Sleepy Friday

Today’s Positive Note: I’m always open to learning and trying new things!  As long as an experience doesn’t involve sheelfish or bees (I’m allergic), I’ll be open-minded about trying it.

Nothing much special happening today, except that I hung out with a boy.  A real, live one yes.  And a nice one at that 🙂

I was exhausted for some reason all day today.  I came home from work and took a long nap.  I think between classes, work, studying, and training, I get quite exhausted during the week, and by the time Friday rolls around I just want to curl up in my bed with a book and some cocoa and go to bed.  Does anyone else experience this?

I’m looking for potential jobs and/or internships for this summer.  I absolutely hate this process — I find it stressful, overwhelming, and confusing.  And I have no idea what I even want to do in life, let alone what I want to do this summer.  Gah.

Fun eats:

Okay, so I planned on having this salad for lunch:

Layers of mesculin, spinach, bell peppers, carrots, pineapple and tofu!

So pretty!

BUT, I decided I didn’t want it for lunch and had two bowls of cereal and some trail mix for lunch (around 3:00?  I don’t know what was going on with my sleep/hunger).  I am officially super impressed with the TJ’s cereal because it kept me full from 3:00 until after 11:00, when I finally got around to eating the salad (and I wasn’t starving either).  AND I did a 6 mile run and ab workout around 6:00.  Weird.

I snacked on this earlier in the afternoon:

Before adding trail mix.

And now it’s a banana hammock per CCV!  Yum.  And by the way, calling it a banana hammock does make it more fun to eat.

The run was kind of blah:

1:00-10:00 6 mph

10:00-20:00 6.5 mph

20:00-30:00 7.0 mph

30:00-40:00 6.7 mph

40:00-50:00 6.5 mph

50:00-55:00 6.0 mph

I actually only did 5.9 miles, because someone else came to take the ‘mill, but I’ll just add on an extra tenth or two tomorrow.  I actually got up this morning and tried to run outside, but was frozen, so I gave up and came back in.  I made it about a tenth of mile, realized my flimsy clothes were not enough, and that unless I suddenly morphed into a polar bear, running outdoors was not happening today (props if you live in New York and you did make it out).  The wind was fierce!

Went to watch part of our school’s basketball game after running (we got trounced) and then hung out with the boy.  Fun evening!

Weekend plans inlcude a The Lite Choice tour tomorrow (a comment on Missy’s blog hooked me up!)  and loads of reading.  For some reason, all of my textbooks are really long, really dense, and really slow this semester.  If you’re a student, how are your classes going?  If not, do you miss reading for hours and hours over the weekend (haha, kidding)?

Sorry, no stories or writing bits tonight!  I’m off to go relax.

What are your weekend plans?

PS — Congrats to my sister who got into grad school today without even taking the GRE’s because she’s so insanely smart!!!!!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce
    Jan 30, 2010 @ 00:17:43

    nice banana hammock, adding trail mix to an already delectable treat is genius! wow you are such a runner..”only” 5.9 miles? chica please, i would be keeled over after 1! oh man, ifeel a on the reading woes. right now i have to read ‘the double helix” by james watson….about the discovery of DNA. interesting subject matter, but i have to read the WHOLE BOOK argh! lol i love that you photographed a lunch that you didn’t end up wanting. better to listen to your appetite though, good choice! i avoid bees too, even though i’m not allergic 😉

    Reply

    • caronae
      Jan 30, 2010 @ 00:20:01

      I actually read that book for fun in like 9th grade or something (I’m extremely geeky), and it’s a good read, don’t worry about it 🙂
      And I’m running so much in preparation for my half!

      Reply

  2. Erin
    Jan 30, 2010 @ 08:47:14

    I don’t miss reading for school because now I have more time to read for fun! 😀

    Wow, I’ve never had a cereal hold me over as long as that. Normally, it’s the least filling thing I eat!

    Reply

  3. april
    Jan 30, 2010 @ 10:14:48

    What an adorable banana snack!!

    Reply

  4. jocelynsteiber
    Jan 30, 2010 @ 10:32:42

    That’s the one thing I don’t miss about college textbooks! I used to spend a fortune on them!

    Have a great weekend : )

    xo

    Jocelyn

    http://peacelovenutrition.wordpress.com/

    Reply

  5. Ameena
    Jan 30, 2010 @ 12:58:54

    What a pretty name you have!

    Trader Joe’s can do no wrong in my book, nor can any of their products. Except maybe their meatballs (gross).

    Reply

  6. themilkfreeway
    Jan 30, 2010 @ 13:08:58

    I’m a geek too 😉 I’m studying physics. My textbooks are a bit hard going too. I try to work through a certain number of pages every day because if I miss more than one day I get backlogged and overwhelmed. Ooh, a boy! Lucky you 😉 I could do with one of those! And never mind, lots of people have no idea what they want to do with their lives. When I was studying occupational therapy a few years ago some of the people in my class were changing career in their 40s or 50s. It’s never too late to find your calling!

    Reply

  7. Mari
    Jan 30, 2010 @ 13:40:06

    Hey love! Thanks for stopping by my blog =)…did you enjoy your tlc tour? They are amazing!

    Tonight is a NY Bloggie Meetup…you should come =)

    Reply

  8. Fit Chick in the City
    Jan 30, 2010 @ 18:21:58

    I love that positive note! Enjoy your tour!

    Reply

  9. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    Jan 30, 2010 @ 20:58:06

    banana hammock….mmmm good!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

