Long Run Eats!

Today’s Mini Goal: Wash my sheets.  I HATE doing this because I only have one set, but it definitely need to be done.  Ick.

I made it through an exhausting, but satisfying, 15 miles this morning!  Glad it’s done with.  Now tomorrow I only need to do ten.  I basically looped around lower Manhattan, running through a ton of different parks — Riverside North, Riverside South, Hudson River, Battery City, East River, finally ending up at Union Square.  My legs were definitely dragging the last few miles, but I felt pretty good for a majority of the run.  Not enough fuel, perhaps?  It wasn’t one of those runs were you feel like you’re flying, but there were clear moments when I felt strong and fast, and in the moments when I felt sluggish I still tried to push myself.  Long runs are probably my favorite type of run — I take a looonnggg time to “get going”.  Usually I only start to feel warmed up after about three miles and start to feel good around five or six.  I ran track my first few years of high school, and the only time I ever beat any of my running partners was at the end of a hard workout.  I have a kick.  Even then, as a fourteen year old, I knew I wanted to run marathons someday.  I guess it’s kind of cool that now I get to follow through on a long-time dream!  I’m reaalllllyyyy hoping to get into the NYC marathon.  Pray to the distance-running Gods for me!

I was curious to notice what/how much I ate today, so I documented everything.  I am trying not to be judgmental.  I genuinely just wanted to know what I was putting in my body after such a big workout.  I have always enjoyed running, but for a long time I used it as a control mechanism (i.e, “I can eat x amount of food if I run x miles”).  I think I have a pretty healthy relationship with both running and food at this point in my life, but it hasn’t always been this way.  I haven’t really talked about my relationship with food on the blog much because, honestly, I have been a bit afraid.  But after reading everyone’s stories and feeling like I’ve made some genuine blog friends who won’t judge me (hi EE!  hi Stef!), I feel like, being that this is sort of a food blog, maybe I should talk about this!

From the time I was fourteen or so until I was about nineteen, I hated my body.  It got worse when I started college (I was 17), and came to a point where I woke up every day dreading looking at myself in the mirror.  I used many coping mechanisms; mostly I just punished myself by staying in my room and crying all the time.  I was not one for self-injury or a clear eating disorder, but I undeniably was injuring myself emotionally and had disordered eating.  I think the point when I realized I had a serious body image issue was (roughly) the fall of 2008.  There was one week when I only let myself eat one thing each day — an apple, for example, or a mini muffin.  I still drank some things (milk, orange juice, tea) to get me through my workouts, but it was horrible.  For the next eight or ten months, I would go through days or weekends where I deprived myself, but I made up for it the rest of the week; I never lost weight and was always irritable.

Now, if I feel like I have either eaten too much or too little on any given day, I get anxious and upset.  Sometimes I get so hungry on long run days and I am afraid that if I respond by eating a lot (even if it’s healthy, whole foods), I will gain a lot of weight overnight.  So I decided to simply notice what I eat today and make no judgments about it.  I want to make sure I have plenty of healthy, nutritious foods, and I also thought it would just be interesting to have a record of how much I need to eat on a long run day.  So here goes!

Pre-run banana and mid-run mojo bar.  I can’t eat a full breakfast before running, and I have found that a plain banana is perfect.

Cup of pear cider at the farmer’s market (I had finished my run there).  Delicious!  Also had a random smoothie sample from TJ’s.

This was easily one of the best brunches of my life (weekend brunch, by the way, is my favorite meal.  Especially after a long run!)…

So what is this giant pile of deliciousness, you ask?  French toast!  I started with two pieces of fresh cinnamon raisin bread and dipped them in a bath made with one egg, chia seeds, cinnamon,maple syrup, a splash of milk, and coconut oil.  I cooked them in a bit more coconut oil and threw some apple slices in the pan to caramelize up a bit.  When all that was done I plated it and topped it with a bit of maple-vanilla yogurt, almond butter, more cinnamon, and a sprinkle of random trail mix.  Definitely not a low calorie brekkie, but this was a brunch.

Afternoon snackage: more trail mix and a forkful of pb for good measure.  I honestly was not that hungry in the afternoon at all.

Chocolate raspberry sticks, pb filled pretzels and half a container of chocolate milk also made an appearance in my day!

Dinner was a side salad of spinach, yellow pepper, carrots, and mushrooms with a GIANT chicken quesadilla, buried under that lettuce.  I also had a vitamin water “zero” which was on sale at the pharmacy.  It was good but way too sweet.

Don’t know if you can read that label, but it says it has electrolytes.  It was also sweetened with stevia, which is cool.  For the record, the quesadilla was takeout.  For some reason I absolutely had to have mexican food tonight, and this hit the spot.  Chicken-y, cheesy deliciousness.  Mmmmm.

I will probably have a bowl of cereal and some chocolate(s) later on,but didn’t want to wait to blog.

So there you have it.  My long run eats.

I’ll also show you my TJ’s loot since I totally haven’t talked about food enough in this post.

I’m the proud new mama of a jar of TJ’s almond butter with flax!  I can’t believe I just said that I was the mother of a food item.  Oh well.  It shall produce many happy food babies.  I also procured some Greek yogurt (fyi: their brand is usually relatively cheap), peanut butter filled pretzels, mixed dried berries, macadamia cashew trail mix, and chocolate raspberry sticks (noms all around).  What’s your favorite Trader Joe’s item?

Okay.  Food talk over.

Hope everyone is having a fun weekend!  What have you been up to thus far?

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. EE
    Feb 20, 2010 @ 22:29:19

    Um… black bean / corn enchiladas. Split pea soup. Sorbet (which I’ve given up for Lent) — the Double Rainbow mango-tangerine kind. Their hot cereal.

    It seems like you are trying hard not to judge yourself, and I want to applaud you for that. You’re worth the extra self-directed kindness!

    Reply

  2. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce
    Feb 20, 2010 @ 23:12:22

    hi!! 🙂

    i think that weight is irrelevant when it comes to mental health. yes, while anorexia is more physically dangerous than run of the mill depression, i think that having yo-yo eating habits, extreme self loathing, and major depression is an equally harmful problem! i’m so glad to hear that you’re doing better about that these days, but i know it can still be hard. i like that you decided to simple notice what you ate today, without judging. and i must say you ate some yummy things! hmm…fave TJs product…i’m always obsessed with their mini fiber cakes (apple cranberry flava) bc microwaved and smashed into yogurt = awesome!

    Reply

  3. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    Feb 21, 2010 @ 01:12:56

    Love this: Cup of pear cider at the farmer’s market
    OMG I bet that was amazing!

    My TJs never has smoothie samples; sadly it’s really carby or meat based stuff like chicken noodle casserole or a turkey sandwich type thing. Wont work for me 😦

    That flax PB, ive heard great things.
    My fave thing is their sunflower seed butter. Better than any nut butter anywhere! Love that stuff!
    And also their coffee: ethiopian and french roast, both organic fair trade are great
    cocoa powder, bourbon vanilla, their fat free caramel corn, their mini cheeze pizzas for my 3 yr old..there are sooo many things that are staples for me from there!

    Reply

  4. Sarah
    Feb 21, 2010 @ 02:58:28

    Thank you for being so open about your past experiences – the feelings you describe remind me of how I felt at that age too – I hated myself and my body, and would often deprive it whilst exercising, but never to the point of significant weightloss (that part came later). Experiences like this can very easily develop into a full blown eating disorder, and I’m so glad your relationship with food and exercise has improved since then. You are evidently a strong and determined person 😉

    Sarah x

    Reply

  5. theemptynutjar
    Feb 21, 2010 @ 07:58:02

    Love bananas. And cinnamon raisin bread, Yum…I hear the Ezekiel kind is nice…might try that.

    I suck at washing sheets 🙂
    I only have one set too…and I am ashamed to admit how infrequently I change them 😦

    Reply

  6. Fit Chick in the City
    Feb 21, 2010 @ 08:23:54

    Sounds like a great run! I too hate washing sheets and currently only have one set as my other set has a hole in them. Thanks for the breathing while swimming tip!

    Reply

  7. Joanne
    Feb 21, 2010 @ 10:21:24

    I hate washing my sheets also! Possibly my least favorite chore. Ever.

    I really hate that eating disorders are classified only based on how much you weigh when it is totally a mental disorder. This is one of my biggest pet peeves! It was so awesome of you to tell your story! As an ED survivor, I definitely have those days where I get anxious about eating ridiculous thing…like an extra spoonful of PB or a handful of dried fruit. And it’s so silly since normal people DON’T THINK ABOUT THINGS LIKE THAT. And they don’t gain weight! I try to look at people I know who just kind of eat what they want and force myself to realize that they do this without gaining weight. So it’s silly of me to think that one day will change anything.

    Especially after a 15 mile run! That’s over 1,000 calories burned! You could basically eat whatever you wanted and be fine. Your eats look so good. Love TJ’s almond butter!

    Reply

  8. pen
    Feb 21, 2010 @ 12:06:28

    What a wonderful post and how bravely honest of you. I still haven’t felt brave enough to be truly honest about things on my blog (actually, every time I read your blog I admire how brave you are for allowing yourself to be vulnerable). You are such a smart, strong young woman, you are going to do great things!

    Reply

  9. Lele
    Feb 21, 2010 @ 16:40:16

    My favorite Trader Joe’s item… oh my God that is difficult! But their whole grain flax wraps, chickenless nuggets, cranberry apple butter, peanut butter filled pretzels, and fruit leathers are all up there!
    What I really want, though, is your pear cider! And in general to have a farmer’s market near me in February (I’m SO JEALOUS!)

    Reply

  10. Andrea@CeleryInTheCity
    Feb 21, 2010 @ 18:42:57

    Do you go to the Trader Joe’s in USquare? I keep trying to go but it is always SO busy that I just head back to Whole Foods down the block. Love reading other NYC blogs! 🙂 When I was in Chicago I did get to go to TJs and get some peppermint JoJos, thooose were bangin.

    Reply

    • caronae
      Feb 21, 2010 @ 18:51:11

      OMG it is terribly busy and tiny! I think it’s the only one in the city though, sadly. I try to go at off-peak times, like weekday afternoons or early weekend mornings. The line usually moves quite quickly — it typically doesn’t take more than fifteen or so minutes. Good luck!

      Reply

  11. Christy
    Feb 21, 2010 @ 20:16:57

    I love TJ’s spicy black bean dip! I make pita pizzas and use the bean dip as the sauce. They also have cheap good wines 🙂

    Reply

  12. Trackback: Perfect Sunday « Run. Write. Therapy. Life.
  13. Kate
    Feb 21, 2010 @ 20:41:49

    great post! i applaud the courage it takes to share that kind of stuff. thank you!

    i too hate doing my sheets and only have one set. perhaps i’ll put that on my birthday wish list 🙂

    fav tj’s item – cooked lentil, horseradish hummus, and english toffee squares

    Reply

  14. Trackback: Almond Butter Adventures « Run. Write. Therapy. Life.
  15. Lori
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 18:53:27

    Great job on the 15 miler and way to fuel your body!

    I hated my body (some on occasion still do) for most of my life growing up and am sad to think of the stress I placed on it (being anorexic). I will never do to my body what I once did and am glad i found healthy, clean eating to overcome all the destruction. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

