An Unhealthy-ish Day

Today’s Positive Note: I eat very healthfully, most of the time (today sort of being an exception).  I actually really enjoy most healthy foods, because I was raised on them.  I try to cook my own meals with lots of yummy veggies, and breakfast is almost always oatmeal, or ocassionally kashi cereal.

Favorites:

Fruit: mango

Vegetable: spinach

Grain: oats or quinoa

Protein: salmon or peanut butter

Dairy: chocolate milk or greek yogurt

Treat: cupcakes

Do you already have really good habits or are you working on them?  I’ll probably share some easy healthy meal ideas as this blog moves forward.

Today was a really blah day.  Nothing bad happened, I just felt blah.  I had an icky headache, I got off work at 1:00 (in the afternoon) and came home and slept for a few hours, which didn’t help.  I drank a ton of water.  Also didn’t help.  I ate my weight in banana walnut chocolate chip bread.  Also didn’t help.  Finally, around 5:00 I got my butt moving.  I did my five easy miles, per the running plan, and a 90 minute vinyasa class with my new favorite teacher.  My headache actually went away after yoga.  I don’t know if the two are related, but I think maybe all the head and neck stretching we did today helped.  I would have taken some ibuprofen, but I’m all out, and was too lazy to go to the store and get some. 

I had a lot of “junk” food today (probably considered healthy by most people’s standards, but not really by mine).  Breakfast was oatmeal with a banana, almond butter, and pumpkin butter.  So far so good.  I also brought a vanilla rooibos misto from Starbucks to work.  I discovered these at the blogger meet-up with Kath, and  they’re quite good.

They use the fancy silky tea bags.  Me likes.

They spelled my name in quite an creative way.  I don’t get upset when people mispell or mispronounce my name, because I’m so used to it by now.  But I had to laugh at the spelling “Caronas”, especially because I verbally spelled it out to the barista.  Everyone in my family has a weird name — mine is probably one of the easier ones (we have people like “Fazlollah” and “Nasreen”.  You get the idea.) 

I wasn’t that hungry for lunch so I had some leftover roasted veggies with a wee bit of melted cheddar and some hummus (which, by the way, was a brand called Cedar’s, and is NOT as good as Sabra!)  Then I took a nap, and for some reason when I woke up, all I wanted was banana bread.  Massive quantites of banana bread.  So that’s what I had.  With a little peanut butter (this is an old picture — I had way more). 

On my way book from yoga, I was going to have a juice, but got distracted by the “carrot shake”, so I had that instead.  It was frozen yogurt mixed with carrot juice and was actually a tasty combination.  My “dinner” was rounded out with chocolate chips, dried mango slices, and lots of water.  Such a healthy day.  Oh well, everyone once in a while I need a day where I can eat lots of random, not-super-healthy stuff.  Do you guys like to do this, or are you 100% “healthy” all the time?  What does healthy even mean, in terms of diet?  I think it varies so much from person to person. 

Going to a party and a dance with my best friends tonight.  This makes me really anxious.  I’m definitely the kind of person who prefers to spend the night in with  a good book or a good tv show.  I’m working on getting over my social anxiety.  My goal for tonight is to just stay confident and do my own thing.

I’ll leave you with some random New York pictures:

 

Any fun weekend plans?  I have a long-ish run tomorrow morning.  I am making the rest of the day official “Caronae 2010 Organization” day.  There are several components to this:

1. Clean room, including ALL unpacking left to be done

2. Do laundry

3. Review syllabi and create semester calendar

4. Buy/order text books

5. Email relatives who need to be emailed

6. Do readings for Monday

I’m hoping that saying what I need to do on the blog will somehow make me accountable…

Have an excellent weekend!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce
    Jan 22, 2010 @ 23:22:43

    i love unique names! is your family persian/arab/something else cool? don’t worry about having an “unhealthy” day. i actually think it’s way healthier to be able to eat “junk” sometimes and have it not totally throw you for a loop. in fact when you NEVER eat unhealthyish foods, there’s likely to be a whole other set of problems!

    Reply

  2. Diana (Soap & Chocolate)
    Jan 23, 2010 @ 19:57:00

    Well I’m sure the yoga was a lot better for you than ibuprofen! That’s great if it gives you enough of a release that you have pain relief as well. Yoga always makes me feel like a million bucks!

    Reply

  3. Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga)
    Jan 23, 2010 @ 20:48:43

    hey hon, thanks for the shout on my blog…hope you’re having a fab night and it’s always interesting what and how starbucks people spell names, isn’t it!!! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Yoga Challenge and Long Run (Eats) « Run. Write. Therapy. Life.

Leave a Reply

