Don’t Be Creepy.

Today’s Positive Note: I’m very flexible, in the physical sense.  I would say this is the only physical “categorie” in which I would rate myself as unusually talented.  Even as a gymnast (I was a gymnast from when I was 4 until I was 14!), I was more flexible than the other girls.  I used to be able to reach 14-15 inches past my toes, and I can still easily do the splits and weird bendy yoga poses.

Not running yesterday made me really anxious for some reason, which made me have trouble sleeping again!  I have tried melatonin, and I actually have abottle of it, it just makes me sleep for a long time, so if I have to be up early or I don’t think I really need it, I don’t usually take it.  Thanks for all the tips though guys!

Anyways, ran after work today.  I was planning on running to and from Central Park and doing the full loop, which would have been around 7.5 miles.  I was also planning on going to Trader Joe’s later tonight.  So then I had the brilliant idea of combining the run and the trip to the store!  I actually love doing runs where the run leads to some sort of mini adventure; it keeps me entertained.  I’ll run wo Whole Foods (or TJ’s, per tonight), a yoga class, an event in a park, etc.  It’s like getting a little reward after the run.  So I ended up doing ~7 miles, with 10 pick-ups of varying speed and length throughout (by the way, I hate the word fartlek and try to avoid using it at all costs.  It just sounds evil).  I felt really good throughout the run, and even charged up a few of the rolling hills in CP.

How do you guys make runs entertaining for yourself?  How do you change things up, in general, with your workouts?

I had OIAJ this morning, with one packet of kashi honey cinnamon and a pear.  Warm apples and pears are super fabulous, by the way :).  So yummy, I wish I had a jar with a tablespoon of pb or ab left in it everyday!  By the way, I reeeaaaalllly wanted to get the TJ’s peanut butter or almond butter with flax, as shown by Monica in this post, but couldn’t find it.  Sad.  By the way, who came up with the OIAJ idea?


TJ’s finds:

I loved the savoriness of the dark chocolate edamame (tried a few pieces as a snack).

My shoes match my cereal.  Seriously, so well.  My shoes might as well be renamed the “Mizuno pommegranate-blueberry alchemy.”

I have seen dried pineapple plenty of times on Meghann’s blog before and wanted to give it a go myself.  This was an excellent choice!

Why is avocado, cheddar, and hummus such a tasty combination?  I had just such a sandwich on whole wheat for lunch, and it was so wonderful.  And filling.  I didn’t even want my afternoon snack of a Mojo bar, but I ate it anyway, because I kenw I’d be hungry during my run otherwise.  Running makes my hunger really weird.  Sometimes I feel super full and hardly want food at all, and sometimes I am just ravenous.  Thoughts?

I’ve noticed that most poems/short prose pieces I write tend toward the creepy side.  This, perhaps, sounds strange, but I think it’s kind of natural, in a way.  Expressing everyday things in a slightly unusual and/or darker way seems to give them a totally new tone.  I don’t necessarily do it intentionally, but I do do it regularly.  It doesn’t help that my poetry/prose teacher is OBSESSED with the creep in writing.  Honestly, I think it’s really satisfying to take something mundane (like dancing) and make it…odd.  Maybe I am odd for doing so?  For example, a few days ago I wrote a short prose piece (really, I think it was a poem just smashed into prose — I’m still trying to figure out how they are different, for me) about dancing, and it was going to be happy.  I swear.  But then I started thinking about my body, and how bodies moving around in the dark are both beautiful and terrifying, and how really truly scary it is to learn the nuances of your own body.  And, just like that, it became creepy.  Do you write creepily?  If not, how would you chracterize your writing (if, of course, you write at all)?  I find that the blog is a really nice way for me to keep up with writing on a regular basis, even if it’s just about food.

Alright, I’m in my comfy clothes and going to make dinner (which may or may not involve my new cereal) and watch Bones. 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce
    Jan 28, 2010 @ 20:49:45

    yes avocado hummus and cheddar is bomb diggity! soooo good, esp on a panini! nice TJs finds! and yay i was a gymnast for many years too: 4-15 (so basically teh exact same as you!) but sadly i’m NOT flexible anymore

    Reply

  2. Erin
    Jan 28, 2010 @ 21:02:27

    I went to TJ’s today too — every time, I just find more amazing things. I’ve never seen the flax-and-AB combo either but LOVE TJ’s PB. I hate salted PB — it really bothers me — so I adore the creamy unsalted. Mmmm… Bought TWO jars today because we ran out the other morning and it was a true tragedy. 😉

    Reply

  3. Diana (Soap & Chocolate)
    Jan 28, 2010 @ 21:40:58

    I believe the one who came up with OIAJ was Heather of Heather Eats Almond Butter. At least, that’s where I first saw it! It was a while back too, before the trend started spreading as much as it has now. Genius, no? I’m with you–I wish I went thru nut butter faster so I could have OIAJ more often! Although then I’d have bankruptcy due to nut butter, which is just wrong.

    Reply

  4. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    Jan 28, 2010 @ 21:55:45

    Oh wow, I bet this is good: dark chocolate edamame! Ive never seen that, Ill look for it next time 🙂

    Reply

  5. Mae (OhhMay.Wordpress)
    Jan 28, 2010 @ 22:47:02

    Thanks for the comment! I’m so going to match my shoes with my cereal for here on in. That’s a fantastic idea!! 😛 hahaha
    Whoever was the original creator of OIAJ has my whole heart. I love them so! 😛

    Reply

  6. sophia
    Jan 28, 2010 @ 23:15:46

    Running to TJ’s sound like a GREAT way to reduce time and energy! not to mention, you get that award of shopping after a good run. Ah, refreshing.
    I’m really flexible, too. People used to call me the rubber band.

    Reply

  7. themilkfreeway
    Jan 29, 2010 @ 06:21:27

    I think writing often morphs into something not intended at the start! If your brain wants to write something creepy, I say go for it 😉 maybe that will get it out of your system, maybe not. I do know that if you try really hard NOT to think about something, it sticks in your brain even more. I hope you had a nice relaxing evening 🙂

    Reply

  8. Maggie
    Jan 30, 2010 @ 20:44:14

    Yeah I think it was Heather too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

