccumulating pain…Oh dear lord, yes! My back, upper back, knot city. No matter how much yoga, stretching, etc…it’s a minefield of knots!
    I am so glad that you feel yoga has helped you with your anx/depression. That’s awesome 🙂
    xoxo

    Reply

  3. Kate
    Feb 27, 2010 @ 09:12:26

    your sweet potato fries and cornbread are making me salivate. it has been too long since i’ve enjoyed sole food.

    once i get my butt in gear, i hope to do a yoga download today too!

    Reply

  4. Katie
    Feb 27, 2010 @ 10:33:54

    Haha I’m dreadful at bowling too 😉 I usually put the barriers up! I am clearly 5 years old at heart…

    I don’t accumulate pain in one place, but all my stress goes straight to my digestive system. I was really happy most of yesterday and it turns out even excitement makes my IBS flare up! I’m glad you had fun at your friend’s birthday party. I agree with you, social occasions around food are fun. I don’t eat with other people very often either so they’re a big novelty for me these days 🙂

    Reply

  5. pen
    Feb 27, 2010 @ 10:35:15

    Yoga can be such a wonderful workout. When I was teaching and doing a lot of yoga and incredibly strong abs. But, you just inspired me, I downloaded the 20min core yoga podcast!

    my glamorous weekend involves running, working, and watching the olympics.

    Reply

  6. Maggie
    Feb 27, 2010 @ 11:43:48

    Yoga helped me a ton when I was first recovering from my eating disorder. And when I can make myself do it now it helps a bit with the depression and anxiety. But ya know, sometimes I just can’t make myself start. Every time I finish a class I feel great, but it’s the whole starting thing that is hard. I need to start doing it again. I am usually happier when I am yogaing every day, even if it’s only for 20 minutes. I love that core class too – so hard. I also like all their 20 minute power vinyasa ones. Haven’t done those in a while! And I like the 20 minute hatha classes for nighttime or relaxing. Bobby does them with me sometimes.

    Reply

  7. EE
    Feb 27, 2010 @ 12:06:07

    Oh, yes, I have SUPER glamorous plans. I am looking BEAUTIFUL sans makeup in all-day finance class and then pretending I am one of the Golden Girls tonight with my law school best bud. 😉

    I am just not a yoga girl, but…. time could change that.

    I think you needed that awesome day more than you needed productivity.

    Reply

  8. Sarah
    Feb 27, 2010 @ 16:02:09

    Wow you’ve been busy!
    I tried yoga once, but found pilates more my thing…need to motivate myself to get back into it though 😉

    Sarah x

    Reply

  9. blueeyedheart
    Feb 27, 2010 @ 23:09:52

    Seriously, I promise that if you went bowling with me, you would no longer be able to say that your score was embarrassingly low. In comparison, at least. Because I am the definition of sucking at bowling. 😉

    ❤ ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

