Run And Yum!

Tiday’s Mini Goal: Try a new vegetable this weekend!  There’s one other girl on my floor who uses the kitchen a lot, and I saw her cooking fennel the other day.  I need to try a new exotic veggie!  I’m getting a bit bored on the produce front.  Also, she was making chocolate-zuchinni oatmeal the other day.  I think I have a new friend.

Sorry for no post yesterday!  Wednesdays are my busiest day this semester, and I was up till after two studying.  I might take most Wednesdays off from blogging.  We shall see.

Guess what today is?  My one month blogiversary!  I don’t know if I’m allowed to celebrate a month of blogging, but it feels pretty special to me.  I have met loads of new people, encountered new ideas, and pushed my writing and my sense of self.  Here’s to many more happy months of blogging!

 Source

Okay, onto all things running (and then all things delicious). 

Yesterday I was dead tired after my last class and was seriously angry at the idea of going to the gym to run four miles on the treadmill.  I had loads of homework to do, dinner to make, and the gym would probably be crowded.  I was right on all three counts, but went away because I’m really paranoid about missing a day from my plan.  So I did four easy miles, having waited an hour to get a treadmill.  I didn’t want to sit around, so I did a huge strength workout, which was nice, with lots of arms and abs. 

Today I woke up early-ish (I compromised with myself: I said if I got up at eight to run I could skip my nine o’clock lecture) and ran a cold and windy five miles, with twenty-five minutes of tempo thrown in the middle.  The tempo part was decent, but I had to go to the bathroom really bad, so I ran a bit slower until I found one.  The Hudson is covered in huge chunks of ice in all sorts of blue and silver tones, and it was absolutely gorgeous to run along this morning.

I think my increased mileage has caught up with my diet.  I’ve been trying to eat bigger snacks during the day so that I’m not so hungry in the evening that I want to eat the whole house.  So what have I been munching on lately, you ask?

 

One of the cafes at my school has pretty good fare.  This is a shrimp, watercress, avocado, artichoke, mozarella, and (evil) tomato salad. 

I knew there were tomatoes in the salad, but I thought there wouldn’t be too many.   That was not the case.

Please die Mr.Tomato.  I am going to stab you now and wait for you to bleed to death (never happened, unfortunately).  I promise that things will be worse for you if you ever invade my salad again.

I don’t have anger issues, I swear!  I’m really not an angry or agressive person at all, actually, sometimes to my own detriment.

Who doesn’t love bubble teas?

Who doesn’t love random stir-frys and cottage cheese stuffed sweet potatoes?

Or hot chocolate?  Okay.  I suppose we can all have one food we despise.  But not hot chocolate, that’s impossible.  What food item do you hate on?

Homemade oats with tons of cinnamon, dried berries, walnut crumbles, and TJ’s Greek vanilla yogurt (which is superb, by the way).

Portable peanut butter, I shall marry you.

Carrot with pb hat.  Zuchinni with pb hat.

Yum.  Can’t decide on dinner tongiht.  Soup, perhaps?

I’m going to a fun event at my school with lots of food later, so something light.  Any suggestions?

Lately, I think I have been a much kinder citizen of the world; less judgemental.  I’m by no means perfect (or even good) at this, but I’ve gotten better.  Who knew being happier could project outwards so much?  I think this will lead to more friends, memorable days, and just a better environment for me.  I believe in karma, and while I don’t entirely blame myself for the negativity and stand-offishness I was so full of last year, I do know that this year, in being kinder to others, I will get something out of it.  For example, just a minute ago a girl in the computer lab politely asked me if I could show her how to use the printer.  Now, this is incredibly obvious, and most people use the printers pretty frequently.  At first, I sort of stared at her and didn’t really know what to say, but then I got up, showed her how to hit print, find her name on the list, and select it.  For me, this may be a mind-numbingly easy task, but perhaps she’s new, or foreign, or very bad with computers.  I’m proud of that little moment. 

What’s something you’ve done for someone else lately that you’re proud of?

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. EE
    Feb 04, 2010 @ 20:42:34

    I’m proud of supporting the love of my life through a rough set of months at work as best I can.

    I’m so pleased to have “met” you via your blog. Happy writing!

    Reply

  2. Diana
    Feb 04, 2010 @ 21:33:24

    Have you picked a vegetable yet? I love trying new foods!

    And I love love LOVE bubble tea! So hard to find sometimes, though. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    Feb 04, 2010 @ 22:06:06

    This makes me smile: Portable peanut butter, I shall marry you.

    Something ive done…hmmm, well, all my yoga tips and suggestions for my blog readers and then all the time and knowledge I donate to the hundreds of emails and questions I get per week…that’s for others, no doubt!

    Reply

  4. theprocessofhealing
    Feb 04, 2010 @ 22:49:43

    Congrats on your one month blog anniversary! I’m almost there.. exciting stuff!!!

    And a new veggie, that’s a really cool goal. I should do that. I always rely on the same old thing.

    Your printer story is actually funny 🙂
    And what’s something i’ve done for someone else? Been patient with my kids at work (i work with kindergarten and 1st grade at an after school program). They can be reallllly trying on my patience sometimes but lately, i’ve been good with it 🙂

    Reply

  5. Erin
    Feb 04, 2010 @ 23:30:13

    Happy blogiversary! 😀 Love the idea of trying new vegetables, too. There are always new ones I learn about but never pick up at the grocery store.

    Reply

  6. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce
    Feb 04, 2010 @ 23:40:34

    i didn’t realize you only started your blog up a month ago, you really hit the ground running! hah no pun intended, given your blog name. happy blogaversary! fennel is yummy, i even like it just sliced up as a snack, freshens your breath 🙂

    Reply

  7. Sarah
    Feb 05, 2010 @ 03:09:41

    Happy 1 month birthday! My blog is a very similar age too 🙂

    All I can say is that poor poor tomato! Hehe

    Sarah x

    Reply

  8. Joanne
    Feb 05, 2010 @ 07:55:44

    I love setting new food goals, Especially when they involve trying new veggies! Fennel is delicious. I approve.

    Happy 1 month bloggiversary! Of COURSE you should celebrate. ::Does a happy dance::

    All of the food looks delish. Definitely listen to your body and eat more if it’s hungry. Running takes a lot out of you. I’ve been injured and haven’t been able to run for a month and I’ve been going insane! I feel like i never get a good enough workout without it.

    Reply

  9. Christy
    Feb 05, 2010 @ 08:11:48

    Happy anniversary! It’s the little things that make a big difference. No one is perfect but we can strive to be better people each day.

    Reply

  10. lou lou
    Feb 05, 2010 @ 08:35:56

    happy one month!
    it is mine too!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    take care

    Reply

  11. Gelareh @ Nutritious Foodie
    Feb 05, 2010 @ 08:47:43

    Your salad looks really good.

    Reply

  12. Tina
    Feb 05, 2010 @ 08:58:14

    Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂 I look forward to reading more of yours 🙂

    Reply

  13. Naomi (onefitfoodie)
    Feb 05, 2010 @ 09:32:44

    hey girl! thanks for visiting my blog 🙂 running along the hudson sounds so amazing right now! I cant wait for it to get warmer out so I can run outsideee I hate running when its cold out 🙂 gotta love Boston baby!!

    happy anniversery!

    Reply

  14. themilkfreeway
    Feb 05, 2010 @ 13:09:42

    Happy blogiversary! Ooh, and I am curious about which vegetable you picked to try 🙂 I really like fennel, it’s great in salads. I can’t think of any food that I hate, other than milk – but that’s OK because I’m allergic to it! Oh, I hate rocket. I don’t like anything lettuce-y really, although spinach is pretty good.

    Reply

  15. runjess
    Feb 05, 2010 @ 16:04:48

    They never had salads like that at my school. Looks great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

