Things I Do For My Heart

Today’s Mini Goal: Go on more NYC neighborhood walk-ventures.  This weekend I saw the East and West Village on foot, and I remembered just how much fun I have dong this.  I love people watching and getting a sense for an area’s vibe.  Some of my best weekend days in the city have been spent aimlessly walking around new places.  I’ve discovered Washington Heights this way, the Upper East Side, small chunks of Brooklyn, Chelsea, etc.

Things I do for my heart (or a semi-Valentine’s Day themed post):

1. Run.  Run run run.  Everyone knows exercise is good for you, but I think there’s something especially liberating about flying down a park path on a cold winter day.  It’s just got to be extra good for your ticker.  I did two miles first thing this morning to warm up and then did a 5k “race” at a running meetup (see number two).  I say “race” because I definitely pushed myself along the course (I’m guessing I did it at about an 8:30 pace thanks to two new friends, Chana and Amanda, who I didn’t want to beat me), but there was no timing or competition involved.  We left in different groups from JackRabbit and just sort of followed a course.  I don’t even know how long it took me!

2. Meet new people.  Social interaction is vital to our emotional and physical health, and I got plenty of that today via the race and meetup.  It was really great to get to meet other runners in a low-key, fun environment.  I tend to be shy in social situations like that, so it was nice to practice talking to people.  There were hardly any weirdos, either, although one guy did start telling me the details of his low-carb diet about five seconds after I told him my name.  I even talked to a few boys without having any panic attacks.  Go me!

Cupcakes may have been involved.

Dear Billy’s Bakery: I was not impressed by anything about your cupcakes except the frosting.  Please improve your recipe!

3. I ate pink things.  Like lox.  Surely this is good for my heart.  At the very least, salmon has heart healthy fatty acids, right?

4. I took myself to PB & Co!  This is good for my heart because it makes me happy.  And peanut butter has magnesium and folic acid, which are good for your heart!  I got an Elvis sandwich and Dark Chocolate Dreams.  A visual tour for those of you who haven’t had the good fortune to visit this nut butter mecca:

5. I took a nap.  Perhaps there’s no scientific proof for this, but a nap never fails to relax me.  And relaxation is good for your heart!  I’m planning on yoga tomorrow morning, which clearly has cardiac benefits, both on a fitness level and a mental level.

6. I ate plenty of dark chocolate, which has magnesium and flavonoids, a kind of antioxidant, which, according to my mom, improves your good lipids.  Also had oatmeal and walnuts, which are similarly good for me!

Conclusion: I’ve had a pretty damn good Valentine’s Day.  I’ll give you this picture to summarize:

A running tech shirt, a flower from a friend, and a jar of DCD.  I’d call it a pretty succesful V-day indeed.  Lots of heart-healthy things were involved all around!

What did you do for your heart today?

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. EE
    Feb 14, 2010 @ 22:40:03

    Ohhh, you and TCL would be fast friends with your love of DCD. I like it, but he loves it (I am more of the cinnamon raisin gal).

    I napped, went to the Eucharist, and ran (re: things for my heart) — and I’m going to go ahead and say that sleep refreshes the brain. The brain controls the heart. Therefore, sleep is good for the heart. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce
    Feb 15, 2010 @ 00:08:20

    there actually IS a lot of scientific proof for the health benefits of naps! so nap on, my friend! awww i wish i could just waltz into pb & co, although it’s probably good for my wallet that i don’t have access. i certainly hope cupcakes were involved 😉

    Reply

  3. Run Sarah
    Feb 15, 2010 @ 00:20:20

    What a fun post! PB is definitely good for the heart – I am dying to visit the PB&Co store, I’d want to buy everything.

    Reply

  4. Sarah
    Feb 15, 2010 @ 04:10:57

    Nice valentines day combo 🙂 I’m a big believer in naps…hehe

    The cupcakes look nice, even if the taste didn’t quite match 😉

    I also love people watching, and I like to make up little stories about their lives…does this make me weird? Haha

    Sarahx

    Reply

  5. pen
    Feb 15, 2010 @ 07:13:16

    Napping is my lifeforce. Honestly, I could not survive without a nap most days. Not really because I’m physically exhausted, but because I’m psychologically/emotionally exhausted. Maybe once I get better at emotional regulation, I won’t need the naps, but right now, they are so good for my heart.

    As are cupcakes.

    Looks like you had a wonderful Valentines Day! Great job at giving yourself a kind day!

    Reply

  6. themilkfreeway
    Feb 15, 2010 @ 07:24:36

    Hehe I love this post! I think chocolate and dalmatians are good for my heart. Well done for talking to random people, even if you did find one oddity. I need to visit PB&Co one day 😉

    Reply

  7. Joanne
    Feb 15, 2010 @ 09:39:52

    You were definitely heart healthy today! Between the PB+Co (I can’t believe I still haven’t been there yet! I love their PB!), dark chocolate, and lox. I would have been in heart heaven.

    Go you for putting yourself out there and meeting new people! Definitely a super hard thing to do but so worth it. I think the adrenaline is a kind of eustress that gets the endorphins flowing.

    Sounds like a great V-Day!

    Reply

  8. Audrey
    Feb 15, 2010 @ 16:50:10

    PB&Co!! Lucky! Sounds like a fun day. I haven’t tried any of their pb yet but it all sounds dreamy.

    “There were hardly any weirdos, either, although one guy did start telling me the details of his low-carb diet about five seconds after I told him my name.” Haha. That made me chuckle to myself. 😀

    I love the heart-themed post for Valentine’s day.

    Reply

  9. sophia
    Feb 15, 2010 @ 21:50:15

    I jogged/walked with a great friend of mine. We prayed together. And I went grocery-shopping. All awesome for my heart! 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

