Sweet-Potato Pumpkin Soup and Yoga!

 

Today’s Positive Note: I am independent and (mostly) mature.  I was alone a lot in high school, and I learned how to take care of myself.  I think I am perfectly functional in a way that many young people are not.  I go to school, work, the bank, the grocery store.  I get things done, and I like this about myself.

I made a very tasty recipe last night.  I’m quite proud of it, actually.  I make decent food most of the time, but it’s not always sophisticated.  I think this dish is sophisticated.

Sweet-Potato Pumpkin Chili (Or soup.  Or stew)

1 medium sweet potato

1.25 C pumpkin puree

1 small yellow onion

3 large carrots

half of a large bell pepper

1 C warm water

1 tsp salt (plus a little more to add at end)

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp crushed red pepper

chili powder and paprika to taste

1 C Black beans

1 C Pinto beans

1 C corn (I used canned)

Steam the sweet potato for five to six minutes in the microwave.  Meanwhile, chop up carrots, onion, and bell pepper.  Measure out pumpkin and water.  Add pumpkin, water, and veggies to a pot on medium-high heat.  Stir around a bit.  When sweet potato is steamed, roughly cube it and it to the pot too.  Add seasonings and stir some more.  Put the lid on, turn it down to a hair below medium, and simmer for an hour or so (onions should be transluscent and carrots and peppers tender), stirring ocassionally.  Add corn, black beans, and pinto beans.  Stir some more.  Add more of the spices if you feel like it.  Serve hot with shredded cheddar chees on top, if desired.

  I didn’t take a picture of the whole pot, so this is just my bowl of it tonight.  As you can see, it is stuffed with vegetables.  Yesterday I served it with a spinach side salad.  Today I had it with half of a leftover flat bread pizza and steamed spinach.

It was absolutely amazing.  I ate it for dinner last night and lunch and dinner today, and I’m honestly not sure if I’m tired of it yet.  Try it!

I did end up getting my groceries yesterday and having a decently fun run, and I survived.  There was nothing to be anxious about.

 

These things are pretty much my staple items.   I got some chocolate Whole Foods brand animal crackers as a treat and they are awesome.  Kind of like a cookie and a cracker in one.  With chocolate.  Enough said.

Today was a cross training or yoga day on my schedule.  I went to a 90 minute vinyasa class after work.  The teacher was really nice, but the class wasn’t hard.  That said, it was still a good workout, with plenty of fun poses.  In the last few weeks I’ve been discovering new poses practically every class, so I guess it just felt weird to already know everything.  It made me feel very comfortable and calm though.  And I had an awesome headstand.  The studio is very nice, but expensive.  Does anyone know of any well-priced but still high quality yoga studios in NY?

All in all, a happy day, with happy food, and happy friends.  I wanted to put in a poem about my dad, but it’s on my computer that’s being fixed right now.  😦

Looking forward to a nice, relaxing weekend, involving lots of books, some running, a blog meetup on Sunday, and lots of writing time.  What are you looking forward to this weekend?  Also, because I’m kind of sick of hearing positive things about myself, what is something you like about you?  Don’t be shy!

Happy weekend!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Lvv
    Jan 16, 2010 @ 00:19:41

    Hi!
    I finally made my way to your blog! I’m looking forward to some leisurely (excuse my spelling, the dictionary is across the room) running that I have not done in many months.
    Along with that, I need to catch up already in my classes.

    A positive thing about myself= When I’m full, warm, and content, there isn’t anything in the world that can bring me down.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

