Shoes and a Lunchbox

Today’s Positive Note: I have strong arms and shoulders, probably from so many years of swimming!

I figured since I talk about running so much, I would talk about my shoes a little bit.  After reading Born To Run, I’m kind of skeptical of shoes, but I do understand that it isn’t especially practical to be running around barefoot in a modern city!  Of the seven years I have been running,  I have been running in Mizunos for about five of them.  I am a HUGE Mizuno fan.  For some reason, they just really work well with my feet.  I have quite the collection of foot deformities/defects/gait issues/arthritis, so an excellent shoe has always been a must for me.  For a long time, I was in the Mizuno Ryder, but last spring or so, I switched to the Alchemy, and I love it!  In the fall, someone at a shoe store recommended that I switch to an Asics (I don’t remember the model) and it was the worst shoe I have ever worn.  I got multiple injuries wearing it, and it just plain old hurt my feet.  I am never leaving my beloved Mizuno’s again!  They work well on a variety of surfaces, from treadmill to trail, they’re attractive, and they both cushion my foot and let it move around freely.  They’re both primitive and technologically advanced, and I love them for this.  I highly recommend Mizunos to pretty much any runner!

So that leads me to today’s run!  I decided to do the speed work on a treadmill.  Every once in a while, I seem to crave a serious, sweaty indoor workout.  Today was one of those days, so I went with it.  Also, I didn’t want to deal with the cold.  I got to the gym and had to wait half an hour for an open treadmill, so I did a little bit of strength training first, mostly easy arm and ab stuff, with a few yoga poses thrown in for stretching.  Once I got a treadmill, I did the following:

1 mile warm up (6.0 mph)

{0.5 mile fast (7.5 mph), 0.5 mile easy (6.0 mph)}

Repeat the bracketed portion five times

0.25 mile cool down walking, 3.5 mph

It ended up being pretty similar to the speed workout on my schedule, which was 5×1000.  Mine was basically 5×800.  I’m okay with this, since I’m still building up both my speed and endurance right now.  The whole thing totaled 6 miles running, plus 0.25 walking.  I did the running part in about 55-ish minutes.  I was happy with my pace.   You could easily adjust this workout to any pace (you could do the half-miles at 6.5 and the easy parts at 5.0, etc). 

Random sidenote/complaint: the gym at my school is DISGUSTING.

My lunch today was quite the tasty combination.

It was a salad made with black beans, pinto beans, corn, pumpkin, fresh spinach, and steamed brussel sprouts.  I had dried mango as my snack in the afternoon.  Dried mango with almond butter is super delicious, if you’ve never tried it!  Especially if you sneak some chocolate chips on top.  It’s like a desert pizza.  Nom nom nom.

You may or may not have noticed my lunchbox in the background of the second salad photo.  Here’s a close-up (or two):

Yes, it does indeed have pink and orange owls sitting in green heart-flowers on it.  I have always had a lunch box, even in high school when it was soooooo not cool.   Once, in twelfth grade, I was walking from my philosophy class to another class with my best friend Maggie.  I had to stop and tie my shoe, and I asked Maggie to hold my lunch box while I did that.  When I was finished with the shoe tying, I pretended to forget that I had given her the lunch box so that I wouldn’t have to carry it the rest of the way (I was/am kind of lazy).  After about two steps she looked at me, set the lunchbox down on the ground and said “are you serious?”  Not in a mean way, but in a you’re-nerdy-and-we-still-love-you way.  I’m pretty sure no one in my entire high school would be caught dead with a lunchbox besides me.  Now that I’m in a college and my days often last from 8 in the morning to 8 at night, a lunchbox is essential, and I’m proud to carry one.  It may be slightly quirky, but I’m slightly quirky.  If you can’t handle my lunchbox, I’m not sure we can be friends.

Alright, off to go make dinner and watch The Biggest Loser!

What’s something quirky or weird about you?  I know you have something to confess.  Spit it out!

Update: Katie is giving away a vita mix!  Don’t enter the contest though, because I need to win it 🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce
    Jan 19, 2010 @ 20:52:47

    aw really? i love aasics! too bad! your lunchbox is so freakin cute, i want one! and yay for swimmer’s arms/shoulders, one thing you can count on even after years have gone by since competitively swimming!

    Reply

  2. Diana (Soap & Chocolate)
    Jan 19, 2010 @ 21:53:16

    Psh, lunchboxes rule, don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. I’m a lifelong lunch toter!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

