Lazy Day

Today’s positive note: I look good in the shirt I’m wearing.  It’s actually a turtleneck, which might be kind of lame, but I don’t care.  It’s sort of eggplant colored and is long, so it shows off the fact that I have a waist.  It’s actually really hard to find shirts that look good on me because I have such a long torso and no legs.  And it o nly cost $8.00!  Picture to come when I have my camera…

I made hummingbird cupcakes with two of my friends yesterday, both of whom are named Laura (Hi Lauras!).  I have a slight cupcake obsession, and my sister gave me a book of 500 cupcake recipes for Christmas, so I figured it was a good time to start!  The cupcakes had orange zest, mashed banana, pineapple, carrot, and coconut.  They were amazing!  We topped them with vanilla frosting and crushed walnuts.  They were quite pretty, and the perfect size.  What’s your favorite thing to bake?

I went to an amazing power yoga class yesterday.  I love yoga because I feel like my mind and body are being cleansed at the same time.  It always makes me feel calmer, happier, and stronger.  For some reason, yesterday’s class was like a really good strength training workout.  Loved it!  Hopefully I’ll run today.  I won’t lie, sometimes I don’t enjoy running in the snow and ice, especially when it’s about ten degrees outside, but at the same time, winter has a special sort of beauty to it.  There’s something very regenerative about everything being stripped bare.  Spring and summer and fall wouldn’t be as wonderful if we didn’t have the despair of winter.  That sounded a little depressing, but I maintain that winter can be pretty!  Plus, no one else is ever out on the trail/hill/park, so you have the great outdoors all to yourself.  In other running news, I got a Garmin!  Finally.  I’ve been running 30-50 miles a week for about two years now, and did all of the calculations (pace, distance, time, route) in my head!  My mom gave it to me for Christmas and I am beyond excited to start using it.  Now we can all know the truth: is mapmyrun.com really accurate?

I’m currently munching on PB&J toast (one of my favorite foods!), an orange, and honey bush tea.  My only plans for the day are reading, running, and doing a few easy errands.  And making thank you cards for Christmas presents.  Should be very relaxing!  Happy Humpday!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Missy Maintains
    Jan 06, 2010 @ 14:48:51

    Your cupcakes sound delicious! My favorite thing to bake is probably cookies. I know..boring but I don’t have many baking skills!

    Reply

  2. Gelareh @ Orange Truffle
    Jan 06, 2010 @ 16:51:43

    Lazy days are great. I need to start scheduleing those on my calender 🙂

    Reply

  3. Diana (Soap & Chocolate)
    Jan 06, 2010 @ 20:00:17

    Congratulations on your new blog!

    I guess my fave thing to bake is cookies. I love cake, but am a failure when it comes to decorating them, so I tend to avoid that whole business. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

