Never Too Tired For Chocolatey Goodness

Today’s Mini Goal: Do something with my hair!  I never know what to do, but there is a whole lot of it and it’s just begging to be played with.  I’m actually really good at doing complicated hair styles on myself and others because when I was a gymnast, my mom didn’t know how to do anything with my hair, and we would have to wear our hair in all sorts of fancy styles, so I taught myself.  But I don’t know what to do with it on regular school and work days.  Suggestions?

I have been beyond exhausted this week; I’m not just sleepy, but my body physically feels really low on energy.  I took a four hour nap yesterday evening.  Yes, four hours.  I feel like I just got back from a climb of Mt. Everest.  Hormones don’t usually seem to hit me this hard, but I’m trying to just get extra sleep and eat a bit more (having an excuse to eat plain spoonfuls of peanut butter makes me oh so happy!).  This blog is about all kinds of health, and I hope this isn’t some sort of other issue creeping up on me.  I’m always really paranoid about my thyroid because every woman in my mom’s family has a thyroid problem.  I’m kind of a hypochondriac though — when I was a kid, I was convinced I had everything from E. Bola to malaria and botulism.  I kind of had an overactive imagination.

Physical health:

I just couldn’t drag myself out the door for a run yesterday, but I did squeeze in fifteen minutes of ab work.  My favorite ab exercise just might be slow bicycles — I can practically feel my tummy getting stronger while I’m doing them.

Today I did ten miles; probably my longest pre-9 -AM-class run ever.  I knew I wasn’t going to want to do it when I got home around four though, so I dragged myself out the door at 6:15.  It was pretty uneventful, but it definitely felt good to get my legs moving again after three days of not running.  The Reservoir Loop in CP is currently covered in snow pack and it’s really fun to run on.  You have to be careful, but it really works your legs and will make you feel so much more gung-ho.  It also reminds of being at home in Michigan and plowing my way through snow-covered trails.

Abbot Park by Justin J Rumao.Source

Bliss.  I’m a trail runner at heart, which makes living in NYC a bit saddening at times.  I love exploring the city on my feet and have probably run on almost every street/path/park/sidewalk in Manhattan, plus a few in The Bronx and Brooklyn.  But I crave the solidarity that comes with a beautiful,unpredictable trail.  There’s just something special about it.

If you’re a runner, what kind of area do you like running in?  City streets?  Parks?  The wilderness?  A treadmill?

What I’ve been munching on lately:

Salad with tons of chicken.   Sometimes I just want a lot of meat, and this meal satisfied that want very well.

The Siggis yogurt was just alright.  I loved how thick and creamy it was, but it was a tad dry and not sweet enough (never thought I’d say that about a yogurt).

Cereal/fruit/yogurt messes: how I love thee.  Shall I compare thee to a summer’s day?  The cereal here is the Kashi Toasted Berry Crumble and it is addictive.  A bit too sweet, but so yummy.  Nom nom nom.

Oats In A Jar, cooked with my new chia seeds.  I really like how they gel up and make the whole concoction thicker.  They have an interesting taste — sort of nutty, but also sort of sweet.  I think I like them.

Averie’s vegan chocolate snowballs!  So so so so so delicious.  I used sweetened coconut so I threw in some plain oats to take an edge of the sweetness and add a little bulk.  They were wonderful — they kind of melt on your tongue.  I didn’t even bother portioning them into individual “cookies”; I’ve just been digging my way through the bowl with a spoon.  No shame.  These actually taste better than most cookies, and I’m all for vegan treats sometimes.  If you’re looking for a vegan and/or raw dessert, this is the way to go!  In fact, none of Averie’s recipes have disappointed me yet…Thanks Averie!

Mental Health:

I’ve felt really down the last few days, but I’m blaming it on an icky combination of mood swings and anniversary fears.  I am a different person this year with scary, sad parts.  But also strong parts.  And I will not relapse.  I believe in me!

Off to go make some salmon and watch Grey’s Anatomy!

You all have an assignment: do something nice for yourself today or tomorrow and report back! I plan on buying the new Oprah magazine, but we’ll see…

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. EE
    Feb 18, 2010 @ 21:37:34

    Hey, you! Guess what — we’re mentally in synch. Ever since I was announced as EIC of law review, I’ve felt like I need to not look so gross at school, so I’ve been doing my hair. It makes a big difference in mood.

    I will eagerly accept your assignment and go get that pedicure my dad got me.

    Try not to be too down. Your past defines you in that it made you awesome.

    Reply

  2. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce
    Feb 18, 2010 @ 22:17:44

    sorry you’ve been feeling down :(. hope things turn around for you soon! the weather definitely plays a part too…your siggi’s looks diff than the ones i buy, the blueberries are diff! i love those, but blueberry isn’t my fave flavor. get some rest girl!

    Reply

  3. Maggie
    Feb 18, 2010 @ 22:39:42

    If it helps, I think spring is around the corner. That always makes me feel better 🙂

    Reply

  4. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    Feb 19, 2010 @ 00:52:18

    Thanks for making my goodies and just holla at me when you do b/c i dont get pings and i love to know who’s making stuff!

    I love this: I didn’t even bother portioning them into individual “cookies”; I’ve just been digging my way through the bowl with a spoon. No shame. ”

    Girl. Me. Too. Nuff said.

    Ok so the protein powder in the last one..try Sun Warrior’s Choc Brown Rice protein powder. Vegan, raw, and def a nice choc taste. I mean there are tons of highly processed really fake powders out there, i.e. Dessert Brand, that ive heard are great but for what it is, i like Sun W. in Choc. I like Jay Robb’s brownrice in Vanilla, but the choc is just meh to me. Sounds like the whey choc is the same.

    Reply

  5. Sarah
    Feb 19, 2010 @ 02:55:11

    I used to run…but it became an unhealthy obsession, which is why I no longer do. However, I live in an area of the UK called the Peak District, right next to the moors, where there are lots of hills and beautiful countryside (although it does rain rather alot). There are some amazing places to run, and lots of fell races (where you basically just run up a massive hill). If you ever make it to Britain you should try and visit it 🙂

    Sarah x

    Reply

  6. Joanne
    Feb 19, 2010 @ 07:27:06

    I think we all ahve those weeks where we just feel like crap. You will get through it though and I doubt it’s anything more serious than a phase of tiredness. Keep eating that PB. That stuff has curative properties. I’m sure of it.

    One day. When I can run again. We should run over the GW together and thorugh the palisades. That’s where I did my 20 mile runs when I was marathon training and it is almost like a trail run…absolutely gorgeous up there!

    Keep being strong girl! You are awesome.

    Reply

    • caronae
      Feb 19, 2010 @ 09:36:40

      OMG Yes! I so want to run in the Palisades. I’ve been over the GW bridge once or twice, but couldn’t figure out how to get into the nice areas on the other side, so I always just turn around at the end!

      Reply

  7. pen
    Feb 19, 2010 @ 08:03:51

    I had a therapist who would always tell me that my homework for the week was “to do something nice for myself” or “be kind to myself” and it was/is sooo hard. But, gosh, I miss that therapist.

    And, it is hard to get through these down times, but you are a very strong wonderful woman, and you can do it!

    Reply

  8. Kate
    Feb 19, 2010 @ 09:18:34

    a good hair stylist is key! i’ve found one who all i have to do is sit in chair and she will just whip out something crazy that looks fab.

    i am sending good energies your way! i always get a little freaked out by anniversaries of the shnappy stuff i’ve been through. i’ve found that surrounding myself with my people during these times is super helpful.

    Reply

  9. themilkfreeway
    Feb 19, 2010 @ 13:06:19

    I need to work out what to do with my hair too, I haven’t had it cut in almost a year and it’s turning into a bit of a bramble bush 😉
    Sorry you’ve not been feeling too great recently. Having off weeks can feel scary when you’ve suffered from a major depressive episode before, it’s great that you are reminding yourself that most low patches don’t end up that way. Anniversaries can be tough, so take care of yourself 🙂 I am thinking of you!

    Reply

  10. Christy
    Feb 19, 2010 @ 15:45:33

    That food looks great! I hope you’re feeling better :). As for running….I like to mix it up. I like running in the city and exploring different streets and neighborhoods (it makes time go by quickly). I love running on trails, keeps me on my toes and I love being in the woods. I run on the treadmill quite a bit. I like the treadmill for tempo runs or speed work.

    Have a great day!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

