Sleep and Soup

Today’s Positive Note: I really like my hips.  It sounds kind of weird to say that out loud, but it’s true.  They’re not dainty, and I like them that way.  I think they have enough curve to be feminine without just being large.  Also, odd fact, I really like my hip bones.

I’ve always kind of had issues with insomnia, and, like most of my minor physical dilemmas, it appears most often during times of stress.  Transitioning between home (Michigan) and school (New York) is by no means difficult for me — I’m quite used to it by now — but there remains something stressful about it.  I can’t quite name it.  It’s almost a very deep, visceral physical reaction.  Like my body knows something that my mind doesn’t, which I actually find quite impressive.  Anyways.  Dear sleep, please come back soon.  Love, Caronae.

Speaking of sleep, it’s my reason (excuse?) for not running today.  Monday was strength, yesterday was four miles, and today was supposed to be a six mile fartlek.  But, after falling asleep during all my classes today, stumbling around campus in a sleepy stupor, and barely having the energy to cook my dinner, I knew it wasn’t gonna happen.  I thought about getting up to do it this morning, but I had only slept for five hours.  My goal is to do (some of) my mountains of reading tonight, do a little yoga for some movement, and go to bed early.  Not following my training plan exactly kinda makes me anxious, but I think I’m doing the right thing (I was supposed to have a rest day later this week, so I’m really just moving things around a bit).

Mountains of reading.  That’s about half of my textbooks for the semester.

One of my professors made a very bizarre, slightly irritating comment in class today.  We were looking at some texts that were early proponents of some form of human rights (think Hobbes, Locke, Kant), and she started explaining this theory of rights in which our ability to make rational, purposeful decisions makes us human, and therefore gives us human rights.  Sounds simple enough, but there’s one obvious flaw: mentally handicapped people who are unable to make their own decisions.  Okay, I’m still with her.  Then she says “and depressed people.  With everybody popping pills these days and being unable to make decisions, that’s another kind of mental handicap.”  I found this very strange.  I’m depressed, not irrational, thank you very much.  And the whole class laughed at this comment too.  Was this a joke that went way over my head?

My mom sent me a package yesterday!  Mostly it was just books, but she also threw in some Pyrex!  Just what I needed (previously, I had to use a pot as a mixing bowl when baking).  Thanks mommy, I love you!

Does getting excited about new bowls make me a nerd?

I’ve been eating lots of yummy healthy things lately to fuel me through my exhaustion.  I don’t think I’ve been eating enough (last night, as I was trying desperately to fall asleep, I decided to add up my approximate calories for the day in my head.  I think it was only 1600.  I actually felt sort of weak, so I got up to eat some cereal.  Much better).

Homemade spicy carrot-squash-peanut-broccoli soup.  Not the greatest, but not half bad for throwing a bunch of random things into a pot.

Butternut squash soup with spinach and toast broiled with goat cheese.  Is it wrong that I like things burnt?

This was dinner tonight: I made the lemongrass chili Thai Kitchen instant noodles and added my own tofu (baked with red pepper, honey, and ginger), bell pepper, and spinach.  I love the little nooks and crannies in the tofu, they soaked up the broth and the flavors wonderfully.  I guess I’m kind of on a soup kick lately?  I’m craving something sweet right now (which always happens after dinner!) so I might go get some frozen yogurt later.  Yum.

Tomorrow is my last day of class for the week!  Happy happy joy joy.

Do you ever have trouble falling asleep?  What helps?

What’s your favorite kind of soup?

Lastly, head on over to Diana’s bake sale for Haiti and bid on something.  I’m baking banana chocolate chip walnut bread, so feel free to bid on that, or anything else!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Megan
    Jan 27, 2010 @ 20:32:04

    I am so glad there is another human being that likes somethings burnt. I my toast with a bit of a burnt edge and very dark center.

    I have trouble sleeping too. I have a prescription for a sleep aid but I try not to take it that often. It does wonders but I don’t like taking medications. Have you tried melatonin capsules. You can buy them over the counter. I have a friend that works graveyard and she takes them so she can sleep through the day. They do wonders for her and the side effects are much lower than a synthetic sleep aid.

    Reply

  2. Erin
    Jan 27, 2010 @ 20:50:22

    Lemongrass chili sounds fantastic! What a great combination of flavors! 😀

    Reply

  3. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce
    Jan 27, 2010 @ 21:03:32

    hooray for hips! it’s good to feel strong but feminine, you know? maybe your sleep troubles are homesickness? when i used to go away to school i would get this weird pang that i couldn’t identify, and it would interfere with my sleep too. i still have trouble sleeping sometimes, and i usually just turn to ambien lol but when i’m feeling more proactive i try to go for a more natural solution: long walks during the day, a cup of tea and a hot shower at night, etc. reading my cultural psych textbook also does the trick, i’ve discovered

    Reply

  4. Diana (Soap & Chocolate)
    Jan 27, 2010 @ 21:27:00

    There is NOTHING nerdy about being excited about new bowls. And if there is, call me a nerd. That’s ok too.

    Reply

  5. themilkfreeway
    Jan 28, 2010 @ 04:49:17

    Oh I hate random mental health jokes – people who have never been depressed shouldn’t think they can judge what it’s like! Sorry your professor was being ridiculous. I do think when depression becomes very severe it does make people believe things that aren’t true – because life is never worthless and most people I know with depression (myself included) can get some very odd ideas in their heads about what the rest of the world things of them. But depression is not psychosis, and it doesn’t make someone a lesser person!
    Your pile of books made me smile, I love textbooks 😛

    Reply

  6. Jess (Fit Chick in the City)
    Jan 28, 2010 @ 06:29:56

    First off, it sucks when you can’t sleep. I definetly go through periods of time when sleep is elusive. I hope your able to get some sleep soon.

    Secondly, I can’t believe your professor said that about depressed people!

    Reply

  7. Jenna
    Jan 28, 2010 @ 08:43:25

    Hey!
    I just came across your blog and I can’t wait to read it and follow!
    I would love it if you could check out mine and follow:)
    Jenna

    Reply

  8. Darya
    Jan 28, 2010 @ 15:44:55

    I don’t think being excited about new bowls makes you a nerd….. but photographing your dinner for your blog might!

    Reply

  9. Missy Maintains
    Jan 28, 2010 @ 17:02:06

    I have trouble sleeping sometimes too. I take melatonin and it works wonders. Love the new bowls!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

