Long Run Sundays

Today’s Positive Note: I’m not afraid to try new things.  Weird foods, new people, strange activities.  I like to change things up in life so that I don’t get bored.  This trait has led me to many tasty foodie discoveries.

Today was my longest run since my December injury.  8 miles.  I did 3.5 on my own in Central Park (and the garmin was working happily), and 4.5 with Kath, Dori, Janna, and other KERF readers/bloggers (garmin got angry, froze, and never turned back on.  I think  I need to take her to get fixed…).  I did most of the run at a 9-something pace, which was definitely good for me. 

Kath is just as sweet and funny in person as on the blog!  Thanks Matt for taking pictures.

Came back, made breakfast.  Napped, read.  Lunch was a fun combination: peanut butter, pumpkin butter, and thinly sliced carrots on whole wheat bread!

I made a new blog friend yesterday evening!  Averie, from LoveVeggiesAndYoga.  I think I’m going to try making her vegan dark chocolate peanut butter cups tonight.  Weekends are always great for baking (see Meghann’s post today)!

When you do long runs, you end up having a lot of time to think.  Since I have been doing pretty much nothing thought-worthy the past few days, I started thinking about running.  Some of my thoughts:

~I am up at 7 am on a Sunday in January.  Hardcore.

~Why is it that I can run up hills as fast as I want, but the flat portion at the top is so hard?

~I’m an easily-bored-runner.  Seriously, I have probably run on every street/park.trail/path/sketchy alley in Manhattan.  and some in Brooklyn and The Bronx.   I need new routes.

~Other runners seem to lvoe eating peanut butter with a banana or toast before a run, but I absolutely cannot eat peanut butter before I run.  Bad things happen.

~Why do children in parks clearly see you coming towards them, then deliberately step in your path so that you have to throw yourself out of their way?  Seriously, they seem to enjoy throwing you off like that.

~Dogs run really beautifully.

Ok, enough random running thoughts.  Maybe I’ll post some writing later today.  I’m working on a set of short prose pieces based on colors.  Very interesting! 

What do you like to do on Sunday nights?  I like to bake/read/take baths.  Anything relaxing.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Janna (Just Flourishing)
    Jan 17, 2010 @ 16:41:11

    Was nice to meet you too!

    I like your thoughts on running. I also need some new NYC running routes!

    Reply

  2. eaternotarunner
    Jan 17, 2010 @ 21:44:19

    I can’t eat anything before I run….I save all my eating for after 🙂

    Reply

  3. Diana (Soap & Chocolate)
    Jan 17, 2010 @ 21:49:24

    Ah, very cool NYC meetup! Of course I was out of town this weekend. Boo.

    Reply

  4. Dori
    Jan 17, 2010 @ 21:51:07

    So great meeting you today! I need new running routes, too. I really miss my old on on the west side from when I lived with my ex. I didn’t know you ran in CP today too — you are hardcore!

    Reply

  5. Gelareh @ Orange Truffle
    Jan 18, 2010 @ 10:11:29

    There is nothing better than a weekend morning excercise… Its in your own time and terms.. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce
    Jan 18, 2010 @ 12:15:21

    so cool that all you bloggers were able to meet up and go for a run! 8 miles is intense. i’m so not a runner, i’d be lucky to crank out 1!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

