I’m A Dairy-Free Pumpkin Seed

Today’s Mini Goal: Conquer this week’s speed workout.  I can tackle this baby!  I was supposed to do it today but my legs were still tired from my killer weekend (40 miles in 4 days).  Speed work totally overwhelms me, but I have a plan and I will stick to it tomorrow morning!  It’s gonna be Janetha-inspired. 🙂

I have been up since one AM paper-writing, so I apologize if this is a bit incoherent.  I had a really interesting, but challenging, assignment to examine some of the possible negative outcomes of human rationality.  Oh, homework-land.  Such a happy place .

I wrote the paper from one till almost six, so I figured there was simply no point going to sleep (I had slept for about five hours in the evening already).  I made good use of the wee hours by blog-reading and eventually heading out for a rainy 9-miler.  The Reservoir Loop in CP was covered in puddles, mud, sticks, ice, holes: basically, just how I like it!  I adore running on tricky trails, and it was like I had my own personal trail in the center of the city today!  Only three other people were braving the Loop.  Are you a standard streets-and-sidewalks only runner or do you like to get wild with your terrain choices?

In the latter half of the run I had an icky stomach cramp that never really went away.  I had had a giant bowl of yogurt while I was writing the paper, and a lot of dairy the day before too.  I am not positive, but I think this might be the tummy/digestion culprit.  So I am having a dairy-free week!  I am not doing it to restrict or deprive; this is merely an experiment to see if my tummy is happier and less bloated.  Many, many people have dairy issues, and while I have never had a problem, I think my consumption of the stuff has increased a lot lately.

Exhibit A (and B and C…):


The top two photos are from lunch yesterday, which was a throw-everything-into-a-bowl-and-call-it-cereal mess.  I believe that warm cinnamon h2h, skim milk, pb, peanut butter pretzels, trail mix, and coconut are all hanging out in there.  The photo on the bottom left is banana cream pudding (with a sweet potato pie smudgin).  It was the Black History Month dinner at my school, which is one of my most favorite events of the entire year.  I had two bowls of the pudding.  On the right is a bowl containing macaroni and cheese, shrimp and grits, and cornbread.  I also had such delights as yams, green beans, catfish, black eyed peas, pulled chicken, and more cornbread.  Mmmmm.  Needless to say, my evening involved quite a lot of dairy!   Actually, it just involved quite a lot of (tasty) food in general.  I left feeling a bit too stuffed.

BUT today’s clean, lighter eats probably balanced it all out.  Despite the nine miles in the morning, I wasn’t super hungry all day.  I guess my body does really know what it’s doing after all.  I think I actually recorded all my eats today.  I know you are so totally thrilled by this fact and that you can’t wait to see them…

Breakfast: banana chia cinnamon oats with a tall Awake Tea Misto made with soy milk.  Served with a side of philosophy textbooks.

Lunch: giant salad bowl with mixed greens, chicken, cucumbers, peppers, corn, and an oregano EVOO dressing.  Lunchtime perfection.

The apple was consumed with lunch and the randomly thrown together trail mix was my afternoon snack.  It did a great job of keeping me full, actually!  It included chocolate animal crackers, walnuts, macadamia-cashew trail mix, dried fruit, and a little h2h.

I got out of class at six and was feeling snackish, but knew I wasn’t really hungry for my dinner.  Solution?

A few sips of coconut water!  I figured the electrolytes couldn’t hurt.  It did the trick and cured my snackiness.  I don’t actually really like coconut water all that much, but whatever.  Do any of you guys love the stuff?

Dinner consisted of piles of yumminess.  What’s that?  You want to know what said piles of yumminess contained?  Oh alright.  Fine.  The bowl was a spinach salad topped with leftover crumbled lamb burgers, onions, and hummus.  These flavors worked really well together!  On the side we have roasted/steamed squash slices and steamed broccoli.  I like veggies, don’t hate.

And the most important meal of the day?

Dessert of course!  This was a chocolate mint Luna cookie with DCD frosting.  I know I’ve tried one of the Luna cookies before and I didn’t love it, but this was pure deliciousness.  It tasted wonderfully decadent.  Noms all around.

I’m one tired little pumpkin seed right about now (my dad used to call my pumpkin seed!), so it’s off to bed for me.  What did your parents call you as a kid? I was (and, I will admit, still am) variously called pumpkin seed, cupcake, and bunny rabbit.

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Can You Stay for Dinner
    Feb 24, 2010 @ 21:50:07

    Oh my goodness- banana cream pudding with sweet potato pie??? Incredibly delicious! I loved all of your meals today, so balanced and tasty.
    Have a great night!

    Reply

  2. sophia
    Feb 24, 2010 @ 22:21:44

    My mom called me a cobra, because I had a vicious temper. lol. My dad called me his twin, because I am just like him. 😉

    Girl, take care of yourself please! 9 miles run after an all-nighter?!! Please rest up now, and I hope you’re replenished for tomorrow!

    Reply

    • caronae
      Feb 24, 2010 @ 23:32:17

      I was wide-awake at the time, and actually, still am. Evil insomnia!!!!

      And my mom called me “the viper” because I could be so nasty as a kid, lol. I like to think I’ve reformed!

      Reply

  3. Diana (Soap & Chocolate)
    Feb 24, 2010 @ 22:42:15

    I do love coconut water – YOUNG coconut water! Like the kind you have to crack into an actual coconut to get. I haven’t found a boxed/bottled brand that tastes even close. They must get the water at a different stage of the coconut’s maturity or something, because it tastes like juice compared to the coconut water I like. You can get little bottles of it at Bonobo’s on 23rd st. THAT’s the stuff!

    Reply

  4. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce
    Feb 24, 2010 @ 22:59:52

    i’m dairy free now too! i’m trying it out to see if it helps with my skin. be prepared for a lot of emails from worried readers thinking you’re doing this for ED reasons lol. but i know you’re not! dang girl, you need some SLEEP! i took a nap this afternoon, you should have too! i’m not a fan of coconut water, it’s just eh

    Reply

  5. Rebecca
    Feb 24, 2010 @ 22:59:53

    I was a “Becca boo” growing up…and still occasionally when my mom is feeling mushy..

    Reply

  6. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce
    Feb 24, 2010 @ 23:00:24

    oh and i was “punkin” or “gaga” growing up. the latter is bc my brother couldn’t say me name, so he called me that and it just stuck

    Reply

  7. marla {Family Fresh Cooking}
    Feb 24, 2010 @ 23:27:37

    Awwww, I call my daughter pumpkin seed. Love that! She also has your lunchbox with the owls on it, my son has the same one but with robots. Speed works does suck, but it really gets you fast and well trained. Sorry about the tummy cramps, I used to get those when I ran. Like trails better, but used to end up on the road….probably why my hips don’t like running anymore 😦

    Reply

  8. Sarah
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 02:04:47

    Aw pumpkin seed! That’s so cute…my mum sometimes calls me chuck, and more occasionally ‘old bean’ she’s sooo weird! I like to call people pumpkin, chuck, chick, flower and lovely….also I get called Coggers (cos of my surname, and because I have so many friends called Sarah).

    In response to your other question, I used to run cross country at uni and loved getting muddy. We used to run through fields, streams, woods and all sorts, and I always remember leaving my spikes out the dry so that I could knock all the mud off. It was great being part of a team and we had a really good team spirit, it was a shame that I missed out on more of it by getting a little too obsessive with my workouts and ending up injured!

    Sarah x

    Reply

  9. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 02:40:25

    Dairy is not your friend and it’s good to get off it. We crave our allergens and the more you crave something the more that’s code for, better evalutate if you’re actually intolerant to it. I spent a lifetime with tummy aches and issues and after getting off dairy and gluten 5yrs ago, my life has been changed!

    Love the greenery in that bowl too 🙂

    Reply

  10. Katie
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 05:34:33

    I’m dairy free because I’m quite severely allergic to it. I hope you have a nice dairy-free week 🙂 I don’t miss it at all anymore but I did at first!! I actually do really like coconut water, is that weird? Aw, pumpkin seed is a cute nickname 😉 I don’t think I had one..

    Reply

  11. Jess (Fit Chick in the City)
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 06:15:22

    I love love love trail running, but as you know we’re quite limited here in NYC. The bridal path is a great alternative. You did some serious mileage in four days!

    Reply

  12. Joanne
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 07:03:25

    At least you’re interested in your homework assignment! Mine is usually something like…list all of the known asthma medications and their mechanism of action. (BORING.)

    I loved going for runs where I was the only person in CP daring to run. I felt like I owned the park!

    Great eats…next year. You are inviting for that Black History month dinner because it sounds AMAZING. So many good eats in one place at one time! I would probably implode. Either that or I’m going to have to recreate it based on all of the dishes that you listed. That might be faster.

    Reply

  13. sugar plum fairy
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 07:26:53

    This is delight full and Joanne being ur sweetfren too, am inviting u here for her little party(its her birthday dear -i know that u know dear) which is a suprise party for her …do leave her a wish in the sprinkles ok…..my feeds arent working so am trying my best to find all her pals to leave her a wish in the sprinkles before she gets there or even after….will ya help too to make it a little sucess….and leave her a wish too?

    http://vanillastrawberryspringfields.blogspot.com/2010/02/joannes-birthday-middle-eastern-chicken.html?showComment

    Reply

  14. Jenna
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 07:46:50

    Hey!
    I just came across your blog and I really enjoy reading it!
    I would love it if you could check out my new blog and follow as well 🙂
    Jenna

    Yummy dessert!!!

    Reply

  15. janetha
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 13:01:36

    awe. i am honored! haha.. cant wait to see what your workout is!! dont you love chia in oats? i love how they swell up from the heat and then pop in your mouth. my nickname was neef 🙂 pumpkin seed is so cute!

    Reply

  16. runjess
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 15:52:54

    I feel like most of my meals are heaps of stuff all mixed in a bowl. Love it.

    Unfortunately I don’t have much choice but to be a streets and sidewalks runner. I live in the middle of a city!

    Reply

  17. Lauren @ BIOCHEMISTA
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 15:57:24

    WOW, 40 miles in 4 days!!!!! CONGRATS 🙂 🙂

    I have a love/hate relationship with speed work. Love the results, hate doing it! What does your speed workout consist of??

    My parents called me Rose (and still do), it’s my middle name.

    xoxoxox, Lauren

    Reply

    • caronae
      Feb 25, 2010 @ 16:03:07

      My parents called me Rose too! For some reason my sister was always Violet, and she got purple things, and I was Rose, and I got pink things! Caronae

      >

      Reply

  18. Emily
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 20:09:20

    My parents called (and still call me) Bug. And I looooove coconut water. The fresh from the coconut stuff is best but I love all the boxed kinds I’ve tried too.

    http://eatventures.wordpress.com

    Reply

  19. pen
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 21:21:38

    I totally used to do the sleep early, get up in the middle of the night to write, thing in college and grad school. Somethign about writing in the middle of the night makes all my thoughts flow. Or, I’m just delirious enough not to censor myself. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

