The Plan for NYC Half

Today’s Positive Note: I’m good at my job. I work in an archive, maintaining and editing people’s stories, and I really love it. I get to edit references to our collection, tell people about our collection, etc. It might sound boring to some, but I love it, and I work hard at it, even when I have to make photocopies of 800 page long interviews.

Tonight my training plan calls for an easy three miles. I might throw in a little strength training and a Power Yoga class afterwards. This is what the plan looks like. Sorry there’s a lot of scribbling. And yes, there are girl power and flower pot stickers. I like decorating things.

It’s a three month plan. I can’t decide yet what my goals for the NYC half should be? PR? Have fun? Run with friends? Has anybody run it before and knows the course?

Today’s oatmeal was quite tasty. It had a multi-grain hot cereal that got really thick, cinnamon, flax, walnuts, and yellow raisins (try them if you haven’t!). By the way, I’m not blogging everything I eat, just the yummy/pretty/fun foods.

No writing for today’s post. Just running. And if you’re wondering where the “therapy” posts are, you won’t have to wait much longer. I’ll start up again next week when I’m back in New York. And be forewarned, my Monday posts may take a darker turn. So long for now!

Question: why is peanut butter so good? I don’t even like peanuts, but I can eat plain peanut butter by the spoonful!

Mental Health in the News:

“The Americanization of Mental Illness”

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Corie
    Jan 12, 2010 @ 19:22:38

    You *are* awesome at your job. I ran the NYC Half a million years ago and it was really fun. I think the course has changed since I ran it, though. My advice would be to either run with friends or solo but enjoy the experience. If you love NYC, the only thing better is the marathon itself. Hope it doesn’t creep you out that I posted this šŸ™‚

    Reply

    • caronae
      Jan 12, 2010 @ 22:25:52

      I’m not creeped out, don’t worry! I’m hoping to run the marathon in November if I get in! Are you doing any races soon?

      Reply

      • Uncle Irving
        Jan 15, 2010 @ 11:00:48

        Right now, prob not until the spring as a 5K is a stretch for me. I might do Coogan’s Salsa in March and definitely the Brooklyn 1/2 Marathon, whenever that is. Have you ever done it? It’s so much fun. It starts (or sometimes ends) in Coney Island.

  2. Diana (Soap & Chocolate)
    Jan 12, 2010 @ 21:44:33

    Hmm, peanut butter has magical properties, it’s true. Must be the pixie dust. šŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

