Friends, Food, Run

Today’s Mini Goal: Meet someone new in one of my classes!  Friends have always helped me flourish, and I like meeting new people, but I’m a little shy about it.  I’m going to try to approach meeting people with less anxiety, at least for today (tomorrow, actually).

Alright, I’m speed-posting/reading/commenting tonight my friends.  Lots to do!  I went to a women’s mentoring/networking event tonight that took up my whole evening.  It was worth it though.  I met lots of cool lawyers, public officials and artists.

The event had lots of tasty catered food, including these desserts!  I definitely indulged, but I feel fine since I didn’t overdo it.  I like dessert.  When I was little, my mom used to tell me that I couldn’t have dessert everyday, and I would get so mad that sometimes I would refuse to eat my dinner without the promise of dessert afterwards!  I was naughty.

Food!

Mini chocolate covered tiramisu!

Mini cannolis (I had one).

Perfect milk chocolate truffle.  I also had a small chocolate covered piece of raspberry cake (my best guess).

Pile of delicious.

Okay, so I only took one other picture today, and that was of my afternoon snack.  I’m usually ready for a snack between 4 and 5, and then I eat a later dinner.  This snack was phenomenal, and the flavors were amaze together!

Dried pineapple and dark chocolate covered pineapple.  Protein, fiber, carbs, pretty colors, chocolate?  What more could I ask for in a snack?  Nothing.  I truly believe that this is the epitome of aftenroon snackage.

I wish my posts could be organized like Janetha’s, and they would just have a meals section and a moves section.  But my posts would just get boring if I did that.  Janetha, on the other hand, seems to hvae mastered the creativity-within-a-framework format!

I had one of my best lunches ever today.  It was a HEAB inspired egg scramble.  No pictures, because it looked a bit funny.  But it included sauteed onions, mushrooms, and zuchinni, two organic eggs, salt, and cheddar cheese.  Why haven’t I been adding salt to my meals?  I actually tend not to want salty things, but every once in a while when I do a really hard, sweaty, or long run, I crave salt.  I think it’s a hydration/electrolyte thing.  Anyways, this was a delectable combination (I feel like I’m running out of adjectives to describe my tasty morsels!  Any suggestions?)

Run!

I woke up early to get it done today.  I kind of go back and forth on getting up between 6 and 7 to run before classes or going in the middle of my day if I have a long break or going on the treadmill in the evening.  For some reason, I just knew that I was not going to wanna do this run later in the day, so I sucked it up and headed out at 7 this morning.  I’m not sure what it was about today, but this run was super fabulous.  Maybe because I had a small handful of nuts before I left?  Usually I don’t eat anything, so I think this gave me a solid energy boost.

I had 8×800 with 400 recovery between each on the schedule today.  I still have no functional garmin, so I converted the workout to a time-based one: 8×4 minutes hard followed by 3 minutes easy.  I think my fast parts were roughly a half mile each, so it worked out nicely.

I did this workout all the way around Central Park (plus a mile warm up and cool down), so there were some tough hills thrown in there!  I really pushed myself, but I never felt like I was dying.  I actually really loved this workout.  Shocking.  Speedwork normally makes me so anxious that I feel like I’m going to throw up, but today was different, and I am grateful for that.  If you are looking for a workout that combines speed and endurance, this is it, but I don’t recommend doing it if you haven’t been building both of those up for a little while.

No mental health news or stories today.  I do have to say though that I am feeling infinitely better this winter than I was at this time last year.  I have a history of rough Februarys (bad things always happen to me in February; it’s actually a little bit eerie), but I am confident that my newfound self-esteem and my strategies for dealing with my emotions will help me have a good month, and a good semester.  I can do it!

What’s your favorite workout?  Do you have a “fallback” workout that never fails in a pinch?

Do you have a least favorite month?

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Erin
    Feb 02, 2010 @ 22:12:46

    Wow, that all looks heavenly (and sinful haha). I love the elliptical but should probably break out of my comfort zone with working out.

    Reply

  2. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    Feb 02, 2010 @ 22:51:58

    truffles and tiramisu. wow. food nirvana 🙂

    Reply

  3. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce
    Feb 02, 2010 @ 22:55:54

    haha i always talk to people in my classes randomly. i’ve made some of my best friends that way! your run sounds great, so jealous you have access to central park! glad you’re feeling better this winter!

    Reply

  4. EE
    Feb 02, 2010 @ 23:00:30

    I think the best friendships can come out of a class (my post tonight was kind of about that)!

    My favorite workout is a 7 or 8 mile run. Simple. 🙂

    Reply

  5. kbwood
    Feb 02, 2010 @ 23:18:08

    you desserts look GREAT!! 🙂

    Reply

  6. sophia
    Feb 03, 2010 @ 00:43:42

    March is probably my least favorite month: cold, rainy, and NO holidays…whatsoever!

    Man, that is an amazing spread…the last event I went to, all the had was crudites. But those desserts look amazing!

    Reply

  7. Brit
    Feb 03, 2010 @ 01:43:18

    I think January is my least favorite month. The holidays are over and everything is blah :/

    Those mini canoli’s look amazing!!!

    Reply

  8. taylor
    Feb 03, 2010 @ 04:35:18

    hey! thanks for finding my blog! i’ll add ya to my roll! your desserts look yummy!

    Reply

  9. themilkfreeway
    Feb 03, 2010 @ 05:11:17

    This is random but I was just saying the same thing about Februarys last night! So many people find them hard. I quite like the month itself because it’s right on the verge of spring, and spring is pretty 🙂 but I have historically had most of my crises in February too! Not this year though. Wow, that event had some amazing food! I want to lick my laptop screen now, but that’d be weird 😉

    Reply

  10. Joanne
    Feb 03, 2010 @ 07:14:34

    February is definitely a rough month. We’ve already endured so much of winter but there is still so much more to go! That workout, on Harlem Hill = rough. I hope my leg gets better soon so that I can start running again. I miss my Central Park loop!

    I am a total dessert fiend as well. It’s bad. Really bad.

    Reply

  11. Sarah
    Feb 03, 2010 @ 11:07:49

    hellooo 🙂 many thanks for commenting on my blog – may this February be fantastic for both of us!

    Glad you found me, cos it led me to your lovely upbeat blog….me likes 😉

    Sarah x

    Reply

  12. oatsandchocolate
    Feb 03, 2010 @ 12:35:21

    hey! thanks for your comment! your deserts look delish (; xoxo soph

    Reply

  13. Diana (Soap & Chocolate)
    Feb 03, 2010 @ 16:55:26

    Hot damn! DESSERTS out of control! That’s what I like to see (or don’t like to see, depending on how I think about it, haha). Love the itty bitty cannolis!

    Reply

  14. Rebecca
    Feb 03, 2010 @ 23:18:01

    Those treats look DELICIOUS!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

